We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for a very affordable price!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Ranked #39 of 181 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We stayed for three nights and were extremely happy with our room. It was clean and large enough for the two of us. The bed was comfortable and noise levels were what you would expect for a busy hotel in a busy city centre. I would definitely stay here again for the price and the Hotel's excellent location.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Nics70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CambridgeHotel, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

Dear Nics70,

Thank you very much for your recent stay at the Cambridge hotel and thank you for taking your time to share your feedback with us.

I am very glad to hear that you enjoyed your room and cleanliness, and that you had a comfortable stay.

I am also pleased to know that you will happily stay here again, we therefore look forward to welcoming you back to the Cambridge hotel again soon.

Warm Regards
Steven Gargano
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,453)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,714 - 3,720 of 4,453 reviews

Reviewed October 5, 2012

I stayed there for a week. I had a deluxe room with balcony. It was large (very large!), confortable, and with a nice balcony onlooking a small street. Overall, it was moderatly quiet (lots of street noise on Friday and Saturday evenings, due to partying around). But, it was very much within the bounds of acceptable. However, I noticed some construction work in the street, and I believe people facing the street must have had much more noise. The room was furnished with a very confortable bed, a nice sofa and a desk chair and desk, which was nice to work on. Everything was very clean. There was also a minibar and a fridge, and coffee and tea in the room. The bathroom is small but functional.
I regret that wifi is so expensive (13$ per day for a 3 day contract...). Furthermore, I found the staff efficient, but not overly welcoming. After a week, you would imagine that the staff would reckognize me at the front entrance, but no one ever said 'hi' in a week. You get regular (and annoying) phone calls from the reception asking you if everything is OK.
Overall, I would stay there again, because it is a great location, with an acceptable price.

Room Tip: I have not visited the fitness center and spa
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jerry68bis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CambridgeHotel, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

Dear jerry68bis,

Thank you very much for sharing your feedback with us regarding your recent stay with us at the Cambridge Hotel.

I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your large, comfortable room & balcony, and that you were happy with the location and price.

I am disappointed to hear that you felt the WIFI was expensive, as we just implemented a new internet system specifically to make the price a competitive pricing for Sydney standards. I am also upset to hear that you did not feel the staff lived up to your expectations and that you felt the hotel did not have character. The Cambridge Hotel is an independent boutique hotel and the departments and their respective management teams, including myself, do a lot to come up with innovative proposals and solutions in order to best meet the needs of our guests. We put emphasis on individualised service and it disappoints me to hear that you did not experience the standard of service we are known for.

I am glad to hear that you will stay with us again, and we therefore look forward to welcoming you back and show you the standard of service we are known for.

Warm regards
Steven Gargano
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

We stayed here in August and our first impression was a modern well run Hotel.
On arrivel we noticed construction work on the neighbouring building outside and the Western wing of the hotel, and heared it to.
We were assured it was the last day of construction so no worries about noise etc.
Next morning at 7:30 however we found out that was not the case, but after a sleepy/cranky phonecall the staff managed to relocate us to another room and did not charge us for the room. A very good and acceptable arrangement.
Overall the room was large, clean with good showers and other facilities.
Housekeeping made sure that everyday our room looked like new.
We had some problems with the keycards not working and a crooked TV but all in all staff managed to resolve it in a day or two so it really looked like they were making the extra effort.
Also very attentive when it comes to recommendations for restaurants, sightseeingtours and other adventures.
Its a hotel to be recommended and we would not mind staying here again in the near future.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dutch_Knight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CambridgeHotel, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2012

Dear Dutch Knight,
Thank you very much for taking your time to share your feedback with us, regarding your recent stay at the Cambridge Hotel Sydney.
I apologise for the inconvenience you faced during your stay with us, but I am pleased that you felt the staff dealt with all the issues in a friendly and professional way. I am glad that you called the staff immediately so they were able to relocate you to another room straight away.
I am also pleased that you were satisfied with the housekeeping services, hotel facilities, and the knowledgeable staff.
Once again, thank you very much for sharing your comments with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel again soon.
Warm regards
Steven Gargano
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed in a twin double room which was more than adequate for our purpose of seeing a show in Sydney. Price was excellent at $135. A balcony off our room faced the city and also looked directly out to the Sydney Police Headquarters, so you would expect to be relatively safe in this precinct. It is hard to avoid city noise in the inner city areas but we did not worry too much about this. It is close to Oxford Street where we caught buses to all of our destinations after purchasing Travel 10's (ten rides) from a 7eleven store.

The hotel supplies a breakfast pack for one person if you need it for around $10 (includes a little cereal, packaged fruit, milk and juice).The room and bathroom were exceptionally clean and towels and toiletries were adequate. Slept well here. Rooms have been updated and are modern.

Carpark not easy to navigate and only good for small cars. This was my only time of stress whilst staying here but for $26 a night I made the effort.

Staff were pleasant and willing to assist with any enquiry! Would stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ged4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CambridgeHotel, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

Dear Ged4,

Thank you very much for your recent stay at the Cambridge Hotel Sydney and you taking your time to share your feedback with us.

I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed the hotel and the location, and that you had a comfortable stay.

I am also glad that you had a good experience with our friendly and knowledgeable staff.

Once again, thank you for your lovely comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Cambridge Hotel in the near future.

Warm regards
Steven Gargano
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

I stay at the Cambridge at least once a month for work. The staff have laways been insanely friendly. From the people on the front desk to the housekeeping staff to the dining room staff. Everyone acknowledges you and says hi.

The rooms are spacious, nicely decorated and modern. The beds are super comfy. I left a note in my room one morning asking for a softer pillow and came back to find 6 different fresh pillows on my bed with a lovely little note. The bathrooms are modern and spotless.

Some of the rooms at the moment have a lovely view of some scafolding of the building next door that is being worked on and others have a totally dud view altogether, but others even give you a glimpse of the Opera House.

The company I work for runs conferences there too and again, the staff are fantastic and the catering is great.

The Cambridge is located a street away from the iconic Crown Street which is jam packed with awesome restaurants and cafes and pubs. It's also just around the corner from Kings Cross too and within easy walking distance of 2 train stations (Central and Museum.......I think).

I would highly recommend the Cambridge.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the Harbour side at the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoffreyallan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CambridgeHotel, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2012

Dear Geoffreyallan,
Thank you very much for your recent stay at the Cambridge Hotel and for taking your time to share your feedback with us.
I am so pleased to hear that a guest who has stayed with us so many times is recommending the Cambridge in such a wonderful manner.
I am glad to know that our guests are acknowledged and feel at home at the Cambridge. It delights me to hear that the time and effort our staff puts into customer service and innovative solutions are appreciated by our guests.
Once again, thank you for your wonderful comments regarding you stays at the Cambridge and we always look forward to welcoming you back again.
Warm regards
Steven Gargano
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

I stayed here in September and i just felt i need to say the service here is unbeatable. The Front Desk staff are on the ball and they greet you constantly and its not just a nod of the head. The room was super spacious up on the 12th floor and the bathroom was the cleanest i have ever seen. I come to Sydney twice a year and this hotel will be place of stay. Afet reading the reviews in regards to the construction site next door i rang before i booked and they advised me that its completed with only a few interior fittings to be done.
I love when people tell the truth as they were absolutely correct. .
Had the best nights sleep on what can only be described as a super comfy king size bed.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frank C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CambridgeHotel, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

Dear Frank C,

Thank you very much for your recent stay at the Cambridge Hotel, and for your lovely comments regarding your stay with us.

I am very glad to hear that the core value of hospitality, namely service, was to your great satisfaction.

We make an effort to inform our guests of all changes and updates being worked on so that they are satisfied. It pleases me to hear that you were advised accordingly and correctly informed.

I am also delighted to hear that you had a comfortable stay and that the cleanliness was tip-top.

Once again, thank you very much for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Warm regards
Steven Gargano
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Excellent all round. Great location. Friendly staff. Close to lots of eating areas and attractions. Very quiet and very clean. Breakfast was good and good variety. Room service well priced. Very quick check in and check out no waiting at all. Overall a wonderful stay would definitely come again with the family.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Catvorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CambridgeHotel, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

Dear Catvorm,

I would like to thank you for your great feedback regarding your recent stay at the Cambridge Hotel Sydney.

I am very pleased to hear that you were satisfied with your overall stay, including hotel, swift check-in and check-out, friendly staff and great location.

Thank you for taking your time to leave your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you and your family back to the Cambridge Hotel again soon.

Warm regards
Steven Gargano
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Veriu Central
Veriu Central
#152 of 181 in Sydney
2 reviews
Macleay Hotel
#46 of 181 in Sydney
892 reviews
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
#105 of 181 in Sydney
5,374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Surry Hills
57 Hotel
57 Hotel
#47 of 181 in Sydney
1,879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cambridge Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cambridge Hotel Sydney

Address: 212 Riley St | Surry Hills, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia (Formerly Quality Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Surry Hills
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Sydney
#38 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#40 Business Hotel in Sydney
#50 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $90 - $291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cambridge Hotel Sydney 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star Cambridge Hotel offers multi-award winning accommodation located in the heart of Sydney's Surry Hills. Many of our 149 guest rooms and suites offer stunning city-scape views from their private balconies. The hotel is within easy walking distance of Sydney's main attractions, and is ideally located for accessing Darling Harbour, Chinatown, Cockle Bay Wharf and Sydney's Iconic Landmark's such as the Opera House and Harbour Bridge. Facilities include 24-hour reception and room-service along with a rustic Italian restaurant. All rooms enjoy complimentary tea and coffee making facilities, in-room safes and comfortable bedding. Parking is available at the hotel with 5 basement levels of parking for guests to use (fees apply) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your Cambridge Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Sydney
Quality Inn Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing