We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Darling Harbour
Ranked #80 of 174 Hotels in Sydney
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to stay”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

This hotel was one of the best places I have stayed in Sydney for a long time. Close to many favourite tourist spots, close to the CBD for business purposes and a large diverse selections of bars and restaurants. The hotel is well-managed, very clean and offers a superb breakfast that would cater to everyone.

Room Tip: Be respectful and courteous to Reception and you may well be surprised with a free upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandi2324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradley B, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Darling Harbour, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
It was great to hear from your after your recent stay, thank you for your kind comments they are much appreciated. We hope to be able to welcome you back next time you are visiting Sydney.

Kind regards

Bradley Boyd
Director of Sales
Holiday Inn Darling Harbour.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,453 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    270
    696
    359
    79
    49
See reviews for
299
442
105
342
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Georgetown, Malaysia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

If you are looking for convenience where almost everything is within the walking distance, this is the hotel you should choose. We stayed here as a big group and enjoyed walking to Darling Harbour and even to the Rocks (which was quite a distance away but manageable under the wonderful weather condition). Chinatown is directly behind the hotel and Paddy's market is 2 minutes away by walking. Although nearby Chinatown, it is not noisy. I enjoyed my stay there without any disturbance.

One big drawback was the breakfast. We had the exact same breakfast for 4 days in a row!! and the selection was so limited - bacon, omelette, hash brown, sausage and either tomato or some very tasteless rice with soy sauce. I would have rated this hotel better if more attention was given in planning a better breakfast selection.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tjolynn82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradley B, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Darling Harbour, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you for your honest feedback, it is much appreciated. Your comments regarding our Buffet Breakfast have been passed onto our Food & Beverage Manager who will review as part of our ongoing efforts to exceed our guests expectations.

Thank you once again for your valued feedback.

Kind regards

Bradley Boyd
Director of Sales
Holiday Inn Darling Harbour
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuncurry, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Although the Hotel it's self is rather average except tor the beautiful fluffy towels they were exceptional , the location makes up for that it is walking distance to the Market the Entertainment Centre, Darling Harbour ,all transport, the staff are very nice and although I am not Chinese, there are many Chinese speaking staff also just 500 mtrs from Dixon St and all the Chinese restaurants we also walked to Market City and had BIG breakfast with the lot for $8, we enjoyed our stay

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 377Carollee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradley B, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Darling Harbour, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thanks for your feedback, it is much appreciated. We hope to see you again next time you are visiting the Darling Harbour area.

Kind regards

Bradley Boyd
Director of Sales
Holiday Inn Darling Harbour.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
127 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

This hotel for its price and rating is ok.
However the location is excellent. We walked to most activities as you are in the HUB of it all.
Logistically it's also in easy access of the main freeways for traveling.
They have a nice bar but service wasn't exactly fast when it was actually quiet at the time but once they served you they were very friendly.
My room was nice with a choice of soft or hard feather pillows with a nice bathroom and view on the 5th floor but I had to request that away from the lift with a good view. The check in manager was very happy to accommodate my request.
They had a great buffet breakfast which had a high number of choices that you would expect more in a 5 star hotel.
They had also just opened a buffet seafood dinner which was a reduced price for guests and extremely good value considering the huge selection of fresh and cooked seafood.
There is only 1 downfall of this hotel and that's the self parking so make sure you use the valet service as self park in not at the hotel but across from it.
Overall I had a good stay and would recommend if you are looking to get a hotel in this area.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samanthajoanne1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradley B, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Darling Harbour, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
We appreciate the time you have taken to post your remarks after your recent stay with us. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your time in Sydney and also at the Hotel and we hope to see you at another Holiday Inn some time soon.

Kind regards

Bradley Boyd
Director of Sales
Holiday Inn Darling Harbour.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

I had reserved a room at HI Darling Harbour for a 3 night business stay. Rates were high in Sydney for part of this period and I was quoted AUD 279 plus taxes for a standard room!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Having arrived at the hotel around 20:30, I was greeted courteously in a lobby which reeked of stale chinese food. My assigned room was #134 - 1st floor at the end of a corridor with steps down into the room, 2 double beds with the thinnest mattreses ever seen, a window more akin to that found in a prison cell - minus the bars - looking out over a sea of dustbins and the entire room reeking of stale drains etc. I asked for a room change to be offered the only remaining room in the hotel - with 3 single beds. I declined to stay at this appalling advert for Holiday Inn and would NEVER book there again. The only thing that the Duty Manager got right was to book me into a studio at Quest Potts Point - at a fraction of the over-inflated price quoted by HI. Oh, and HI did pay for the cab fare up to Potts Point.
Quite simply, the most appalling advert ever for a major, 'reputable' hotel chain.

Room Tip: Words fail me
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradley B, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Darling Harbour, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your honest and valued feedback after your recent stay with us. Whilst we are disappointed to hear of your experience, your feedback does allow us to follow-up on what has taken place during your stay to ensure that this type of situation do not arise again in the future. We take all your comments very seriously and would welcome the opportunity to discuss them more fully with you. Our Front Office Manager, Francisco Vasconcellos (francisco.vasconcellos@ihg.com) is available for you to contact directly so that we can further investigate and provide you with a suitable resolution. We look forward to hearing from you in the near future.

Kind regards

Bradley Boyd
Director of Sales
Holiday Inn Darling Harbour.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sydney hotels

Wakefield
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We stayed here for the first week in August. Front desk was excellent, we arrived at 8:00am in the morning after flying from the UK and were able to check in straight away, for which we were very grateful. We were upgraded to a suite on the 10th floor which was excellent and gave us plenty of room to 'spread out'.
Staff we encountered were always courteous and friendly. Breakfast was a bit so-so for the price of $30 but was hardly cause for complaint.
The hotel was extremely busy as Pink was on for six nights at the Entertainment Centre opposite but staff and facilities seemed to cope very well.
The hotel is handy for Central Station and the bars and restaurants of Darling Harbour. All in all we enjoyed our stay here and would certainly use the hotel again when in Sydney.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WakefieldWildcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradley B, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Darling Harbour, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Your comments are very much appreciated, thank you for taking the time to post your feedback. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you at another Holiday Inn in the future.

Kind regards

Bradley Boyd
Director of Sales
Holiday Inn Darling Harbour.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Booked this hotel only two weeks before the Lions Sydney game, we were very lucky to get a room as practically every hotel in Sydney was fully booked and prices everywhere had gone through the roof. We stayed for six nights our room was at the front of the hotel, we didn't find it too noisy but we were reasonably high up. The hotel had everything we needed for our stay with an added bonus for us a laundry room with I think two washing machines and two dryers very handy when your on an extended holiday. Our room was quite compact, but nice enough the bathroom had a full size bath, with shower over which I appreciated having stayed at hotels with only showers so far on this trip. However, the bathroom was looking a little tired and in need of an update. The bed was comfortable enough and the room cleaned well each day. We had a problem with our room safe which couldn't be fixed for 24hrs. We left our valuables with the reception staff to keep in the main safe and they were very friendly and efficient whilst dealing with our problem. Good location for the Sydney Entertainment Centre (directly opposite), Paddy's Market, China Town, Sydney Convention and Exhibition Centre. Breakfast was not included in our tariff and as it looked so busy we didn't opt to try it. Most mornings we had breakfast in Darling Harbour 5 minute walk from the hotel. For those worried about the proximity to the mono-rail fear not it sadly closed at the end of June.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Over-40-and-fussy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradley B, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Darling Harbour, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
It was great to hear from you after your recent stay with us, thank you for your feedback. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and also your time in Sydney.

Kind regards

Bradley Boyd
Director of Sales
Holiday Inn Darling Harbour
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Chinatown
Novotel Sydney Central
Novotel Sydney Central
#62 of 174 in Sydney
1,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Radisson Hotel And Suites Sydney
Central Business District
Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour
The Rocks
Holiday Inn Old Sydney
Holiday Inn Old Sydney
#43 of 174 in Sydney
2,271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Darling Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Darling Harbour

Property: Holiday Inn Darling Harbour
Address: 68 Harbour St, Darling Harbour, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#72 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Darling Harbour 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Emanating a quiet charm right in the middle of the action, Holiday Inn Darling Harbour has the best that Sydney has to offer on its doorstep. A heritage listed former Wool Store cloaks the northern wing of the hotel in history. Situated in the southern end of Sydney's central business district, the hotel is ideally positioned to allow you to make the most of your visit to Sydney. Take a leisurely stroll through Darling Harbour with its many attractions. The vibrant Chinatown and Latin Quarter are close by and the Qantas Credit Union Arena is right across the road. You can walk to some of Sydney's best restaurants, theatres and shopping complexes. For something a little different, board a ferry or the light rail for sightseeing. Trains and buses to Pitt Street Mall shopping precinct and Circular Quay are nearby too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, IHG, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Darling Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Darling Harbour Hotel Sydney
Holiday Inn Sydney
Sydney Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing