We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Value for money, but expensive wireless”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Ranked #37 of 174 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Uppsala, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Value for money, but expensive wireless”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012

Hotel is basic but clean and comfortable. Try to avoid rooms on the lower levels (no view).
Wireless Internet is expensive and limited (6 AUD for 1 hour or 30 MB, which is consumed first). Be also aware of the 2% surcharge paying with card. The hotel starngly prefers to be paid in cash, with the higher exposure for robbery for the staff as consequence.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank u J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,923 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,498
    1,659
    564
    134
    68
See reviews for
819
1,309
466
678
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (399)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Noosaville, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2012

We booked a one bedroom deluxe suite in May 2012. We stayed at the hotel for one night with our two boys (5yrs & 2yrs). Overall we were disappointed with our stay. The suite was too small for a family and fairly run down. There was construction work going on right outside our window, so we had limited privacy and noise to contend with. We ordered room service for dinner and this took more than an hour to arrive (not great when you have two hungry little boys) and when the meals arrived they were cold. The hotel replaced the meals for us at no charge. When I booked the hotel I advised that I was disabled and requested a car park, however there were no spaces available when we arrived. My wife had to find street parking, which is hard work in such busy park of the city with many parking restrictions. On the plus side, the staff were polite, the hotel price was reasonable and I think the hotel would be fine for business travellers or singles/couples who just need a bed and good access to central Sydney.

Room Tip: f you're travelling with a family, I would choose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaccaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CambridgeHotel, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, June 19, 2012
Dear MaccaG,
Thank you for your feedback. I am very sorry to hear that your recent stay with us hasn’t met your expectations. We are always aiming for the highest guest satisfaction and it is always disappointing when we are unable to achieve that. We are very sorry to hear that the construction site next door has disrupted your stay. Secondly we apologise for the delay of your room service order. This is certainly not the standard of service we are aiming to provide.

Please understand that below the Hotel is a public car park and unfortunately cannot reserve or block car park spots for our guests. For your next stay please let our Front Office staff know if there is a shortage of car park spaces and they will happily assist you in finding a solution. Thank you very much for your compliments in regards to our staff and the hotel.
If you need any assistance with your booking in the future or if you have any further questions, please don’t hesitate to contact us at any time.
Best Regards
Steven Gargano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2012

We arrived at this hotel a little early but the staff allowed us to check in....little did we know as we weren't informed by said staff member...that there was building work right outside our room. A crane and at least 12 workmen!!! And they commenced work between 6-7am!! We were moved but the rooms are average. yes they are clean and tidy, housekeeping is done regularly and all the mod cons are available but personally i would say pay the extra and stay further into the city. Surry Hills is not as close as you think it is to the CBD and it was around a 40minute walk to the Quays where the Harbour Bridge and Opera House are. Once the building work is done and you want somewhwere a little out the way for a cheaper price then this hotel is recommended...it was just disappointing that at no point were we warned of the building work until it was too late.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sarahjdean81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CambridgeHotel, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, June 19, 2012
Dear sarahjdean81,

Thank you for the time you have spared to review your recent stay at the Cambridge Hotel.
I am very sorry to hear that the construction site next door caused inconvenience during your stay.
I am glad to hear that our staff was able to allocate you to a quieter room. Thank you for your compliments regarding the housekeeping and the amenities of your room. In regards to your comments about the distance to Circular Quay and Darling Harbour. It takes about 10 – 15 min to Darling Harbour and Circular Quay is about 25 min to walk. You can also take a free bus (555) down to Circular Quay which will take you about 10 minutes. It’s a perfect base to explore the hustle and bustle of the Sydney CBD and its main attractions during the day and balance this off with the mélange of numerous cafés, bars, boutiques and eateries in one of Sydney’s most vibrant suburbs. I apologise for the inconvenience with the lack of communication through our staff regarding the ongoing construction work.

I do hope you will give us a second chance and revisit us again in the future.

Kind Regards

Steven Gargano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2012

Pros:
Good Location - Surry Hill neighborhood. Close enough to city center but in a more residential area where its not a tourist hub. You can walk to Circular Quay in 20-30 mins or take the free 555 bus from Hyde Park.
Decent sized rooms
Clean
Duffys supermarket nearby
Lots of food/ drink choices around
Easy access to Bondi Beach (Just take bus 333).

Con:
No free wifi
Small and slow elevators.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CambridgeHotel, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, June 6, 2012
Dear Diane L,
Thank you very much for your review. It is only through guest feedback that we know what we do right and where we can further improve. I appreciate the time you have spared to list your personal pros and cons about the Cambridge Hotel. It is great to hear that we met your expectations in regards to location and hotel facilities.
Our internet rates are very competitively priced for a Sydney hotel; we are however upgrading our current internet system to an even faster one in the near future. In regards to our lift system, these have been put in place 2008 and are considered high speed lifts in Australia, I would recommend using lift number two and three as these elevators are more spacious.
I look forward to welcoming you, your family and friends back to the Cambridge Hotel soon.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2012

A family trip to watch an AFL game at the SCG. Excellent location near Crown Street. Great restaurants and fabulous shops nearby. One bedroom suite was clean, well-appointed with a roomy bathroom. We didn't have breakfast there because there are so many fabulous places nearby, but it looked like good value. The room was very quiet - with a fold out bed for our teenage daughter. The TV reception was poor, but we weren't there to watch TV. Reception staff were helpful and friendly - check in and check out was seamless and efficient. No wifi or free internet unfortunately - however there was a cheap internet computer in the lobby. We would stay here again if we were going to the SCG.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WilloandJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CambridgeHotel, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, June 4, 2012
Dear WilloandJane,

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel.
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your quiet, clean and well-appointed suite and spacious bathroom. I am also glad that you enjoyed the location, the helpful and friendly staff and that you felt it was good value.
I am sorry about the TV reception, I have informed my maintenance team to look into the general television reception at the hotel. I would appreciate it though, if you could contact me directly to let me know which room you experienced this issue.
We are happy to inform you that we are about to implement a new wireless internet solution. This will improve the connection and will also be more affordable for our guests.
I hope you enjoyed your game and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm Regards,
Steven Gargano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2012 via mobile

I had two nights here. Reception staff were polite and helpful. Stayed in a premium room, which was quite spacious and had everything I needed. Could have been cleaner, but not worth worrying about. Easy to get to trains, shops, restaurants etc. got a good deal on the room too. Would happily go back

Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank KerrboxAU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CambridgeHotel, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, June 4, 2012
Dear Kerrbox AU,
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback about the hotel.
We are very glad you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and that the room, location and staff met your expectations.
I am disappointed that you felt the room could be cleaner. We pride our housekeeping, please contact me directly to discuss the issues with housekeeping as I would like to retrain the house maid who serviced your room.
steven@cambridgehotel.com.au
We are pleased to hear that you will stay with us again and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.
Warm Regards,
Steven Gargano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albury, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2012

From the beginning everything was perfect - staff were pleasant and very helpful - room was spacious and beautifully furnished and spotlessly clean. Position was perfect - so close to everything and buses were close nearby - looking forward to a return stay.

Room Tip: enjoyed the view from a balcony room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CambridgeHotel, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, June 4, 2012
Dear Angela P,
Thank you for choosing the Cambridge Hotel for your recent stay, and also for your wonderful comments regarding the hotel.
We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and that we met your expectations.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future
Warm Regards,
Steven Gargano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Surry Hills
57 Hotel
57 Hotel
#34 of 174 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,447 reviews
Macleay Hotel
#41 of 174 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
Surry Hills
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Stellar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Central Station Hotel
Central Station Hotel
#77 of 174 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,187 reviews
Central Business District
The Grace Hotel Sydney
The Grace Hotel Sydney
#17 of 174 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cambridge Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cambridge Hotel Sydney

Property: Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Address: 212 Riley St | Surry Hills, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia (Formerly Quality Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Surry Hills
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Best Value Hotel in Sydney
#26 Family Hotel in Sydney
#36 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#39 Business Hotel in Sydney
#49 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cambridge Hotel Sydney 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star Cambridge Hotel offers multi-award winning accommodation located in the heart of Sydney's Surry Hills. Many of our 149 guest rooms and suites offer stunning city-scape views from their private balconies. The hotel is within easy walking distance of Sydney's main attractions, and is ideally located for accessing Darling Harbour, Chinatown, Cockle Bay Wharf and Sydney's Iconic Landmark's such as the Opera House and Harbour Bridge. Facilities include 24-hour reception and room-service, a rustic Italian restaurant and an indoor, heated swimming pool and spa. All rooms enjoy complimentary tea and coffee making facilities, in-room safes and comfortable bedding. Parking will never be an issue at the hotel with 5 basement levels of parking available for guests to use (fees apply) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cambridge Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Sydney
Quality Inn Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing