We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel in somewhat loud environment”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Ranked #35 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good hotel in somewhat loud environment”
Reviewed April 16, 2011

We stayed for 4 nights in this hotel. The room was really very nice and spacy, nothing to say against it. We were staying on the 7th floor and even had a balcony, the view was really nice. The only drawback was, that a new building is being built in the close neighborhood, they start to work at 6 am or so and make really a lot of noise. You can forget leaving your window open. But even with close windows, they simply wake you up. So rather bring your ear plugs with you!
Furthermore, the girl at the reception who checked us in made rather a mix-up. We wanted to have a twin room but they didn't have any free. So she arranged that we sleep one night in a double and that we will be moved to a twin the next day. So we kept all out stuff packed but the reception manager didn't know the next day, we were supposed to be moved! And they didn't have a room free! So it clearly wasn't arranged as promised. We stayed in the double, which was nice so no harm done (even though we would really prefer a twin). Moreover, our stay was already paid for and we gave the voucher to the reception girl the first day we came. At the end of our stay, they wanted us to pay because they didn't have any evidence of the voucher! Luckily, we had a copy, but I would really expect a better service in such hotel. The breakfast was ok and the location also quite convenient, so overall we were satisfied.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the upper floor for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DiaMel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CambridgeHotel, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, April 28, 2011
Dear DiaMel,


Thank you for staying at the Cambridge Hotel!

We pride ourselves on guest satisfaction and attention to detail at the Cambridge. On this occasion, we appear to have failed by not passing on your room move to the next Manager on Shift and also for the mix up with your voucher at your check out

Please be assured that we have addressed your comments with the managers concerned as clearly procedures were not followed. We do appreciate your review and all feedback is very important to management.
In regards to the building works at the end of the street, please be assured that we have contacted the Sydney City Council and they have reverted that all building work can only commence after 9.00 AM and finish before 4.00 PM, Monday to Friday, they will contact the developer and enforce this ruling is enforced. As a footnote the building is two months off completion.
We are happy to read that you otherwise enjoyed your stay and thank you again for staying with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back again. Please do contact me directly at that time.

Steven Gargano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,606
    1,744
    583
    136
    70
See reviews for
868
1,382
483
729
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (409)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed April 13, 2011

I highly recommend this hotel. I have stayed here three times, in the past year, each visit was enjoyable.
The staff is very friendly and helpfull at all times. The rooms are kept very clean.
As a solo traveller I was happy that the hotel is located in a very safe area.
There was never any problem taking walks to Darling Harbour and The Sydney Opera House, even after nightfall.
I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amsterdam2011_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CambridgeHotel, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, April 28, 2011
Dear Amsterdam2011_11
Thank you for always returning to the Cambridge Hotel. We strive for the highest guest satisfaction possible and I am glad that we have achieved this in your case. Thank you for your comments towards our staff, the surroundings and cleanliness of the hotel rooms.
I hope we can welcome you, your family and friends soon back at the Cambridge Hotel, please contact me directly for your next booking.

Best Regards

Steven Gargano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed April 11, 2011

Very close to town, walking distance. Good for family.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tracyong29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CambridgeHotel, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, April 28, 2011
Dear Tracyong29,
Thank you for choosing the Cambridge Hotel for your recent stay in Sydney. I would like to thank you for leaving such a nice comment on tripadvisor. I look forward to welcoming you in the near future.

Best Regards

Steven Gargano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2011

We stay at this hotel during Mardi Gras as it's location is second to none - only 200m from Oxford Street and all of the action and surrounded by a plethora of cafes and restaurants with the city a 10-15 minute walk.

This was our 4th stay at this hotel and continue to come back for the comfortable rooms, friendly staff and fantastic vibe.

You really can't go wrong staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SR32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CambridgeHotel, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, April 12, 2011
Dear SR32,
Thank you very much for your continuing support in choosing the Cambridge for your home in Sydney.
We very much appreciate your review of the hotel and the location. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon so you can again enjoy a great night’s sleep in the hotel. Please do contact me directly on your next visit.

Thank you

Steven Gargano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2011

Our premium balcony room was well worth the cost. It was spacious with a sitting area, freshly updated bath and furnishings. Our floor was quiet and there was even a peek of the Opera house at the end of the street. We liked the 15-minute walk to the train station and the botanic gardens.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kab0406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CambridgeHotel, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, April 12, 2011
Dear kab0406,

We are delighted to hear had you loved the Cambridge and staying in the Surry Hills.
Thank you for taking time to review your stay as well as all your positive feedback.
We hope to see you again soon.
Please contact me directly on your next visit!

Best Regards

Steven Gargano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
Reviewed March 28, 2011

I stayed here with friends for a night out recently. It is right in the heart of hustling and bustling Oxford St, yet quiet enough not to notice you are there.
The staff are incredible and cater to all your needs, even giving us all a friendly welcome when we arrived with chocolates, fruit platter and sparkling wine on arrival.
I thoroughly enjoyed my stay here, and found the hospitality to be one of the best. Rooms are great quality for the price, and you can get a great breakfast for less than most 4 star hotels.
Keep up the good work!!! I will definitely be back again!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikolina87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CambridgeHotel, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, April 12, 2011
Dear Nikolina87,

Thank you for staying with us and for your very positive feedback.

We are delighted to read hear that you had a great stay and that we met your expectations. The time you have taken to review your stay is much appreciated!

We hope to welcome you back again very soon. Please do let me know when you would like to return so that I can take care of your reservation for you.

Steven Gargano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 27, 2011

Really like this place - the staff are awesome, except for the short round guy on the counter who can talk waaay too much! But all in all a fantastic experience! Right in the heart of everything, close to the city and restaurants. The PR people a really nice! Hey Rafa! The manager guy is sweet and looks after you really well! Hey Steve! Recommend it to everyone!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chewbacker888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CambridgeHotel, General Manager at Cambridge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, April 12, 2011
Dear Chewbacker888,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences you had at the Cambridge Hotel. It is very rewarding for myself, staff and managers to hear that we met your expectations. Your regards to Adam and Raphael have been passed on. I would also like to thank you for mentioning our great location. We are all looking forward to welcoming you, your friends and family back at the Cambridge Hotel.

Warm Regards

Steven Gargano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Surry Hills
57 Hotel
57 Hotel
#38 of 179 in Sydney
1,636 reviews
Macleay Hotel
#44 of 179 in Sydney
833 reviews
Meriton Suites Zetland
#11 of 179 in Sydney
2,897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
#99 of 179 in Sydney
4,852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cambridge Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cambridge Hotel Sydney

Property: Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Address: 212 Riley St | Surry Hills, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia (Formerly Quality Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Surry Hills
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Best Value Hotel in Sydney
#26 Family Hotel in Sydney
#35 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#39 Business Hotel in Sydney
#49 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cambridge Hotel Sydney 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star Cambridge Hotel offers multi-award winning accommodation located in the heart of Sydney's Surry Hills. Many of our 149 guest rooms and suites offer stunning city-scape views from their private balconies. The hotel is within easy walking distance of Sydney's main attractions, and is ideally located for accessing Darling Harbour, Chinatown, Cockle Bay Wharf and Sydney's Iconic Landmark's such as the Opera House and Harbour Bridge. Facilities include 24-hour reception and room-service, a rustic Italian restaurant and an indoor, heated swimming pool and spa. All rooms enjoy complimentary tea and coffee making facilities, in-room safes and comfortable bedding. Parking will never be an issue at the hotel with 5 basement levels of parking available for guests to use (fees apply) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Cambridge Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Sydney
Quality Inn Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing