We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not on Darling Harbour !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Darling Harbour
Ranked #86 of 182 Hotels in Sydney
Reviewed June 20, 2008

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Darling Harbour for four nights as a city stop-over. We choose the Darling Harbour HI because we liked the sound of the location (Darling Harbour!) and the Trip-advisor reviews were pretty good. We had previously stayed at the HI Potts Point (which is actually in Kings Cross) so decided to give the other hotel and location a try. I would describe the hotel as average through and through, from the check-in experience, rooms, facilities and staff. The biggest disappointment however, is that the hotel is NOT on Darling Harbour ! The hotel is actually on the edge of China Town and about a 10/15 minute walk (crossing a main road) to the closest bit of Darling Harbour. Good points include easy access to the city bus services which stop just outside the hotel and a good range of excellent restaurants in China Town. If I was going to Sydney again I would try to stay in "The Rocks" part of town but wouldn't write off the HI Darling Harbour - just remember it isn't on the harbour !

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Moose-groupie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,590)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,377 - 1,383 of 1,590 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2008

The hotel was nice enough, but I was there with my significant other and they gave us two twin beds. When we called down to get it resolved the first girl we talked to was NOT helpful and pretty much an airhead.

The gentleman who helped us with our bags was MUCH better! He noticed the situation, went down and spoke to the manager on our behalf and they moved us immediately to another room. Although the room had a view of a cement wall at least it had a double bed.

The location is within a 5 min walk of Darling Harbour.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank jbar434
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2008

We arrived May 25, group of 10 but only 3 rooms ready, other 2 were not. We were assigned to level 1 rooms, which for some structural/architectural design were sunken from the corridor. Bathrooms were level with the corridor. a little bit small for my comfort but sufficient otherwise. Rooms were clean, beds were neat, bath was standard ok. There were no complimentary slippers. Aircon controls were simple & accurate.

There were NO electrical outlet for foreign electrical gadgets. We ask for an adopter from the front desk, but unfortunately, it was very very loose and wont work unless you hold it with both hands. Since the hotel had no more extra/spare I had to buy from a store which was pretty stiff at Aus$7.

The breakfast buffet was nice & sufficient. what i find rather nice & extra-ordinary was that they provided a juicer so you can make your own fresh apple, pineapple, cellery, carrots, melon juice.

The hotel was located near Chinatown so lunch/dinner was a matter of choices & more choices. It is also very near bargain shopping & the Darling harbour area.

  • Stayed: May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Orks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2008

Well, this hotel is wonderful except for the racist breakfast buffet receptionist.

The rooms were spacious enough and had well equipped beds and cabinets. The bed was wonderful and was a real comfort for our backs especially after an intense day of touring Sydney.

The TV had enough channels and we didn't get bored with it. The furniture was also adequate and things went well.


All in all, this hotel was wonderful- the housekeeping was superb and the room was really cozy for us. oh yeah, i forgot to say so but the hotel's location was really fantabulous! It was near Paddy's ( the flea market open only from Thursday to Sunday) and the attractions of Chinatown. if you stay in this hotel, food wont be a problem because of all the restaurants and kiosks just a few blocks away.


BUT, here comes the pinch, as i've said several times already, the breakfast buffet receptionist was a TOTAL RACIST. He's a middle-aged Chinese guy and this is how he does his discrimination. When the guests are Caucacians (especially the blonde guests and the guys) , he's really nice and hospitable and he's like an angel. He gives the Western guests pleasant greetings and really speaks to them in a polite manner and he really hides all the rudeness in him. he's like this:" Good morning sir/ ma'am! =)How are you today? having breakfast on your own or with your friends? Anyways, let me show you to your seat. =D "

But, when it comes to us, the Asian guests, he gets all bossy and mean plus he gets so impolite. He's like this: "Hey you! X( What's your ROOM NUMBER?! COME WITH ME!!!!!!! Here!"

We felt that he's a very impolite receptionist because it's his job to show every guest to their seats PROPERLY and he should'nt just choose to whom he should he be polite to. And, the fact that the people he chose to despise were of the same race as him, we felt that he was very unreasonable.

The most discriminating part of that receptionist's attitude was that when we were at the juicer station at the buffet, there were Caucacians sitting at the table near the station. There were three of us from our party who were helping out in making the juice so it was quite crowded that the only space i could stand on was beside the teble of the Caucacians and when the receptionist passed by, he just suddenly pushed me from where i was standingso when he could've just said 'excuse me' or asked me to move!

If you're a Caucacian, you'd have fun at breakfast because he'll be all over you and he'll be really hospitable. But, if you're Asian, it'll really be annoying to deal with this receptionist.

This is a good hotel, but I suggest that everyone have breakfast somewhere else instead (even if the food at the buffet is good) so that they won't experience racism at breakfast.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Marilene P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2008

Booked most of our hotels for Australia and New Zealand trip based on other trip advisor postings. Spent 4 nights in this Hotel. We made sure to ask that our room was higher up or on the other side of the hotel to avoid the noise of the monorail which runs right in front of the hotel's (about) 4th floor. Stayed on the 8th floor and had no noise problems. Room was updated, rather large, and very clean. Had a fridge in it as well. Location of this hotel is close to the train, touristy bus servive, light rail and monorail. Very easy to get around.
Internet was $5 for 30 minutes, never had to wait to get in and log on. It was quick and fast, unlike some other places we stayed which took forever to upload pictures. Staff was nice enough. Concierge was kind enough to look up a few things on internet about Sydney, and make tour recommendations and food recomendations. Take note - this hotel appears to be right on the edge of Chinatown. We knew it was close, but was closer than expected. For a few nights we wandered up and down the bustling Chinatown streets and had amazing food. We just weren't prepared for that to be the main option in very close proximity. Would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank canatrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2008

We stayed there for a week. the rooms and housekeeping is ok. except that they do nor provide the basic toothbrush. though complementary, we need to call for housekeeping to get them...
rooms are ok.comfy.
first day when we checked in, we double confirmed with our breakfast for the week. the recept said yes, we had breakfast..
all was well, when the next morning, we came down for breakfast, and we were told that our breakfast is not included in the rooms.. we gave them all references and they confirmed that no breakfast included.
we were disappointed, confirmed with our agent the next day, and realised that the recept got it wrong. so the first day wasted for us. this is not the worst, no apologies.. nvm.

about the internet, it is chargeable at A$0.55 per min, and a max of A$27.50 per day
so we double confirmed with the recept that max A$27.50 per day she said yes, and we only have got one point.
so guess wat, we were billed double.
cause me n my friend have got 2 diff laptops and this was not even stated that it is based on per computer.
and when the bill arrives, the recept was rude and kept saying that... too bad... u never read... haha
worst week there!!!
amenities are good, only that the service staff there sucks... beware!!
SingaporePPs

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank jc_segit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2008

I had read the fairly mixed reports on this hotel so was not quite sure what to expect. I needn't have worried. Without a doubt this is the best Hotel experience I have ever had in my 60+ years.

Firstly, the building and renovation works are complete, so absolutely no noise from that.

The staff were all magnificent, efficient, friendly and very helpful.

The breakfast which I had included in my room rate was all that could be desired and more.

The check-in went smoothly, and even though I arrived at 8am in the morning, I was thrilled that my room was ready.

We were on the 11th floor in the new extension and the room was amazing. All and more that could be expected, double aspect full length windows, a proper wardrobe, a 'fridge and 'kitchen sink' bathrobes and slippers, fresh fruit daily and complimentary bottled water, bath and seperate shower and very good lighting and finnished with a 32 inch plasma TV!.

In-room internet access was included in our tariff, but is on a 'pay by use' tariff in other rooms.

The location was also one of the best we could have hoped for, being right next to China town with amazing shops and eateries ranging from budget to more expensive meals. There were several convenience stores nearby. The awe inspiring Darling Harbour was on the door step from where you get ferries to lots of other Sydney areas. Bus, light rail (tram) monorail and rail connections were also all within walking distance.

Paddy's Market was right next door - open on Thursday, Friday, Saturday and Sundays where you could do your souvenir shopping all in one go. Above Paddys Market is Market City for discount stores etc..

All in all we would not hesitate to return and we intend too! I would personally recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Islandgirl060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Mercure Sydney
#65 of 182 in Sydney
5,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Radisson Hotel And Suites Sydney
Chinatown
Novotel Sydney Central
Novotel Sydney Central
#62 of 182 in Sydney
1,386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Darling Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Darling Harbour

Address: 68 Harbour St, Darling Harbour, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#76 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $115 - $337 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Darling Harbour 4*
Number of rooms: 370
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Emanating a quiet charm right in the middle of the action, Holiday Inn Darling Harbour has the best that Sydney has to offer on its doorstep. A heritage listed former Wool Store cloaks the northern wing of the hotel in history. Situated in the southern end of Sydney's central business district, the hotel is ideally positioned to allow you to make the most of your visit to Sydney. Take a leisurely stroll through Darling Harbour with its many attractions. The vibrant Chinatown and Latin Quarter are close by and the Qantas Credit Union Arena is right across the road. You can walk to some of Sydney's best restaurants, theatres and shopping complexes. For something a little different, board a ferry or the light rail for sightseeing. Trains and buses to Pitt Street Mall shopping precinct and Circular Quay are nearby too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Darling Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Darling Harbour Hotel Sydney
Holiday Inn Sydney
Sydney Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing