We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff and location.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Ranked #35 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 28, 2011

The location of this hotel is very safe its across the road from Sydney police centre. I found the staff very friendly especially the barman as I sat back watching TV own my own after a long day in the city.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kiwignome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CambridgeHotel, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2011

Dear Kiwignome,

Thank you for choosing the Cambridge Hotel for your recent stay in Sydney. I am delighted to read your great comments about the Cambridge Hotel in regards to the location and our bar staff.
I hope we can welcome you back to the Cambridge Hotel in the near future.


Best Regards
Steven Gargano

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,271)
There are newer reviews for Cambridge Hotel Sydney
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,758 - 3,764 of 4,271 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2011

The environment in the hotel is so welcoming front desk staff were amazing so were the other staff. Hotel services were just perfect. Perfect hotel for the people who likes 5 star standard nd services.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Goldrabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CambridgeHotel, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2011

Dear Goldrabbit,
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. I am happy to hear that you were satisfied with your stay. I will pass on our comments to our great staff.
I hope we can welcome you back in the near future.

Warm Regards
Steven Gargano
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2011

Considering both the price charged as well as the numerous awards won by the hotel, we had relatively high expectations of the Quality Cambridge Sydney. Unfortunately none of our expectations were met, instead we came away disappointed in the front of house service and cleanliness of the rather dated room. On the first night at the Cambridge, much to our disgust, my boyfriend discovered brown stains all over the dona cover and sheets. These stains had been party hidden by a covering sheet, however they didn't take long to surface. This was enough to put us both off sleeping in the bed! Great location but very average hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janejohnson1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CambridgeHotel, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2011

Dear Janejohnson1983,
Thank you for taking the time to share feedback with us about your recent stay at the Cambridge Hotel. I certainly agree that your unsatisfactory experience do not represent the level of service we strive to provide.
I have addressed the issues you raised regarding the disappointing front of house service and cleanliness of the hotel room with our department heads. They all join me in offering a sincere apology to you and they are committed to ensuring that these problems will not occur again. From your description of the room it sounds like that you have been staying in one of our Atrium Rooms, those rooms were, as stated on our website, not renovated with the last refurbishment.
We hope to have the opportunity to provide accommodation for you in the future and demonstrate you how your feedback was used constructively.

Best Regards

Steven Gargano
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2011

If you are expecting a 4star hotel you will be disappointed.If you are a size 10 woman or medium man you will just be able to get in the shower.A few spiders here and there the safe doesn't work and parking is expensive and very dangerous as it is very tight.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alex6203Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CambridgeHotel, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2011

Dear alex6203Sydney,
Thank you for taking the time to review the Cambridge Hotel. I am disappointed to hear that you we’re not satisfied with your stay.
We are always striving to provide excellence guest satisfaction. I will use your comments constructively to improve the standard of the hotel in the future.

Best Regards

Steven Gargano
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2011

This was our 2nd stay at this hotel, we checked in, took over 20 mins even though everything was pre booked online, and we had been before. When we got to the room found no glasses to drink from anywhere in the room, ordered room service....meal was cold. had a shower...water is hot then cold then hot then cold....and shower leaks all over the floor. Could have lived with those issues....i mean the room cost $139 per night with balcony....however.... When we went to bed we noticed that there was no doona cover, Just a doona sandwiched between 2 sheets....this was the icing on the cake. the other issues i could have coped with but this....there is no excuse for this issue, the most basic backpackers will provide a doona cover. Just pure filth or very lazy housekeeping staff.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gary1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CambridgeHotel, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2011

Dear Gary1976,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the Cambridge Hotel. First I would like to apologise for the disappointing experience you had with the room service order and the shower. I have passed this on to our F&B Manager and the Maintenance Manager and they will look into those issues.
In regards to the doona cover all our doonas are in doona protectors which are changed after each stay. Additional to the protectors we have triple sheeting for all of our bedding . We believe this is far more hygienic than just a doona cover and this practice is far more expensive for a hotels. A regular doona cover doesn’t protect a doona in the same way as triple sheeting Guest’s hygiene and cleanliness are of the highest priority to the hotel. AAA recommends triple sheeting and doona proctors as the highest standard of guest hygiene.
I would appreciate if you would give me the opportunity to contact you and I could, together with my Executive Housekeeper, explain to you more about our health and safety regulations and policies taking place at the Cambridge Hotel and its guest rooms.

Best Regards

Steven Gargano
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2011

We booked the hotel for 2 adults and 2 children for a few days at the end of a 3 week trip to Australia to see family and friends. It was by far the most reasonable option for our stay, similar apartment hotels we had stayed at in the past were significantly more expensive and we found the staff much more helpful at the Cambridge than places we had stayed before. The 1 bedroom apartment was spotlessly clean and tidied every day - the cleaners even did our washing up - which we didn't expect!

Can't fault the service in any way - they left me messages for telephone calls I missed and a broken door handle was repaired within a couple of hours. But possibly the best bit for kids is the swimming pool - such a bonus! Hotel is also located close to shops and restaurantsand a short walk from Hyde Park and a nearby train station.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daysleep2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CambridgeHotel, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2011

Dear Daysleep2,
Thank you for choosing the Quality Hotel Cambridge, for your recent stay in Sydney. We were delighted to hear you had an enjoyable time at our hotel.
We would also like to thank you for the time that you have spared in writing your wonderful comments towards our hotel and the staff. We are glad to hear that we met your expectation; it definitely motivates us to maintain and improve our standard of service and hospitality. Our team is always striving to achieve the highest of guest satisfaction.
We will always be waiting to welcoming you, your family and your friends back home to the Cambridge Hotel in the very near future. In the meantime, if we can be of any further assistant to you please feel free to contact us at anytime.
Warm Regards
Steven Gargano
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2011

As we had two adults and three little children, we requested and were hoping for adjoining rooms but when arrived found that our rooms were on two different floors and the hotel does not have adjoining rooms. Not a good young family setup. Also, we arrived early and exhausted after a 28 hour international trip hoping for early check in which was not granted. Also, we were told that we reserved "premium" rooms with couches but no couches were present. All in all, everything was fine but not a very family friendly hotel. Probably better served for couples or singles.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ArchMcK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CambridgeHotel, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2011

Dear Mr. ArchMcK,

Thank you for taking the time out to give us the feedback.

We are very appreciative of guest feedback.
It’s a great tool that allows us not know what we are doing right and where we can improve.
We are very focused on providing excellence in guest satisfaction. Please do accept my apologies on hotels behalf.

We did receive a request for an adjoining rooms and early check in. Unfortunately all requests are based on availability and not guaranteed.

Our check out time is 10:30 AM and we were close to fully booked on the night before your early morning check in.

We had allocated a room with two double beds and a room with 2 single beds which was close by to each other. To fit all 5 guests with your bedding requirement the rooms were allocated accordingly.

As per the description on our website. most premium rooms do have a couch but not all.

We do have many family stay with us with kids, for these purposes a One Bedroom suits best as it has a Queen sized bed in the bedroom and a double pull out sofa bed in the lounge room.

I trust I have been able to explain the situation and again I am sorry with the inconvenience that may have caused you.

Please contact me if I can be of any further assistance.

Kind regards

Subhuj Pradhan
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Macleay Hotel
#42 of 178 in Sydney
857 reviews
Surry Hills
57 Hotel
57 Hotel
#40 of 178 in Sydney
1,736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Meriton Suites Zetland
#10 of 178 in Sydney
3,049 reviews
Central Business District
Central Station Hotel
Central Station Hotel
#81 of 178 in Sydney
2,463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cambridge Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cambridge Hotel Sydney

Address: 212 Riley St | Surry Hills, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia (Formerly Quality Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Surry Hills
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Sydney
#35 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#40 Business Hotel in Sydney
#50 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $109 - $281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cambridge Hotel Sydney 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star Cambridge Hotel offers multi-award winning accommodation located in the heart of Sydney's Surry Hills. Many of our 149 guest rooms and suites offer stunning city-scape views from their private balconies. The hotel is within easy walking distance of Sydney's main attractions, and is ideally located for accessing Darling Harbour, Chinatown, Cockle Bay Wharf and Sydney's Iconic Landmark's such as the Opera House and Harbour Bridge. Facilities include 24-hour reception and room-service, a rustic Italian restaurant and an indoor, heated swimming pool. All rooms enjoy complimentary tea and coffee making facilities, in-room safes and comfortable bedding. Parking is available at the hotel with 5 basement levels of parking for guests to use (fees apply) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cambridge Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Sydney
Quality Inn Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing