We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visit to Sydney”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Darling Harbour
Ranked #81 of 177 Hotels in Sydney
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Visit to Sydney”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Excellent, hotel one of the best Holiday Inns I have stayed in – 5 minutes walk from Daring Harbour, 2 minutes from the Mono Rail and right next to Chinese Gardens and Paddy’s Market. We stayed in an “Executive Rooms” it was large, modern and very clean with a very comfortable king size bed, big TV and “Free” WiFi.

The Bathroom was very clean and modern with a bath a separate “Walk-in” shower…Very Nice.

The restaurant for breakfast was busy, but the food was of good quality and hot with a plenty of selection and the staff very helpful.

All the staff in the hotel were excellent, with special thanks to the Assistant Manager and his assistant who went out of their way to help us.

Room Tip: Room on a high floor, Darling Harbour side
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JBillyard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradley B, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Darling Harbour, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Thank you for your feedback after your recent stay with us, your comments are much appreciated. We hope to be able to welcome you at another Holiday Inn sometime very soon.

Kind regards

Bradley Boyd
Director of Sales
Holiday Inn Darling Harbour.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,500 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    281
    715
    372
    81
    51
See reviews for
309
454
108
359
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

You get $20 all day parking in the city and the rooms are clean.
Staff are friendly and China town is a minuet away so there is always food.
Paddy's is right across the road and so are the chines gardens.
sometimes the rooms are a bit pricy and you cant step into the shower as they all have the bath tub/ shower combo. the baths have a high side, so you will need to step up to get in.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 3031694
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradley B, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Darling Harbour, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review after staying with us recently. Your feedback is greatly valued. We hope yo will choose Holiday Inn again next time you are travelling.

Kind regards

Bradley Boyd
Director of Sales
Holiday Inn Darling Harbour
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
197 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Room was clean, though housekeeping was a little too pervasive (e.g. throwing away two partial bottles of water, replacing towels each day, even though they were hung up). Location is good - right on the edge of Chinatown, close to Darling Harbour. Breakfast is overpriced for what it it. The toast, etc. is okay, but any of the cooked foods (eggs, etc) were not very well prepared. Fruit was underripe and flavorless. Not worh $26.50 or whatever it was, when you can go to any number of places in town and have a great meal for less than that.

Hotel seems to be very popular with tour groups, which can be annoying in that they all seem to hit the lobby and breakfast at once.

The small gym was okay but one of the treadmills was a little dangerous. If you pressed the quick start button for walk, it would just keep increasing speed. Luckily I was able to jump onto the rails and press stop, but I imagine someone could get injured.

Overall, I found it to be a pretty plain, average hotel. Adequate and safe, but nothing special in in the way of rooms, service, price or food/beverage.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradley B, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Darling Harbour, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thank you for your honest and valued feedback after your recent stay with us. Your comments have been forwarded to all relevant Departments within the Hotel so that your feedback can be further investigated and acted upon.

It is feedback such as yours that will allow us to continue to ensure that we are meeting the needs and expectations of our valued guests.

Kind regards

Bradley Boyd
Director fo Sales
Holiday Inn Darling Harbour.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra ACT
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Good location short walk to all attractions on Darling Harbour, Convention Centre and directly across from the Entertainment Centre. Hotel reception staff are excellent we arrived early morning and they were very helpful and stored our bags gave us access to the showers in the gym area and clean towels to freshen up then organised coffee ifor us n the lounge so we could sit and organise our day. They also checked us in so that when we arrived back from our tour lateafternoonour room was ready and our bags had been taken up all weneeded to do was collect key ftom reception. We booked through Expedia and the room included breakfast which had a good variety and food was hot the fruit was fresh and the breakfast area was clean and the young waiter who allicated our table was well mannered helpful and efficient. We also valet parked which was $45 and worth every cent. The hotel had easy road access both in and out. We will definitely be staying at this hotel again. Also it is close to Chinatown just a few minutes walk. We found a nice bakery which I think belongs to The Emperiors Chinese Restraurant. There is a side window between the restraurant and the bakery where you can buy the Emperiors cream puffs they are great (3 for $1). If you like Malaysian food try Mamak at 150 Goulburn Street Haymarket. They have great curry and roti. You do have to wair for a table but the wait is well worthwhile. Mamuk‘s is also BYO.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happytravellerACT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradley B, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Darling Harbour, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
We value the time you have taken to post your comments after staying with us recently, thank you for your feedback. We hope to welcome you at another Holiday Inn sometime soon.

Kind regards

Bradley Boyd
Director of Sales
Holidfay Inn Darling Harbour
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
73 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for five nights as a solo traveller. My room was large, clean & very comfortable. The staff were very helpful recommending trips & booking them for me.
Location more Chinatown than Darling Harbour. Right beside the Mono rail. Great location during day but a dark walk back from Darling Harbour at night which could be an issue for a solo traveller.
No free Wi Fii. Good laundry facilities.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradley B, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Darling Harbour, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Your feedback is much appreciated, thank you for taking the time to post your comments. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you at another Holiday Inn sometime soon.

Kind regards

Bradley Boyd
Director of Sales
Holiday Inn Darling Harbour.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

My family (husband, a 10yo and a 1yo baby) and I stayed for 6 nights in the executive family room. It was a wonderful experience. The room was very clean, amenities werer there and there was also a small pantry area for me to prepare baby's milk and bottles. The staff were wonderful too, very friendly, with a quick response to everything. For example, they came to fix the tap within 10 mins of us calling in. Special compliment to Esra who offered to help with our baby when we had breakfast and the staff at the breakfast cafe for remembering our needs and preferences and had our high chair and table ready whenever we went down for breakfast. Kudos to the job well done!

Helpful?
Thank May W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Bradley B, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Darling Harbour, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
We thank you for your valued feedback are are so pleased to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. Your comments have been passed onto all our team, especially to Esra our Duty Manager.

Kind regards

Bradley Boyd
Director of Sales
Holiday Inn Darling Harbour.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Central Coast
Level Contributor
105 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Great location. Excellent staff from reception, to concierge, breakfast, lunch. Could not fault this hotel. Have only ever stayed in Holiday Inn in America as usually choose Crowne Plaza but can highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: 11th floor was great location. Quiet corner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RRetiredCentralCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradley B, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Darling Harbour, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback after your stay with us, your comments are very much appreciated. We hope we will be able to welcome you back next time you are visitng Sydney.

Kind regards

Bradley Boyd
Director of Sales
Holiday Inn Darling Harbour.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Holiday Inn Old Sydney
Holiday Inn Old Sydney
#43 of 177 in Sydney
2,339 reviews
Chinatown
Novotel Sydney Central
Novotel Sydney Central
#65 of 177 in Sydney
1,275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Radisson Hotel And Suites Sydney
Mercure Sydney
#62 of 177 in Sydney
4,808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Darling Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Darling Harbour

Property: Holiday Inn Darling Harbour
Address: 68 Harbour St, Darling Harbour, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#74 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Darling Harbour 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Emanating a quiet charm right in the middle of the action, Holiday Inn Darling Harbour has the best that Sydney has to offer on its doorstep. A heritage listed former Wool Store cloaks the northern wing of the hotel in history. Situated in the southern end of Sydney's central business district, the hotel is ideally positioned to allow you to make the most of your visit to Sydney. Take a leisurely stroll through Darling Harbour with its many attractions. The vibrant Chinatown and Latin Quarter are close by and the Qantas Credit Union Arena is right across the road. You can walk to some of Sydney's best restaurants, theatres and shopping complexes. For something a little different, board a ferry or the light rail for sightseeing. Trains and buses to Pitt Street Mall shopping precinct and Circular Quay are nearby too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, IHG, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Darling Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Darling Harbour Hotel Sydney
Holiday Inn Sydney
Sydney Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing