We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient for attending convention center” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Darling Harbour

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Holiday Inn Darling Harbour
Ranked #79 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Convenient for attending convention center”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2009

We had to attend the conference at convention center and so we chose this Hotel for its proximity. Location was great, we hadn't realised how close to china town we were. It was excellent all the food and shops open till 8.00 p.m. Having been there for chinese new year was added bonus. The key card which has to be used to get to your floor was a nice security touch.

We had breakfast included, the great thing was the juicer which u could use to do your own, down side was b/fast everyday was the same thing, no variation in cooked or cold b/fast menu.

Fitness center was quite small, but I guess at least they did have one, I also used the steam room!

They were two bottle of complementary water, every day which was great.

There was a pillow menu, but whatever I asked for , they had run out!!! I did have a bit of neck pain when I got back but nevemind.

Our room was a family room with two double bed / cramped, but kind of expected it!

expensive valet parking $35.00 per night.

  • Liked — Location, cleanliness
  • Disliked — size of room
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank adventureperth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,423 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    681
    355
    77
    49
See reviews for
293
433
102
334
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, CA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2009

We stayed here in May 2008 while visiting friends and family. The location is wonderful if you are looking to be in the heart of Sydney. The room was clean and roomy. The bathroom included a tub and walk in shower.

Our only complaint was the monorail running by what seemed like just an arm's length from our window on the second floor (if I recall). When we opened the curtains in the morning, commuters could look right in!

I would stay here again, but request a room on a different floor.

  • Liked — Location and price
  • Disliked — Monorail
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fleasky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2009

My husband and I spent two nights at this hotel recently over a Friday and Saturday night. The location of this hotel is superb, in that, it is centrally located in Chinatown and therefore close to a variety of restaurants, Paddy’s markets, Central train station – a 10 minute walk, the monorail, Darling Harbour and the George Street shops. It is the location alone which makes this hotel an attractive option for accommodation in central Sydney.

Check in was swift and very courteous. The room itself was located on the ninth and non-smoking floor. Upon entering the room it was clean and tidy, contained a queen sized bed which was very comfortable, a single lounge chair, desk and TV cabinet. The room also had tea and coffee facilities and a bar fridge.

The bathroom was clean, the shower pressure very good and everything in good working order. However, it was difficult for two people to stand in; my husband and I are slim people, so I considered the bathroom reasonably small.

A small tip is when using the elevator that you must slide your room card through the slot to enable access to your allocated floor. This happened quite a lot to a few people we met and can be a trap for beginners!

JBs bar is downstairs and has a nice atmosphere for a drink after a long day. We didn’t dine in the restaurant, therefore unsure of the standard of service. All staff were courteous and friendly. If driving to Sydney parking is available at the Chinatown Parking lot close to the hotel. The concierge will provide you with a ticket and costs approximately $15.00 per day.

  • Liked — The location is superb
  • Disliked — Cannot fault it.
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Curlisue71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jordan
Level Contributor
100 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2009

We had a one-night stop here, arriving at the hotel at 9am. Our room was ready and they allowed us to check in then at no extra charge. All hotel staff were friendly, helpful and cheerful, whilst being ultra efficient.
The room was a standard with a big double and generous single, with a kitchenette area containing minibar, tea coffee etc. Big clean bathroom and satellite TV with internet on request. No view to speak of but ideally situated to catch the monorail to Darling or Sydney harbours, or the more energetic could easily walk there.
If you are visiting Sydney, I recommend this hotel as an excellent base.

  • Liked — Spacious and clean
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Kittygangar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2009

It does its job as a HI/4 star property - with a pretty good location closer to Chinatown (thus we had yum cha for breakfast!) and the monorail stop nearby. Quite a few attractions within walking distance.

Our room was a triple room - with 3 singles beds, of a good size. The TV was dated, and the bathroom appeared dated but no other qualms. Couldn't find an accessible powerpoint near the desk though!

Service was excellent, and for our caffeine fix - both the restaurant and the bar did very good lattes - soy at no discernible extra charge! Check in and check out was speedy and efficient, no attempt to flog unnecessary products.

As I obtained the room rate in the most recent Priority Club sale, it was indeed excellent value.

  • Disliked — Dated bathroom
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gabes80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2009

Best part of this hotel is that its steps away from the monorail stn, the paddys market and 15 min walk from the central station. The rooms are fairly good (the bed could have been better though) and the service and reception are quite nice.
We enjoyed drinks and food at its restaurant and strongly recommend them.
V good value for money and a good choice for both business and leisure travelers.

  • Liked — Proximity & its Restaurants
  • Disliked — No Pool or other Hotel facility
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Carte_Blanche888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sydney hotels

Scotland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2009

Stayed for 2 nights on way to New Zealand, so time was limited. Hotel was excellent facilities for stopover, 5 minutes walk to Darling Harbour, Breakfast was good value, would thoroughly recommend this hotel. Mini Bar was very expensive!

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elaine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Radisson Hotel And Suites Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Novotel Sydney Central
Novotel Sydney Central
#66 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,213 reviews
Central Business District
Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour
Mercure Sydney
#57 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Darling Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Darling Harbour

Property: Holiday Inn Darling Harbour
Address: 68 Harbour St, Darling Harbour, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Chinatown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#71 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Darling Harbour 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Emanating a quiet charm right in the middle of the action, Holiday Inn Darling Harbour has the best that Sydney has to offer on its doorstep. A heritage listed former Wool Store cloaks the northern wing of the hotel in history. Situated in the southern end of Sydney's central business district, the hotel is ideally positioned to allow you to make the most of your visit to Sydney. Take a leisurely stroll through Darling Harbour with its many attractions. The vibrant Chinatown and Latin Quarter are close by and the Qantas Credit Union Arena is right across the road. You can walk to some of Sydney's best restaurants, theatres and shopping complexes. For something a little different, board a ferry or the light rail for sightseeing. Trains and buses to Pitt Street Mall shopping precinct and Circular Quay are nearby too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com and IHG so you can book your Holiday Inn Darling Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Darling Harbour Hotel Sydney
Holiday Inn Sydney
Sydney Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing