We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Ranked #35 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A Great Hotel”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights and i have a few comments i need to share.
I would like to say thank you to Jennifer for fitting me in when they we so busy.
The room was just supurb. I had a work desk , a King bed and a balcony on a high floor.
Thanks you Dona from front desk for organising me directions to Toko restaurant and it really was only a 10-12 minute walk.
Thats to the Porter (sorry i didnt catch your name) you organised the taxi and helped me with my bags.
I have already reccommeded this hotel to several work mates.
Thank You

Room Tip: Even though the hotel does not have a gym, all guest are able to use Boxing Works Gym around the cor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CambridgeHotel, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Harry K,
Thank you very much for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us.
I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed you stay with us, and that the friendly staff were to your satisfaction. Your feedback has been passed onto the entire team, and we are all very grateful for your comments.
I am also very pleased that you enjoyed your room, and the location and very glad to know that you recommend the Cambridge Hotel to your friends and acquaintances.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.
Warm regards
Steven Gargano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,634
    1,777
    590
    137
    70
See reviews for
886
1,400
491
744
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (410)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
228 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

This is an old hotel from the 1970's that had some renovations done 5-20 years ago. You cant hide the fact that this 20 level building (there are 5 levels of car park) is served by 2 elevators that are shared with hotel housekeeping. As such the wait for these tiny elevators is often long and very frustrating, There are are no fire sprinklers in the rooms either. Its a cheap and tacky experience, and that's before they try and put you in an Abey Hotel room. Oh yes part of the hotel they label Abey which is maybe rated 3 star if you lucky - tiny rooms with miniscule bathrooms with frosted windows and absolutely no atmosphere apart from cheap and nasty.

I booked and paid for a Cambridge Hotel room and they put me in this horrible Abey Hotel Room, This is deceptive conduct. They claim they were over booked. Eventually I swapped room after the first night to a Cambridge room but the bitter taste of being taken advantage of remained.

Best advice is book and insist on nothing less than a Deluxe Balcony room. Anything else will be grossly sub standard. Still except flashing multi coloured LED lights, horrific colour decor. The supposed 4 star room I had on the 10th floor has no mirror in the main bedroom, no sofa to sit on, no desk lamp, no power points at the desk, nothing on bare concrete walls, 1970's standard glass that is paper thin and makes this place very noisy. Basic cleaning is ok although the beds are hard and not particularly comfortable.

The 4 star rating was achieved by meeting the basics, that's about it. I would avoid it. It makes a Mecure look 5 star. This is 3 stars at best but its still basically an old dump with a quick makeover

Room Tip: Dont stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BrisbaneNewDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CambridgeHotel, Assistant General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear BrisbaneNewDad,

Thank you for very much for taking the time to give us your feedback of your recent stay at the Cambridge Hotel Sydney.
We are very grateful of guest feedback in any instance. The feedback received helps us to achieve our ultimate goal in guest satisfaction.

It appears that we were not able to meet your expectation during your stay. I do sincerely apologize that for that.

Our Front Desk Team is always available to assist our guest in their needs. I do hope that you will consider my apologies for us accommodating you in an Abey room on the first night. We were able to move you to a Cambridge room the next day and arrange a double bed on your request as opposed to single beds booked.

You mentioned on check out that you did not want to be contacted further at all. However given the opportunity I would like to discuss this matter personally with you to resolve the concerns raised.

BrisbaneNewDad, Please do contact me directly on subhuj@cambridgehotel.com.au or by phone on 02 9215 5101.

Thank you once again for choosing the Cambridge Hotel Sydney.

Kind Regards,

Sub Pradhan
Assistant General Manager

Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bundaberg, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 20, 2012

I found the staff to be very helpful,especially Donna, at check in. We stayed in a One bedroom deluxe room which was clean and tidy. It was great to have a room that you could, if wanted, cook some toast or even heat up a meal. We had a city view with which we could see the top of the Opera House. Though not right in the city, you are not that far from anything. It would be 20-25 minute walk to Sydney Harbour or to some great shopping. If you are coming to sydney by plane there is two train stations that are not far, the Museum or Central, either one it's about a ten minute walk. Would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CambridgeHotel, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear Judy D,
Thank you very much for your recent stay and for taking your time to share your lovely comments with us.
I am very pleased to hear that Donna and the rest of the staff lived up to your expectations, and that the spacious and clean hotel rooms and location were to your satisfaction.
Your feedback has been passed onto our staff and feedback like yours motivate our staff to keep up their great guest service.
So, once again, thank you for your great comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Cambridge Hotel in the near future.
Warm regards
Steven Gargano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

I overnighted here at the start of an overseas holiday, and like all the other times I have stayed I found the staff to be very friendly and the room to be clean and welcoming. I've had different room configurations each time, so I can't really help in terms of what to expect from a room but they've all been well appointed and spacious. I walk here from Central station after catching a train from the airport and for me it is convenient to get to but I warn others who want to try this that the walk from the station is mostly uphill. The hotel is not at the centre of all the action but there are some great restaurants nearby and it's only a short walk to a lot of Sydney's attractions. It continues to provide great value and will remain my hotel of choice in Sydney.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cherri_d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CambridgeHotel, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear cherri_d,
Thank you very much for your recent stay at the Cambridge hotel and, thank you for taking your time to review your stay with us.
I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that the hotel rooms, location and friendly staff have been to your satisfaction.
I am also very glad to hear that you feel the hotel provides good value for money.
Once again, thank you for your lovely comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon.
Warm regards
Steven Gargano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

The room we stayed in was a Deluxe King with Balcony. We were on the 4th floor corner room. Was a lot smaller than we thought and had no couch as per photo. The breakfast room attendants needed to tend more to what was needed. Most days there was no cutlery or cups. We pre booked our breakfast as an extra before arriving. Don't do this, because if you decide not to have breakfast you still get charged for it. The pool is also way smaller than it looks in the online photos. We are well travelled and are not fussy but found that their service could have been a little better. We had two singles zipped together to make a King. Beds were comfy, room was noisy, windows are paper thin, when someone above has a shower at 3am you hear it running through the pipes, also when other balcony doors are opened you can hear those. We expected a bit of noise being close to town but skips being emptied at 6am and construction work next door starts early morning. It was a comfortable stay but a bit disappointed.

Room Tip: Perhaps get a higher room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Arthur E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CambridgeHotel, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear Arthur E,
Thank you very much for taking your time to share your feedback with us regarding your recent stay.
I am troubled to hear that your experience at the hotel did not live up to your expectations. I would appreciate it if you could contact me directly on steven@cambridgehotel.com.au to further discuss the issues you experienced.
All the rooms have different layouts, and deluxe rooms come equipped with either lounge areas or a desk area.
I apologise that you were disappointed with your stay at the Cambridge Hotel, and I look forward to speaking with you, as this is not the standard we are known for.
Thank you for talking your time to share your feedback with us and I look forward to hearing from you.
Warm regards
Steven Gargano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Hotel staff were friendly and helpful - found us a room to check in to before 11am, even though we'd only expected to be able to drop off our bags. Staff also helped with restaurant recommendations.

Room was well furnished and decent size, and fair value for the price paid. The only negative was a fairly poor breakfast in a noisy room, which seemed to be hosting a noisy business meeting at the time. Easily avoided by getting breakfast elsewhere.

I'd happily stay there again on any future visit to Sydney.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BridgfordRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CambridgeHotel, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear BridgfordRed,
Thank you very much for your recent stay at the Cambridge Hotel and for taking your time to share your feedback with us.
I am delighted to hear that the friendly staff and the spacious room lived up to your expectations. I apologise that the breakfast was not up to your standards, and I am happy to inform you that the new restaurant Osteria Baccomatto, by the renowned Mauro Marcucci will be serving Rustic Italian foods, and will also be providing the breakfast. I am sure that you will be pleased with this new restaurant opening up in mid-November.
Thank you very much for your feedback, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon.
Warm Regards
Steven Gargano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lismore, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

I stayed in a deluxe room with a private balcony on level 10. Although the room wasn't "luxurious" or state-of-the-art, it was certainly spacious, bright and airy and none of the room was particularly dated. The bed was a very comfortable queen.

The bathroom was better than I was expecting for the price, and had a window which was a pleasant surprise, and bath.

Mini-bar items were insanely cheap for Sydney ($2 for a bottle of water for example).

The only thing that let the hotel down is the location - it's a noisy neighbourhood at night and when I was staying there was construction work a few buildings away. This meant that by 6 or 7am it was very noisy, even on the 10th floor on the opposite side of the hotel.

It is a bit of a hike into the city (but only a short taxi ride), but a 5 minute walk into Surry Hills and you've got the selection of some fantastic restaurants, pubs and cafes.

I would definitely stay here again if the price was right.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jstirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CambridgeHotel, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear jstirk,
Thank you very much for your recent stay at the Cambridge hotel, and thank you for taking your time to share your feedback with us.
I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the spacious room and comfortable bed. I am also glad to hear that you enjoyed the locations for its many famous dining options.
I apologise that you felt the neighbourhood was noisy. Surry Hills is a well-known neighbourhood for its many boutique shops, cafes, galleries and great atmosphere. I also hope that the construction work did not disturb your stay with us. We look very much forward to the new restaurant and 5 star hotel opening up next door in mid-November.
I hope that we will be able to welcome you back to the hotel again in the near future, and that you will come and experience the hotel when everything is completed next door.
Once again thank you very much for taking your time to share your feedback with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon.
Warm regards
Steven Gargano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Macleay Hotel
#44 of 178 in Sydney
847 reviews
Surry Hills
57 Hotel
57 Hotel
#40 of 178 in Sydney
1,689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Meriton Suites Zetland
#10 of 178 in Sydney
2,977 reviews
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
#101 of 178 in Sydney
4,958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cambridge Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cambridge Hotel Sydney

Property: Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Address: 212 Riley St | Surry Hills, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia (Formerly Quality Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Surry Hills
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Best Value Hotel in Sydney
#26 Family Hotel in Sydney
#35 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#39 Business Hotel in Sydney
#49 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cambridge Hotel Sydney 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star Cambridge Hotel offers multi-award winning accommodation located in the heart of Sydney's Surry Hills. Many of our 149 guest rooms and suites offer stunning city-scape views from their private balconies. The hotel is within easy walking distance of Sydney's main attractions, and is ideally located for accessing Darling Harbour, Chinatown, Cockle Bay Wharf and Sydney's Iconic Landmark's such as the Opera House and Harbour Bridge. Facilities include 24-hour reception and room-service, a rustic Italian restaurant and an indoor, heated swimming pool. All rooms enjoy complimentary tea and coffee making facilities, in-room safes and comfortable bedding. Parking is available at the hotel with 5 basement levels of parking for guests to use (fees apply) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cambridge Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Sydney
Quality Inn Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing