We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly Surprised and happily delighted.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Ranked #35 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pleasantly Surprised and happily delighted.”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

My personal experience of the Cambridge Hotel is a good one. I found the location ideal, the room more than adequate, the price reasonable, the service decent, the staff friendly, the balcony smokable on (which delighted me to not have to stand on the street and the view was great) Yes it is a 1970 building trying to disguise itself as highend but you can't blame a gal for trying and heck its not ugly, tired or sad. I found our room tasteful (Room 1005) I enjoyed the privacy, the room, the convenience. Its two streets back from Oxford St, close to great cafe's everywhere (recommend; the winery, Madam Char Char, Pablo's vice to name a few) Close to supermarkets (IGA, Duffys and Thomas Dux) all but a few minutes walk away. I love the diversity of the area, the sights, sounds and people. I felt safe (the police station is directly across the road) It is not far from Central Railway Station (approximately a 10 minute walk away) or Museum Station (7 minutes away) or walk into town through Hyde Park which is a lovely 10-25 amble depending on where you are going and how fast you want to get there. The staff were friendly, and helpful. I don't know if the internet was reasonable or not $15 per day or $35 for three days. I would gladly recommend this Hotel to anyone heading to Sydey that wants an affordable, pleasant hotel in a good location.

Room Tip: Pick any Premium/Deluxe Balcony Rooms on the upper floors for less noise and better views. If you sm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nardopolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CambridgeHotel, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Nardopolis,
Thank you very much for your recent stay at the Cambridge Hotel, and thank you for taking your time to share your feedback with us.
I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed the location, the pricing, the friendly staff and the room.
Thank you for your great recommendations, I am sure many will find that very helpful.
I am delighted to hear you had a great time at the hotel and in the location, and that you recommend the Cambridge Hotel.
Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again in the near future.
Warm regards
Steven Gargano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,632
    1,775
    590
    136
    70
See reviews for
884
1,398
490
744
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (410)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pluak Daeng, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

I have stayed in the hotel for 4 nights recently and have been very comfortable. My basic room was more like a suite with a small office a couch and table. Big and nice bathroom. Nothing what you would expect in Sydney.
Two downsides during the first night I had holes in my towel and found a bug in the bathroom. Nothing which put me off due to the management immediately took actions once reported.
A small surprise as well that they had one of my favourite drinks in the mini bar (28Black/28White).
The remaining of the days where great and I felt very comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TobiasML
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CambridgeHotel, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear Tobias ML,
Thank you very much for taking your time to share your feedback with us regarding your recent stay.
I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your spacious room and the choice of minibar.
I apologise for the issue you faced with the bugs. The hotel is undergoing the quarterly pest control, but I am happy that you felt this was dealt with immediately.
I am very glad to hear that you had a comfortable stay.
We look forward to welcoming you back the hotel again in the near future.
Warm regards
Steven Gargano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singleton, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 27, 2012

The rooms have had a cheap makeover& tile paint is already coming off in bathroom. Only cheap blinds on window which let the bright light in at night & when open you look straight into untidy places next door. Had a pool side room which was extremely noisy from 7am. Not a great experience would make sure to ask for inside room if planning a late night.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CambridgeHotel, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Dana H,
Thank you very much for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us.
I am troubled to hear that you felt the hotel did not live up to your standards. We have investigated your comments and your comments have been taken up with the maintenance manager, and the pool rooms are now undergoing maintenance to improve this.
Once again, we appreciate your feedback, and this has helped us to improve ourselves.
I am glad you enjoyed the location.
I would recommend a premium room instead of a pool room for your next stay.
I hope you give the hotel a second chance, and we look forward to hopefully seeing you back here.
Warm regards
Steven Gargano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights and i have a few comments i need to share.
I would like to say thank you to Jennifer for fitting me in when they we so busy.
The room was just supurb. I had a work desk , a King bed and a balcony on a high floor.
Thanks you Dona from front desk for organising me directions to Toko restaurant and it really was only a 10-12 minute walk.
Thats to the Porter (sorry i didnt catch your name) you organised the taxi and helped me with my bags.
I have already reccommeded this hotel to several work mates.
Thank You

Room Tip: Even though the hotel does not have a gym, all guest are able to use Boxing Works Gym around the cor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CambridgeHotel, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Harry K,
Thank you very much for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us.
I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed you stay with us, and that the friendly staff were to your satisfaction. Your feedback has been passed onto the entire team, and we are all very grateful for your comments.
I am also very pleased that you enjoyed your room, and the location and very glad to know that you recommend the Cambridge Hotel to your friends and acquaintances.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.
Warm regards
Steven Gargano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
228 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

This is an old hotel from the 1970's that had some renovations done 5-20 years ago. You cant hide the fact that this 20 level building (there are 5 levels of car park) is served by 2 elevators that are shared with hotel housekeeping. As such the wait for these tiny elevators is often long and very frustrating, There are are no fire sprinklers in the rooms either. Its a cheap and tacky experience, and that's before they try and put you in an Abey Hotel room. Oh yes part of the hotel they label Abey which is maybe rated 3 star if you lucky - tiny rooms with miniscule bathrooms with frosted windows and absolutely no atmosphere apart from cheap and nasty.

I booked and paid for a Cambridge Hotel room and they put me in this horrible Abey Hotel Room, This is deceptive conduct. They claim they were over booked. Eventually I swapped room after the first night to a Cambridge room but the bitter taste of being taken advantage of remained.

Best advice is book and insist on nothing less than a Deluxe Balcony room. Anything else will be grossly sub standard. Still except flashing multi coloured LED lights, horrific colour decor. The supposed 4 star room I had on the 10th floor has no mirror in the main bedroom, no sofa to sit on, no desk lamp, no power points at the desk, nothing on bare concrete walls, 1970's standard glass that is paper thin and makes this place very noisy. Basic cleaning is ok although the beds are hard and not particularly comfortable.

The 4 star rating was achieved by meeting the basics, that's about it. I would avoid it. It makes a Mecure look 5 star. This is 3 stars at best but its still basically an old dump with a quick makeover

Room Tip: Dont stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BrisbaneNewDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CambridgeHotel, Assistant General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear BrisbaneNewDad,

Thank you for very much for taking the time to give us your feedback of your recent stay at the Cambridge Hotel Sydney.
We are very grateful of guest feedback in any instance. The feedback received helps us to achieve our ultimate goal in guest satisfaction.

It appears that we were not able to meet your expectation during your stay. I do sincerely apologize that for that.

Our Front Desk Team is always available to assist our guest in their needs. I do hope that you will consider my apologies for us accommodating you in an Abey room on the first night. We were able to move you to a Cambridge room the next day and arrange a double bed on your request as opposed to single beds booked.

You mentioned on check out that you did not want to be contacted further at all. However given the opportunity I would like to discuss this matter personally with you to resolve the concerns raised.

BrisbaneNewDad, Please do contact me directly on subhuj@cambridgehotel.com.au or by phone on 02 9215 5101.

Thank you once again for choosing the Cambridge Hotel Sydney.

Kind Regards,

Sub Pradhan
Assistant General Manager

Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bundaberg, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 20, 2012

I found the staff to be very helpful,especially Donna, at check in. We stayed in a One bedroom deluxe room which was clean and tidy. It was great to have a room that you could, if wanted, cook some toast or even heat up a meal. We had a city view with which we could see the top of the Opera House. Though not right in the city, you are not that far from anything. It would be 20-25 minute walk to Sydney Harbour or to some great shopping. If you are coming to sydney by plane there is two train stations that are not far, the Museum or Central, either one it's about a ten minute walk. Would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CambridgeHotel, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear Judy D,
Thank you very much for your recent stay and for taking your time to share your lovely comments with us.
I am very pleased to hear that Donna and the rest of the staff lived up to your expectations, and that the spacious and clean hotel rooms and location were to your satisfaction.
Your feedback has been passed onto our staff and feedback like yours motivate our staff to keep up their great guest service.
So, once again, thank you for your great comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Cambridge Hotel in the near future.
Warm regards
Steven Gargano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

I overnighted here at the start of an overseas holiday, and like all the other times I have stayed I found the staff to be very friendly and the room to be clean and welcoming. I've had different room configurations each time, so I can't really help in terms of what to expect from a room but they've all been well appointed and spacious. I walk here from Central station after catching a train from the airport and for me it is convenient to get to but I warn others who want to try this that the walk from the station is mostly uphill. The hotel is not at the centre of all the action but there are some great restaurants nearby and it's only a short walk to a lot of Sydney's attractions. It continues to provide great value and will remain my hotel of choice in Sydney.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cherri_d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CambridgeHotel, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear cherri_d,
Thank you very much for your recent stay at the Cambridge hotel and, thank you for taking your time to review your stay with us.
I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that the hotel rooms, location and friendly staff have been to your satisfaction.
I am also very glad to hear that you feel the hotel provides good value for money.
Once again, thank you for your lovely comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon.
Warm regards
Steven Gargano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Macleay Hotel
#44 of 178 in Sydney
847 reviews
Surry Hills
57 Hotel
57 Hotel
#40 of 178 in Sydney
1,682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Meriton Suites Zetland
#10 of 178 in Sydney
2,976 reviews
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
#101 of 178 in Sydney
4,955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cambridge Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cambridge Hotel Sydney

Property: Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Address: 212 Riley St | Surry Hills, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia (Formerly Quality Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Surry Hills
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Best Value Hotel in Sydney
#26 Family Hotel in Sydney
#35 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#39 Business Hotel in Sydney
#49 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cambridge Hotel Sydney 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star Cambridge Hotel offers multi-award winning accommodation located in the heart of Sydney's Surry Hills. Many of our 149 guest rooms and suites offer stunning city-scape views from their private balconies. The hotel is within easy walking distance of Sydney's main attractions, and is ideally located for accessing Darling Harbour, Chinatown, Cockle Bay Wharf and Sydney's Iconic Landmark's such as the Opera House and Harbour Bridge. Facilities include 24-hour reception and room-service, a rustic Italian restaurant and an indoor, heated swimming pool. All rooms enjoy complimentary tea and coffee making facilities, in-room safes and comfortable bedding. Parking is available at the hotel with 5 basement levels of parking for guests to use (fees apply) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cambridge Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Sydney
Quality Inn Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing