We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Darling Harbour

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Holiday Inn Darling Harbour
Ranked #79 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Texas
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Good location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2008

This is a great location but don't expect a great view from your room.

The staff was pleasant but small.

The mattress was very firm.

It is right next to the market area which has a great place to exchange currency for no fee. It is also a good place to pick up a low priced breakfast or lunch.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — the view
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Travler1099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,423 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    681
    355
    77
    49
See reviews for
293
433
102
334
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Suva, Fiji
Level Contributor
46 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2008

A convenient location on the Chinatown side of Darling Harbour, particularly if need to be in the area.

Check-in was average. I stood at the demarcated location for Priority Club members, and was asked by a somewhat irritated reception staff whether I was a member and I replied in an equally irritated and sarcastic manner which resulted in a change of attitude.

I was in the "new" part of the hotel, and the room layout is a bit strange - its very narrow and long with the bed stretching across the width of the room. A peculiar layout and not the best use of space. Otherwise room was fine, clean with all necessary essentials.

Around a 10-15 minute walk will take you into the heart of the Darling Harbour action. The same amount of time will take you into the heart of the city. A monorail station is close by, Paddy's Market is across the road, and a range of eating options are close by, since you are in Chinatown.

Not the best value for money as such, but acceptable.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank CherryPuppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2008

What an excellent hotel in a great location! This is a holiday inn though so don't expect the sheraton, however...

This hotel is in a perfect location for a visit to Sydney. Located in china town, a 1 minute walk to Paddys market and a 1.5 minute walk to a monorail station. Easy walk and access to Darling Harbour.

If you want to go to Cricular Quay it is a bit tricky, but pretty much you just catch a bus straight down george street. Or alternatively, walk to Central and catch a train from there.

Fantastic restaurant on Golbourn street, Mamak. Satay and Roti restauant. Cheap and the best satays I have had outside Malaysia. An absolute definite must eat here restaurant, and cheap too!

As for the hotel itself. We stayed in an executive room on the 10th floor and for 2 adults and 2 kids it was pretty good value. The kids loved the foxtel! The rooms are a good size and the bathroom is great with a seperate bath and shower. They need to look at adding a micowave into the kitcheny area they have as this would add to the room. We had a room facing George street and the view was pretty non existent.

Also be aware this property does not have a pool. It does have a hot tub/spa, but it is a 6 person residential type, and not really pratical for a hotel of this size.

I would give this hotel a 7/10 and would definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — no pool
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SusieMc65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2008

The hotel is sandwiched between Chinatown and the Entertainment Centre, which is quite convenient but means you won't get much of a view, at least not from the lower floors. The rooms are reasonably comfortable - not large, but I have seen much smaller in Sydney. Windows do not open, so it can get a little stuffy in the room. The gym is tiny, and the "whirlpool" (which seats just 4 people) would not operate when we tried it. Breakfast had quite a wide range including a self-serve juice bar, but was missing a few of my favourites e.g. toasted muesli, cream, and plain, gelatine-free yogurt. For tea and coffee, you have to catch the attention of the staff, but they do serve it hot. All the hotel staff were friendly and efficient. Overall it is a reasonable city hotel, but neither especially exciting nor a stand-out bargain.

  • Liked — Friendly staff
  • Disliked — No fresh air
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank BVC2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2008

Close to everything, but dated, restaurant was small, food boring.
Had a two singles room, room was small, beds were tiny.

Bit pissed off that internet is $25 for a day! US hotels are free.

The bar/food place was bigger , nicer food.

  • Liked — Check out
  • Disliked — paying nearly what I pay for internet for one night that I pay at home for a month
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank lloydb61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
80 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2008

Upgraded room due to my mileage status.
Nicely appointed room except the bed was too close to the wall on the side where the alarm clock/phone was on, so had to climb over the bed to get to the clock. (ie Odd placement of bed, may be due to lack of space or too big a bed for the room size?) That's all good however...
I guess rooms are a little tighter since you are smack in Sydney.
To get to the room I had to go up a mini-stairs (about 5 steps) after getting off the elevator, which has inconvenient when considering the weight of my suitcase.
Location is excellent if you like China Towns. It is right there. It has a nice restaurants downstairs in the hotel, but go out to China Town. Just follow the smell of food and you won't go wrong.
The staff was efficient. Not quite as friendly as ones I encountered in Brisbane or Adelaide however, but efficient. Concierge when asked about a good place to eat, pointed me to the Holiday Inn restaurants on the first floor when China Town is only a block away. He should have at least asked me what kind of food I liked or something.
I hold this hotel in the neutral zone.

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
Thank QZOCK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2008

We stayed in the holiday Inn darling Harbour for 3 nights. This is a lovely hotel and it is in a fantastic location. The rooms were clean and comfortable and the staff were friendly. I even used the hotel gym which was great!

  • Liked — The rooms and the gym
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank r0bynS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Radisson Hotel And Suites Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Novotel Sydney Central
Novotel Sydney Central
#66 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,213 reviews
Central Business District
Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour
Mercure Sydney
#57 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Darling Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Darling Harbour

Property: Holiday Inn Darling Harbour
Address: 68 Harbour St, Darling Harbour, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Chinatown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#71 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Darling Harbour 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Emanating a quiet charm right in the middle of the action, Holiday Inn Darling Harbour has the best that Sydney has to offer on its doorstep. A heritage listed former Wool Store cloaks the northern wing of the hotel in history. Situated in the southern end of Sydney's central business district, the hotel is ideally positioned to allow you to make the most of your visit to Sydney. Take a leisurely stroll through Darling Harbour with its many attractions. The vibrant Chinatown and Latin Quarter are close by and the Qantas Credit Union Arena is right across the road. You can walk to some of Sydney's best restaurants, theatres and shopping complexes. For something a little different, board a ferry or the light rail for sightseeing. Trains and buses to Pitt Street Mall shopping precinct and Circular Quay are nearby too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz and IHG so you can book your Holiday Inn Darling Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Darling Harbour Hotel Sydney
Holiday Inn Sydney
Sydney Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing