We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“decent choice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Darling Harbour
Ranked #79 of 174 Hotels in Sydney
india
Level Contributor
35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“decent choice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2009

We stayed at the holiday inn for 2 nights from 17th to 19th Feb 2009.
Id booked the room via the hotel website and after checking with various other sources, am convinced we got a good deal.
We paid AUD 161 per night for a twin standard room including breakfast and taxes.
Pretty good rate for a hotel thats so centrally located.

Our flight into Sydney arrived at 7.15 AM and we were at the hotel front desk by 9.15. Although I had made a special request for an early check in while reserving the room, I had half expected my request to be complied with.
Much to our relief, we were immediately given a room.
Maybe because the hotel was around 70% occupied at the time.
The room required some effort getting into. The key card needs to be swiped in a particular fashion and the door handle needs to be pressed down simultaenously. SOmething I hadnt experienced before.

Nothing great about the room. That said, nothing to fault either.
The two single beds were adequately sized, clean and comfortable.
The room was clean. The bathroom satisfactory.
As many of earlier reviews have said, the location of the hotel is superb. I agree.
1 mins walk to the Haymarket shopping center and a further few minutes walk from the China Town area.

The breakfast was the standard fare comprising of cold cuts, cereal, assorted breads, juices, and common hot dishes like scrambled eggs, baked beans, bacon, mushrooms, hash browns.
We didnt eat our meals in the restaurant, but did take in a few brews at the inhouse bar, JBs. They had a good collection of the local stuff.

The hotel didnt make me drop my jaw and go wow, but it is completely satisfactory in all aspects.

  • Liked — the location
  • Disliked — nothing , really
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank skytrack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,457 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    699
    359
    79
    49
See reviews for
302
442
106
342
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2009

I travelled to Sydney on my way back from a business trip in Brisbane and was very disappointed with several aspects of my stay. My intention was to have a nice relaxing weekend. I was on a break and ordered wine after midnight. The uninformed night manager was not aware of the licensing laws- she said it was not possible. Considering this was not on any of the material within the room (not on the room service menu for example) I find this completely unacceptable.

Then on the Sunday I wanted to watch one of their advertised movies which was I was told unavailable to my room and they could look into it the next day.

After being given a code to use wireless internet which did not work I was also told that some rooms do not have access to wireless.

In addition when blowdrying my hair two different blow dryers did not work and they had to inform me that the socket in the bathroom was falty.

This would not be such a disappointment if the price of the hotel was not as high as it is. The next time I am in Sydney I will not be staying here.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HelenaPTan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2009

This is your standard nice reliable holiday inn, recently upgraded and centraly located, wlking distance to oxford street, circular quay and the opera house, but thy charge 27 aus dollars a day for the internet, even thought the web site says free, ya free if u pay $100 more a day for your room, what a joke!, beware! ALL Holiday inns in Sydney charge this same amount, but in smaller towns and in most american ones it is FREE

Other then that , the place is great.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank umanitek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honiton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2009

Stayed here February 2009. After staying in a Holiday Inn in Singapore this hotel is inferior. Do not be put off, the location is good and the rooms are clean and comfortable.
The lobby is always chaotic and crowded with tours groups. Luggage will go to your room if you ask otherwise take it yourself, it is the smaller services that are missing.
The staff are helpful but check in, conseirge can get into processing mode. It is possible to walk to Circular Quay (we are 60+ olds) THERE IS NO POOL which we needed in the tempretures of early Feb.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Staghunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kanata
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2009

Hotel staff were very helpful and location is good for Darling Harbour attractions but hotel is a little rundown looking. Restaurant is very pricey. Do visit the Chinese Gardens only a 3 minute walk away.

  • Liked — Closenest to Darling harbour restaurants
  • Disliked — Lack of facilities
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank geoffel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2009

We had to attend the conference at convention center and so we chose this Hotel for its proximity. Location was great, we hadn't realised how close to china town we were. It was excellent all the food and shops open till 8.00 p.m. Having been there for chinese new year was added bonus. The key card which has to be used to get to your floor was a nice security touch.

We had breakfast included, the great thing was the juicer which u could use to do your own, down side was b/fast everyday was the same thing, no variation in cooked or cold b/fast menu.

Fitness center was quite small, but I guess at least they did have one, I also used the steam room!

They were two bottle of complementary water, every day which was great.

There was a pillow menu, but whatever I asked for , they had run out!!! I did have a bit of neck pain when I got back but nevemind.

Our room was a family room with two double bed / cramped, but kind of expected it!

expensive valet parking $35.00 per night.

  • Liked — Location, cleanliness
  • Disliked — size of room
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank adventureperth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, CA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2009

We stayed here in May 2008 while visiting friends and family. The location is wonderful if you are looking to be in the heart of Sydney. The room was clean and roomy. The bathroom included a tub and walk in shower.

Our only complaint was the monorail running by what seemed like just an arm's length from our window on the second floor (if I recall). When we opened the curtains in the morning, commuters could look right in!

I would stay here again, but request a room on a different floor.

  • Liked — Location and price
  • Disliked — Monorail
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fleasky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Chinatown
Novotel Sydney Central
Novotel Sydney Central
#63 of 174 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,231 reviews
The Rocks
Holiday Inn Old Sydney
Holiday Inn Old Sydney
#43 of 174 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Radisson Hotel And Suites Sydney
Central Business District
Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Darling Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Darling Harbour

Property: Holiday Inn Darling Harbour
Address: 68 Harbour St, Darling Harbour, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#72 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Darling Harbour 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Emanating a quiet charm right in the middle of the action, Holiday Inn Darling Harbour has the best that Sydney has to offer on its doorstep. A heritage listed former Wool Store cloaks the northern wing of the hotel in history. Situated in the southern end of Sydney's central business district, the hotel is ideally positioned to allow you to make the most of your visit to Sydney. Take a leisurely stroll through Darling Harbour with its many attractions. The vibrant Chinatown and Latin Quarter are close by and the Qantas Credit Union Arena is right across the road. You can walk to some of Sydney's best restaurants, theatres and shopping complexes. For something a little different, board a ferry or the light rail for sightseeing. Trains and buses to Pitt Street Mall shopping precinct and Circular Quay are nearby too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, IHG, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Darling Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Darling Harbour Hotel Sydney
Holiday Inn Sydney
Sydney Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing