We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best beds of the trip!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Darling Harbour
Ranked #79 of 174 Hotels in Sydney
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best beds of the trip!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

Stayed from Monday to Friday, the last 4 nights of our holiday in Australia. We have had a great time in each of the venues, and never been uncomfortable, but the Darling Harbour beds surpassed every other. All 3 of us slept very well.
Our one criticism is the breakfast area. The staff are superb and the food was ok with a very good choice, but the space allowed for self service is very constricted. I didn't feel that there was sufficient space between the two counters. There were 2 mornings when the hot food was almost all gone and there was a bit of a delay on refilling. Also had an issue with the coffee machine one day when it had escaped notice that the beans and the milk were out. In fairness, once this was pointed out, the matter was rectified, but it did cause a bit of a delay. Didn't matter too much to us as we weren't on a timetable that particular day.
However, could not fault the staff in any area. All very helpful, and ready to rectify any problems as quickly as possible.

Room Tip: 7th floor facing the Entertainment Centre was just fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank margaretknight7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradley B, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Darling Harbour, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
It was great to hear from you after your recent stay, thank you so much for your valued feedback. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to be able to welcome you at another Holiday Inn some time very soon.

Kind regards

Bradley Boyd
Director of Sales
Holiday Inn Darling Harbour.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,457 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    699
    359
    79
    49
See reviews for
302
442
106
342
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
67 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights for a long weekend in Sydney. If arriving by car watch that it doesn't get hemmed in the parking bay at the front of the hotel. It's not wide enough for two cars to pass so if you end up in the middle with a car in front or behind you, you can wait for ages to get out.

The check in staff were very attentive & courteous and seemed eager to please. We were in a room on the third floor facing the street (directly opposite the Entertainment Centre). The room it self looked a little tired however the queen size bed was very comfy with a lovely soft doona (the most comfortable bed I've slept on in a hotel for some time)

Unfortunately our room seemed to have pipes in the wall from floors above as all night we had the constant noise of water running, toilets flushing etc. Add to that the noise from street traffic & noisy revellers below and it didn't make for a good night sleep.

Breakfast whilst included in our room price was very ordinary. We didn't bother with the second days breakfast. Food was 3 star hotel quality at best. I don't understand why some hotels like this insist on using powdered eggs for the buffet.

All in all I wouldn't stay here again unless I was here on business at a trade show at the convention centre or the like (at least it would be handy for that). Next trip to Sydney I'll spend a bit more money and be a bit closer to the centre of the city

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Brisvegas_Boy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradley B, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Darling Harbour, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you for your honest and valued feedback, it is much appreciated. Whilst we are disappointed to hear that some aspects of your stay did not meet your expectations, we do appreciate your feedback which will allow us to improve in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata
Level Contributor
63 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

Stayed here for three nights and overall satisfied .
Pros
1. Good location close to darling harbour where lot of activities can be done. Everything accessible walking
2. Just behind is Chinatown where lot of good food is available.
3. Awesome breakfast and specially Mandy's service cannot be forgotten
4.good sleep quality with nice mattress and pillows.
5 very co operative staff specially duty manager Kelly
6. Allowed us early check in which was swift
7. Children stay and breakfast free
8. It was raining one day and we got a nice big umbrella from them.
9. Good coincerge desk with informations.
Cons
1. Small hotel without swimming pool.
2 . A bit old hotel but very well maintained
3 . Toilet not that great
4. Parking problem but they have valet parking facility .
5 . Basic rooms

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rockingrahul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradley B, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Darling Harbour, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Your honest feedback is much appreciated, thank you for taking the time to post your review after your recent stay. We hope to be able to welcome you at another IHG Hotel next time you are travelling.

Kind regards

Bradley Boyd
Director of Sales
Holiday Inn Darling Harbour.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland
Level Contributor
59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

When travelling to Sydney I always try and stay at the Holiday Inn at Darling Harbour. This hotel is reasonably priced compared to other hotels in the area. It is directly across the road from the Sydney Entertainment Arena, walking distance to Chinatown, Paddy's Markets and a vast array of Restaurants and Bars in Darling Harbour. For those lovers of seafood there is a light Rail nearby which takes you to the Sydney Fish Markets, which is a must if you are in Sydney. You will not eat seafood much fresher than at the eateries in the market area. For those who enjoy Malaysian food the Malaya Restaurant is a short walk away in Darling Harbour. Without doubt the best Malaysian food I have eaten.

For the sun lovers a short walk to Central Railway Station will take you famous Bondi Beach where you can surf and sun bake to your hearts content, or you can take a bus to Circular Quay where a Ferry will take you across the Harbour to the beautiful Manly Beach

Room Tip: Have never had a problem with the rooms, clean comfortable and roomy
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gards50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradley B, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Darling Harbour, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
It was great to hear from you after recent stay, your feedback is much appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back next time you are visiting Sydney.

Kind regards

Bradley Boyd
Director of Sales
Holiday Inn Darling Harbour
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed at this hotel as it was close to the entertainment centre where we were attending a show. We were pleasantly surprised as it is an older hotel but it has been well maintained. It is close to the city and adjoins china town so food is at your door. The only issue is car parking as you have to use the entertainment centre car park and walk.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to be noise proof
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alderwiser1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradley B, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Darling Harbour, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
We appreciate your time in posting your feedback after staying with us recently. Your comments are much appreciated and we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our location in Southern Darling Harbour and our proximity to the Sydney Entertainment Centre. We hope to be able to welcome you back again next time you are visiting Sydney.

Kind regards

Bradley Boyd
Director of Sales
Holiday Inn Darling Harbour.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

If you like being near china town and near loads of Chinese restaurants then this is the hotel for you. The room I stayed in was of a decent size and was clean and well equipped. The staff are all very friendly which made my stay in sydney really pleasant. The hotel has a good breakfast buffet. There's Paddys market across the road if you are into cheap tacky souvenirs - for more decent shopping head to the CBD.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank StefyKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradley B, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Darling Harbour, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Thanks for your feedback after your recent stay, it is very much appreciated. We hope to be able to welcome you at another Holiday Inn next time you are travelling.

Kind regards

Bradley Boyd
Director of Sales
Holiday Inn Darling Harbour.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
67 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the Holiday Inn, Darling Harbour for two nights, fantastic location and ease of access to public transport, theaters, shopping and sight seeing venues.

Reception staff are very friendly and professional even when problems with bookings arise. Rooms are large, very clean and comfortable beds, good choice of pillows....mmmm heaven.......

Bathrooms are dated but very clean, not a show stopper.

Grumble for the stay was waiting 15 minutes for a table for breakfast and then the buffet had been attacked by a plague of locusts.... Very little on offer, admittedly the staff got done and couldn't cope. Top marks to the female supervisor and double marks the next morning. Message to management..... What a great worker and representative for your hotel.

Whilst this was a work trip, the hotel is well situated with many many restaurants, cheap and expensive within a block of hotel. Good bars are also near by.

I pay money for quality comfort, accessibility, good breakfast and professional staff..... You could not get better for the price.

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Brisflip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradley B, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Darling Harbour, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Thank you for your honest feedback, it is greatly valued. Your comments regarding your breakfast experience have been passed onto our Food & Beverage Manager for further follow-up. We trust that we can welcome you back next time you are visiting Sydney.

Kind regards

Bradley Boyd
Director of Sales
Holiday Inn Darling Harbour
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Chinatown
Novotel Sydney Central
Novotel Sydney Central
#63 of 174 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,231 reviews
The Rocks
Holiday Inn Old Sydney
Holiday Inn Old Sydney
#43 of 174 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Radisson Hotel And Suites Sydney
Central Business District
Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Darling Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Darling Harbour

Property: Holiday Inn Darling Harbour
Address: 68 Harbour St, Darling Harbour, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#72 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Darling Harbour 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Emanating a quiet charm right in the middle of the action, Holiday Inn Darling Harbour has the best that Sydney has to offer on its doorstep. A heritage listed former Wool Store cloaks the northern wing of the hotel in history. Situated in the southern end of Sydney's central business district, the hotel is ideally positioned to allow you to make the most of your visit to Sydney. Take a leisurely stroll through Darling Harbour with its many attractions. The vibrant Chinatown and Latin Quarter are close by and the Qantas Credit Union Arena is right across the road. You can walk to some of Sydney's best restaurants, theatres and shopping complexes. For something a little different, board a ferry or the light rail for sightseeing. Trains and buses to Pitt Street Mall shopping precinct and Circular Quay are nearby too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, IHG, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Darling Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Darling Harbour Hotel Sydney
Holiday Inn Sydney
Sydney Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing