We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location & excellent services”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Darling Harbour
Ranked #82 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
1 review
“Great location & excellent services”
Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

Hotel is located near Chinatown and Paddy's Market. Comfy room, staff are friendly and helpful. There's tram service near hotel near Chinatown. Free bus service for tourists no. 555. Walking distance to Darling Harbour which has plenty of entertainment all day through late night. We happen to catch a spectacular fireworks at the waterfront. There's also Harbourside Shopping Centre...must go try the famous pancake and pork rib at 'Pancakes on the Rock'...yummy!! We had a wonderful time in Sydney. We'll be back!

Helpful?
Thank Maggie C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Bradley B, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Darling Harbour, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
It was great to hear from you after you recent stay, thank you for your valued feedback. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time in Sydney and also at the Hotel. We hope to be able to welcome you at another Holiday Inn next time you are travelling.

Kind regards

Bradley Boyd
Director of Sales
Holiday Inn Darling Harbour.;
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

1,501 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    281
    715
    373
    81
    51
See reviews for
309
454
108
360
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

The location of the hotel is key. It is within walking distance to Darling Harbour (15 mins) where you can have lots of restaurant, cafe options. If you want Chinese food, China Town is just behind this property.

Room is pretty spacious and condition is ok in general. The bathroom is quite big but the shower is placed too high which is not friendly to Asian. As the building is pretty old, lifts aren't working well. Even they have 3 lifts, you usually need to wait for a while to get in one.

Service is ok, staff aren't as friendly as some reviewers said. I tried calling reception for a request in the evening but no one pick up the phone for a long time. Even when someone picked up my request, the request wasn't fulfilled (i asked for a clean plate to place my fruit).

One suggestion for management is to clean the windows outside the building as they are quite dirty. And so even our room is facing a nicer part of the city, the dirty windows stop us from enjoying the view.

Room Tip: Request upper floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HJKHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradley B, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Darling Harbour, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
We value the time you have taken to post your feedback after your recent stay with us, thank you for your honest feedback. We would welcome the opportunity to further discuss your stay with you and would ask that you make direct contact with our Front Office Manager Francisco Vasconcellos (Ifrancisco.vasconcellos@ihg.com) who will be able to further investigate what has taken place during your stay. We look forward to hearing from you in the near future.

Kind regards

Bradley Boyd
Director of Sales
Holiday Inn Darling Harbour.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MELBOURNE
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Stayed for a couple of nights (Room 335) on 01st and 2nd October. I cannot vouch for the rest of the rooms but ours was looking decidedly old and worn out. Bathroom fittings cheap and nasty, the shower tap came off in my hand during a shower, very convenient!!. The fire sprinkler in the bathroom was rusted, you could only hope it would work if called upon to do so. The staff responsible for cleaning the rooms failed to bother with ours and was only done once reception staff had been advised. Be warned, this hotel appears to be a modern structure within a much older facade (lots of visible structural supports going on)and we had a window that looked out on a wall and no natural light. The hotel is convenient to the tourist traps but is not on top of the main Darling Harbour attractions in the way the Novotel or Ibis hotels are. Finally, the beds were not comfortable with mattresses that seemed well past their use by date. Time for some fixing up with this place!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CAROLINE H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradley B, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Darling Harbour, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you for your honest and valued feedback after your recent stay, it is greatly appreciated. We are currently in the process of upgrading our accommodation rooms with levels 3 and 4 next scheduled for work.

We would welcome the opportunity to further discuss your feedback with you in greater detail so that we may provide you with some positive resolution. We would ask that you make direct contact with our Front Office Manager Francisco Vasconcellos (francisco.vasconcellos@ihg.com) who will be able to fully investigate what has taken place during your stay. We look forward to hearing from you in the near future.

Once again, we thank you for your valued feedback.

Kind regards

Bradley Boyd
Director of Sales
Holiday Inn Darling Harbour
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Stayed at this hotel on Business. The foyer was pleasant and the staff welcoming. They had upgraded me to an Executive King Room. This room was on a high floor but had a rather strange configuration - it was long and narrow.
At the end you enter there is a sink, refrigerator, tea and coffee making equipment, wardrobe, and work desk.
At the other end there was one lounge chair, small table and suitcase stand and a large flatscreen TV on the wall but the only place where it was comfortable to watch this was from the bed.
There was only enough room between the bed and window to just wheel a small suitcase.
There were several power outlets behind the pillow which was very strange - almost as if the king bed was not supposed to be there. The bathroom was large with both a bath and shower however there was limited shelf space for personal toiletries and makeup.
The carpet at the door was worn bare in one area as well.
On the plus side this hotel was clean and being on a high floor quite quiet. The staff were helpful and pleasant.The proximity to Darling Harbour and Chinatown is definitely great.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank QualityController_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradley B, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Darling Harbour, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, it is much appreciated. We would welcome the opportunity to speak further with you regarding your comments and would ask that you make direct contact with our Front Office Manager Francisco Vasconcellos (francisco.vasconcellos@ihg.com) who will be able to follow-up in greater depth. We value your feedback and look forward to hearing from you in the near future.

Kind regards

Bradley Boyd
Director of Sales
Holiday Inn Darling Harbour.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
216 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Brilliantly located between Chinatown and The Darling Harbour as well as adjacent to Market City. Very friendly and courteous staff.

Breakfast room is small though and tends to get messy esp when there are a lot of guests. Buffet quality is not great and the same menu every morning! The coffee machine doesn't work!

The Reception and Lobby staff are generally very helpful.

Rooms are comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank madhav24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradley B, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Darling Harbour, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
We appreciate your honest feedback after your recent stay and your comments regarding our Food & Beverage service have been passed on for further follow-up and investigation.

It is feedback such as yours that will allow us to continually ensure that we are meeting the expectations of our valued guests.

Kind regards

Bradley Boyd
Director of Sales
Holiday Inn Darling Harbour.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

The location was so perfect for us. The monorail station straight across from the hotel made for easy access to the rest of Sydney and the Chinese markets are RIGHT at the top of the 'street'. We had a small kitchenette in our room which was enough to allow us to make our breakfest each morning form the metro Woolworths shop we did. Darling harbour is lovely to just wonder around and it was a little home away from home for us for the 5 days we visited.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeandNeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradley B, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Darling Harbour, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
It was great to receive your feedback after your recent stay and we are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time in Sydney and also at the Hotel. We hope to be able to welcome you at another Holiday Inn next time you are travelling.

Kind regards

Bradley Boyd
Director of Sales
Holiday Inn Darling Harbour
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
662 reviews
254 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 269 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

This Holiday Inn Darling Harbour is well located near Darling Harbour and offers good value for money and is worth the stay however, the car park is situated two blocks away which is an inconvenience for those who dont like walking a distance and to get to the car park is open air so if its raining you willneed to have an umbrella in the car unless you leave your bags in reception and then drive over to the car park with a hotel umbrella before checking in. This is certainly the closest car park and so this is the best solution in fairness that the hotel can offer. On the 11th floor, there are stairs to walk up on this floor which is an inconvenience if you have bags to carry. The Internet is very good and is offered complimentary to some grades of Priority Club members. Front desk staff and the Duty Manager were very helpful at check in.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roryjdoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradley B, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Darling Harbour, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
We appreciate the time you have taken to post a review after your recent stay us, thank you for your comments. We hope to see you at another Holiday Inn next time you are travelling.

Kind regards

Bradley Boyd
Director of Sales
Holiday Inn Darling Harbour
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Holiday Inn Old Sydney
Holiday Inn Old Sydney
#43 of 178 in Sydney
2,343 reviews
Chinatown
Novotel Sydney Central
Novotel Sydney Central
#65 of 178 in Sydney
1,276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Radisson Hotel And Suites Sydney
Mercure Sydney
#62 of 178 in Sydney
4,813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Darling Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Darling Harbour

Property: Holiday Inn Darling Harbour
Address: 68 Harbour St, Darling Harbour, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#75 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Darling Harbour 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Emanating a quiet charm right in the middle of the action, Holiday Inn Darling Harbour has the best that Sydney has to offer on its doorstep. A heritage listed former Wool Store cloaks the northern wing of the hotel in history. Situated in the southern end of Sydney's central business district, the hotel is ideally positioned to allow you to make the most of your visit to Sydney. Take a leisurely stroll through Darling Harbour with its many attractions. The vibrant Chinatown and Latin Quarter are close by and the Qantas Credit Union Arena is right across the road. You can walk to some of Sydney's best restaurants, theatres and shopping complexes. For something a little different, board a ferry or the light rail for sightseeing. Trains and buses to Pitt Street Mall shopping precinct and Circular Quay are nearby too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, IHG, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Darling Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Darling Harbour Hotel Sydney
Holiday Inn Sydney
Sydney Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing