We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Darling Harbour
Ranked #81 of 177 Hotels in Sydney
UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic location”
Reviewed December 20, 2008

Booked this hotel after reading reviews on this website. Stayed for 3 nights with our toddler.

Simply fantastic location. A very very short walk to Darling Harbour - a great location as a base to see the major sites of Sydney. We generally ate in the restaurants around the Harbour so didn't eat in the hotel. No "view" from the room but we didn't care - we were out having fun.

Very clean hotel - pretty much what you'd expect + hope from one of the major chains, no noticeable traffic or noise from the other rooms. Friendly and efficient staff (travel cot included without charge). Couldn't ask for more!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Can't think of anything
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Babyblade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,500 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    281
    715
    372
    81
    51
See reviews for
309
454
108
359
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley, CA
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2008

We first stayed in Sydney at the start of our visit to Australia at the Rendezvous Hotel, in the historic district and thoroughly enjoyed it. Great location, clean, bright, well appointed rooms. We thought when we returned for a night prior to our flight out, we'd try another hotel, so we booked one night at the Holiday Inn Darling Harbour. What a disappointment across the board! Even my kids were depressed by the state of this hotel, with its dark, dingy hallways. The supposed workout room and "hot tub" was enough to make you feel ill just walking into it, which you had to do through the filthy laundry room. The rooms themselves are well appointed, though the funky light system using the key card was annoying. However, the windows allow little or no light and the schlept through the odd lobby, hotel and hallways made it sad experience. Had we been planning to stay more than one night, we would have definitely changed hotels. The key card for everything made us feel like we were in a lock down facility and that the neighborhood was really questionable. Pay the extra money and stay in The Rocks area.

  • Liked — the inside of the room
  • Disliked — all the rest of it
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank dhtchk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sydney hotels

california
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2008

Great location, very close to the iner city. Options of walking or on occaions caught the Monorail which goes round in a loop and stops at various places in the city centre.
Rooms are smallish, but very clean and helpful staff.
In all, not necessary the best ever hotel but good for it's offerings and price.

  • Liked — it's close to the city and darling harbour
  • Stayed November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank maddiwm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
462 reviews
238 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 367 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2008

I recently spent 3 nights at the Darling Harbour Holiday Inn and my experience was quite good. After a long 15 flight from San Francisco I was able to check in at 9:30 in the morning giving me time too freshen up and get in a full day of sight seeing. The rooms are on the smallish side, but this is the norm for a big city property. The rooms was very clean, quiet and as others have said the location is wonderful. There are plenty of places to eat nearby and attractions are also very accessible. I have no problem recommending this hotel.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — The tiny whirlpool
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank highdesertbadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2008

The most useful feature of this hotel is its central location. It's less than a 5 minute walk to great eateries in Chinatown, Paddy's market and the Monorail station. Through Monorail, Darling Harbour and Sydney CBD are easily accessible. Note that Circular Quay / Harbour Bridge / Opera House still require either a 15 minute walk or 5 minute cab ride (<$10) after using the Monorail. The monorail goes right next to the hotel so the lower floors (2-3) might not get that much privacy.

The hotel is clean and has all the basic amenities. Internet comes at a pretty hefty price though. There are no detailed phone tariffs posted in the rooms (this seems to be the norm in Australia) and the front desk receptionist was pretty hazy when I called up (local calls are a dollar I think, toll free should be free except for some numbers blah blah)....I was keeping my fingers crossed till I checked out........it turned out not so bad in the end (toll free calls were free; local calls were 1 dollar per call)

  • Liked — It's location
  • Disliked — High Internet Access Fees
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank dalda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed November 13, 2008

This is a great location but don't expect a great view from your room.

The staff was pleasant but small.

The mattress was very firm.

It is right next to the market area which has a great place to exchange currency for no fee. It is also a good place to pick up a low priced breakfast or lunch.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — the view
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Travler1099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suva, Fiji
Level Contributor
46 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2008

A convenient location on the Chinatown side of Darling Harbour, particularly if need to be in the area.

Check-in was average. I stood at the demarcated location for Priority Club members, and was asked by a somewhat irritated reception staff whether I was a member and I replied in an equally irritated and sarcastic manner which resulted in a change of attitude.

I was in the "new" part of the hotel, and the room layout is a bit strange - its very narrow and long with the bed stretching across the width of the room. A peculiar layout and not the best use of space. Otherwise room was fine, clean with all necessary essentials.

Around a 10-15 minute walk will take you into the heart of the Darling Harbour action. The same amount of time will take you into the heart of the city. A monorail station is close by, Paddy's Market is across the road, and a range of eating options are close by, since you are in Chinatown.

Not the best value for money as such, but acceptable.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank CherryPuppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Holiday Inn Old Sydney
Holiday Inn Old Sydney
#43 of 177 in Sydney
2,339 reviews
Chinatown
Novotel Sydney Central
Novotel Sydney Central
#65 of 177 in Sydney
1,275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Radisson Hotel And Suites Sydney
Mercure Sydney
#62 of 177 in Sydney
4,809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Darling Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Darling Harbour

Property: Holiday Inn Darling Harbour
Address: 68 Harbour St, Darling Harbour, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#74 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Darling Harbour 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Emanating a quiet charm right in the middle of the action, Holiday Inn Darling Harbour has the best that Sydney has to offer on its doorstep. A heritage listed former Wool Store cloaks the northern wing of the hotel in history. Situated in the southern end of Sydney's central business district, the hotel is ideally positioned to allow you to make the most of your visit to Sydney. Take a leisurely stroll through Darling Harbour with its many attractions. The vibrant Chinatown and Latin Quarter are close by and the Qantas Credit Union Arena is right across the road. You can walk to some of Sydney's best restaurants, theatres and shopping complexes. For something a little different, board a ferry or the light rail for sightseeing. Trains and buses to Pitt Street Mall shopping precinct and Circular Quay are nearby too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, IHG, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Darling Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Darling Harbour Hotel Sydney
Holiday Inn Sydney
Sydney Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing