We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Darling Harbour
Nearby Hotels
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney(Sydney)
$192
$155
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Travelodge Hotel Sydney(Sydney)
$104
$87
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Internet
$138
$130
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$164
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Grace Hotel Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
$118
$112
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$241
$204
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$193
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$194
$169
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$110
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$195
$182
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,642)
Filter reviews
1,642 results
Traveler rating
307
774
412
94
55
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
307
774
412
94
55
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspaddy's marketdarling harbourgreat locationclose to china townlight railminute walkfree wififamily roomgeorge streetcapitol theatrepleasant staycentral stationan upgradebuffet breakfastmini baropera housepublic transport
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
977 - 982 of 1,642 reviews
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Well priced by Sydney standards the hotel is within walking distance to Paddys Market, Powerhouse Museum, Chinatown, Chinese Garden of Friendship, Darling Harbour and a few minutes to Sydney Central Station. Rooms are comfortable and fine for a short stay. The hotel needs to do some TLC with the breakfast offered in the restaurant. It was cold and not edible. Save your money and eat elsewhere. The gym is ok but the spa looked like an afterthought. I would stay again but would also look at other properties.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Alison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradley B, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Darling Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2013

Thank you for your feedback after your recent stay with us, your comments are much appreciated. We hope to be able to welcome you at another Holiday Inn some time in the near future.

Kind regards

Bradley Boyd
Director of Sales
Holiday Inn Darling Harbour

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

The hotel was clean, comfortable and in a great location. The bed was comfortable and the pillows marked soft and firm is a nice touch.
Check out took a long time plus several errors on the bill. Apart from that the service was good.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shanemelb1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradley B, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Darling Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2013

We appreciate the time you have taken to post a review after your recent stay with us, thank you for your comments. We trust we will be able to welcome you at another Holiday Inn sometime soon.

Kind regards

Bradley Boyd
Director of Sales
Holiday Inn Darling Harbour

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We recently stayed for ATE and choose the Holiday Inn for convenience to convention centre & China Town. Rooms are very tired and over priced for what they are. People above our rooms where very noisy. Staff are very friendly & helpful. Having China Town so close by was a bonus.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elliotQueensland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradley B, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Darling Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2013

Thank you for your valued feedback, it is much appreciated.

Kind regards

Bradley Boyd
Director of Sales
Holiday Inn Darling Harbour

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

I had no complaints about this place, but then I can't remember all that much about it without trying really hard. The bad news is I only stayed last week. That's the kind of place it is. Average, run of the mill, no more no less type of accommodation.

There was nothing particularly outstanding or memorable, and that is probably the biggest problem with most Sydney hotels in this class. If you are lucky you get something inoffensive and not particularly memorable. If you are unlucky you get something run down, dirty, smelly or all of the above. Fortunately for the holiday inn, it can't really be faulted on cleanliness or building condition.

The bed was kind of small for this type of room, and the view of the brick wall next door added to the yawn factor. Oh and the bathroom was slighter older in design.

Location is good, in the heart of Chinatown and opposite the entertainment centre, close to paddy's market. At least there are some interesting things happening outside of the hotel.

Staff were polite but didn't really stand out either as going above and beyond or anything.

Wifi in the hotel was ridiculously over priced.

The strangest thing about my stay was that no matter when it was, day or night, a group of loud and rather rough looking people were sitting in the outdoor seating area of the hotel bar drinking alcohol that had obviously been purchased outside of the hotel. I got the impression that these people weren't guests and that the hotel staff were at a loss as to what to do with them, either that or they just didn't care. Either way it isn't a good look for a hotel of any standard, let alone a 4 star place.

To be fair, I slept well, everything was smooth and efficient and the location was great. I just think that staying in a hotel should be an experience.

If somebody get's it right in Sydney without charging an arm and a leg they will have cornered the market. I don't think Holiday Inn are trying hard enough to be that place.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank asia_short_tripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradley B, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Darling Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your honest feedback after your stay with us, your comments are much appreciated. We hope to be able to welcome you at another Holiday inn next time you are travelling.

Kind regards

Bradley Boyd
Director of Sales
Holiday Inn Darling Harbour

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

I recently stayed here for convenient proximity to the Sydney Convention Centre (the Australian Tourism Exchange was on and I was representing the JPT Tour Group and showcasing day tours in southeast Queensland). I found the staff to be really warm and helpful, the lifts FAST, the breakfast (with fresh fruit & veges so you could make your own fresh juice) and the rooms, clean, well-serviced and functional. Hey, it isn't a five star hotel but I was working so a swim & spa wasn't on the cards but speedy room service sure came in handy with my hectic schedule. Oh, I ought to add, they have a pillow menu so when Goldilocks' pillow was too soft, I could ring for a firmer one :) Nice Touch Guys. On the final day, I could walk around the corner and be in China Town or across the road and be at the Pumphouse Pub and Darling Harbour's waterfront precinct.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AForner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradley B, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Darling Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

As an Industry Colleague we truly value your comments and feedback. We are pleased to hear that you found the Hotel comfortable and you felt at home whilst attending the Australian Tourism Exchange.

Thank you once again for your feedback, it is very much appreciated.

Kind regards

Bradley Boyd
Director of Sales
Holiday Inn Darling Harbour.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews