We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good & convenience location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Darling Harbour
Ranked #81 of 177 Hotels in Sydney
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Good & convenience location”
Reviewed December 22, 2013

I have stayed here a few times over the years and the most recent was in July this year.
This is a typically Holiday Inn chain hotel, functional and comfortable. Hotel has a nice small gym which is not too bad. Breakfast selection is ok.
What i like about this hotel is the location, right beside Paddy Market and Sydney's chinatown. Darling Harbour is a short 10 mins walk away. A good base to explore Sydney.
Overall, a good value for money hotel in Sydney.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whereisfatboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradley B, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Darling Harbour, responded to this review, December 25, 2013
Dear whereisfatboy, thank you for taking the time to post you feedback after your recent stay. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our location and hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again next time you are visiting Sydney.

Kind regards

Bradley Boyd
Director of Sales
Holiday Inn Darling Harbour
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,500 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    281
    715
    372
    81
    51
See reviews for
309
454
108
359
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2013 via mobile

Hotel is really good location, just next by Chinatown, easy to go out for food and also Darling harbour is nearby. Room is clean, but not sound proofing! You can hear people talk on phone or using bath room.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OliverLiangLiang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradley B, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Darling Harbour, responded to this review, December 25, 2013
Dear OliverLiangLiang, thank you for posting your feedback after your recent stay. It is feedback such as yours that is highly valued and will allow us to ensure that we can continually upgrade our service and facilities to meet the expectations of our valued guests. Your feedback has been passed onto our Chief Engineer who will investigate further and seek a solution to the noise issue you have mentioned. Once again we thank you for your valued feedback.

Kind regards

Bradley Boyd
Director of Sales
Holiday Inn Darling Harbour.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2013

I had a wonderful stay at the Holiday Inn Darling Harbor. The hotel is clean, simple and well-situated. It's not luxurious but is excellent value for the money. The staff was a highlight especially Esra at the front desk. I was allowed to check in a full 4 hours early given my long flight and checked out 3 hours later as well!! These small details make a huge difference. Looking forward to staying here again the next time around.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carlos B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradley B, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Darling Harbour, responded to this review, December 21, 2013
Dear CarlosB, thank you for your kind feedback, it is much appreciated and has been passed onto our team who are always happy to hear from our guests. We hope to be able to welcome you at another IHG Hotel next time you are travelling.

Kind regards

Bradley Boyd
Director of Sales
Holiday Inn Darling Harbour.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2013

I have spent 4 nights here during July 13 with my family. The location of the hotel is very good as it is just next to the chinatown and paddy market. In addition, we can easy reach Darling Harbour by taking the tram nearby. Just a few minutes walk, we reach the townhall station and the down town of Sydney. Shopping centres such as Westfield and QVB are also within walking distance. The breakfast of the hotel is good as well, there are many variesties for selection and good service. Overall, we have a good stay in Sydney, In addition, there are also a number of great Korean and Japanese restaurants nearby,

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gotham0505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradley B, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Darling Harbour, responded to this review, December 21, 2013
We appreciate your feedback after your recent stay with us, thank you for taking the time to post your feedback. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time at the Hotel and found our location convenient to your needs. We hope to be able to welcome you at another IHG Hotel next time you are travelling.

Kind regards

Bradley Boyd
Director of Sales
Holiday Inn Darling Harbour
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bathurst, australia
Level Contributor
304 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2013

Great stay for tourists close to all attractions Darling harbor, China town restaurants, bars, shopping & transport very friendly service spacious rooms comfortable bed nice & quite & very reasonably priced. Excellent place to stay

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pomlea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradley B, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Darling Harbour, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Thanks for your feedback after your recent stay, it is much appreciated. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to be able to welcome you back next time you are travelling to Sydney.

Kind regards

Bradley Boyd
Director of Sales
Holiday Inn Darling Harbour
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
140 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2013

Have stayed before (2 years+ ago) so good to review again my most recent stay. Booked (direct on the hotel's own website) a Superior room for a one night stay as a city sleepover after a late show at The Star. Booking request was made and prepaid almost 2 months in advance and the booking confirmation online noted my special request for 3 single beds in the room. However and exactly as happened on my last stay here, the allocated room upon checkin was not as per the booking confirmation. Check in guy seemed new and at first said they could do a room with double bed plus a rollaway extra bed but that would be extra $55 !! Lucky I have my printed confirmation with me to confirm the cost, number of people and the request for a room with 3 singles. After the guy got a more boss type lady involved it was eventually sorted and hey presto the requsted room configuration was provided.

Room similar to last stay and all pretty good. Quite spacious with very good kitchenette area, proper desk and chair, good beds with pillow choice (nice touch). Big flat screen TV. Bathrooms are dated but perfectly adequate. A/C somewhat noisy and tricky to adjust between very cold and warm. Ate dinner downstairs in JBs bar which provides nice meals at reasonable prices. All in all this hotel offers reasonable accommodation in a great location so convenient to Chinatown, Darling Harbour, southern CBD, entertainment centre.

Room Tip: Whatever you choose when confirming your booking, make sure you bring a copy of it with you when you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shanosV8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradley B, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Darling Harbour, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
It was great to hear from you after your recent stay with us, thank you for also taking the time to bring the matter of your confirmed room type availability to our attention. This situation should not have arisen as we had confirmed your requested room type to you at the time of reservation. We would appreciate the opportunity to further investigate this matter and then provide you with a resolution. As we are unable to identify you from your screen name, we would appreciate you making direct contact with our Front Office Manager Francisco Vasconcellos (francisco.vasconcellos@ihg.com) who will be able to follow-up fully and respond back to you. We look forward to hearing from you in the near future.

Kind regards

Bradley Boyd
Director of Sales
Holiday Inn Darling Harbour.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
181 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night at this hotel during visit to Sydney. It's a nice hotel, obviously bit old and age is showing from inside and from the rooms. We were upgraded to a nice executive room on 11th floor which is nice of them. Room was spacious and clean. Much better than the Holiday inn old Sydney. Service was good and friendly and had no troubles during our stay.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rameez H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradley B, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Darling Harbour, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
It was great to hear from you after your stay with us recently, thank you for posting your comments. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to be able to welcome you back next time you are visiting Sydney.

Kind regards

Bradley Boyd
Director of Sales
Holiday Inn Darling Harbour.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Holiday Inn Old Sydney
Holiday Inn Old Sydney
#43 of 177 in Sydney
2,339 reviews
Chinatown
Novotel Sydney Central
Novotel Sydney Central
#65 of 177 in Sydney
1,275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Radisson Hotel And Suites Sydney
Mercure Sydney
#62 of 177 in Sydney
4,808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Darling Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Darling Harbour

Property: Holiday Inn Darling Harbour
Address: 68 Harbour St, Darling Harbour, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#74 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Darling Harbour 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Emanating a quiet charm right in the middle of the action, Holiday Inn Darling Harbour has the best that Sydney has to offer on its doorstep. A heritage listed former Wool Store cloaks the northern wing of the hotel in history. Situated in the southern end of Sydney's central business district, the hotel is ideally positioned to allow you to make the most of your visit to Sydney. Take a leisurely stroll through Darling Harbour with its many attractions. The vibrant Chinatown and Latin Quarter are close by and the Qantas Credit Union Arena is right across the road. You can walk to some of Sydney's best restaurants, theatres and shopping complexes. For something a little different, board a ferry or the light rail for sightseeing. Trains and buses to Pitt Street Mall shopping precinct and Circular Quay are nearby too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, IHG, Hotwire, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Darling Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Darling Harbour Hotel Sydney
Holiday Inn Sydney
Sydney Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing