We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Darling Harbour
Ranked #82 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Florida
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent location”
Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

Very clean, efficient help, great concierge. Very well located within walking distance to Darling Harbour. Chinatown is right there as well as the Market. Also has washing machines and dryers which came in handy.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank CSB7152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradley B, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Darling Harbour, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
It was great to receive your feedback, thank you so much for posting your comments after your stay with us. We hope we can welcome you at another holiday Inn some time very soon.

Kind regards

Bradley Boyd
Director of Sales
Holiday Inn Darling Harbour
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,523 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    286
    723
    378
    85
    51
See reviews for
316
458
110
368
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Have stayed at this hotel a number of times as it is close to Darling Harbour, the city and Chinatown. This stay I had one of their lesser rooms, which was disappointing since I know they have many good rooms. One bugbear was the need to pre-order the minibar items. Previously, when I stayed a few days the ability to selectively stock the minibar seemed a good idea but when you are just there for a quick stop being unable to have a quick drink was annoying. Still a good choice when your business is on this side of Sydney.

Room Tip: The upper rooms seem to be better. Ask for a refurbished room when checking in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradley B, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Darling Harbour, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for your honest feedback, it is much appreciated. Your loyalty is also great appreciated and we trust we will be able to welcome you back again in the future. Your comments regarding our mini bar facilities have been passed onto our Food & Beverage Manager for further review.

KInd regards

Bradley Boyd
Director of Sales
Holiday Inn Darling Harbour
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 18, 2013

This hotel places you on the harbour but backing onto their 'soho', the hotel was comfortable and clean the beds were good and bedlinen was fine, similar to a premier inn in the UK. The staff were helpful but often overstretched on the concierge as the hotel is very busy. A very nice bar and place to relax. Proximity to soho brings a more exciting expereince with food and shopping within spitting distance. Having been booked in by a university it was not my usual choice of luxury hotel but it was strangely pleasing and of course its the location which is amazing that counts. I was there for business and would not go with my family as there is not enough space for children to relax, the lobby was small and crowded and on the street. Price was expensive for a holiday inn but not considering it was Darling Harbour. A good hotel for a short break or business or indeed in transit.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichelleBrooks007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradley B, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Darling Harbour, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Your recent feedback is very much appreciated, thank you for taking the time to post comments after your recent stay. We hope to be able to welcome you to another Holiday Inn in the near future.

Kind regards

Bradley Boyd
Director of Sales
Holiday Inn Darling Harbour.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

First off, it's Darling Harbour which will make the most stern smile. Hotel itself is great, clean, spacious and comfortable and again the location for the price is a good deal. Plenty of bars, cafes and eatery's close-by.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ronanocathain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradley B, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Darling Harbour, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
It was great to receive your feedback after your recent stay with us, thank you for taking the time to post some comments. We hope to be able to welcome you to another Holiday Inn in the near future.

Kind regards

Bradley Boyd
Director of Sales
Holiday Inn Darling Harbour.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

The location of this hotel is great for exploring the city centre and Darling Harbour. But it seemed pricey for what was a pretty standard Holiday Inn experience. The sleep quality was good though, with comfortable beds and high quality sheets.

Breakfast was OK, but was not included in the room rate and cost $50 for the two of us each morning! You are much better off walking 5 minutes into the harbour to explore the many other better value restaurant options.

Overall this hotel served its purpose for our trip, but was not somewhere I would rush back to. I have far better memories of the InterCon from a previous Sydney trip (and I don't believe it is that much more expensive).

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dklondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradley B, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Darling Harbour, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your honest and valued feedback after your recent stay with us. It is feedback such as yours that will allow us to continue to improve our service and facilities to ensure that we can meet the expectations of our guests.

Kind regards

Bradley Boyd
Director of Sales
Holiday Inn Darling Harbour
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leven, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

We stayed at this hotel before boarding a cruise ship in Sydney. Clean and comfortable hotel in a good location, short taxi ride to the harbour. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Free wifi for 30 minutes in reception area which we found very useful. Would recommend this hotel for a short stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradley B, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Darling Harbour, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
We appreciate the time you have taken to post your comments after your recent stay with us and are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time in Sydney. We hope to welcome you at another Holiday Inn sometime very soon.

Kind regards

Bradley Boyd
Director of Sales
Holiday Inn Darling Harbour.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maitland, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013

The Holiday Inn Darling Harbour is very much like most Sydney CBD 4 star hotels: they are clean, comfortable and offer a certain standard, with good staff trying to give guests good value for money because it’s quite a competitive market. Holiday Inn is up there with these hotels.
So the traveller’s choice comes down to location. We feel we made a good choice with Holiday Inn Darling Harbour. We were in Sydney for the Barry Gibb concert at the Entertainment Centre and the Holiday Inn is just over the road. This hotel is close to Chinatown and Haymarket with Central and the restaurants of Darling Harbour and Cockle Bay. It’s close to the light rail and other train connections.
We had a king room, which provided us with everything we needed for a comfortable stay. We did not eat in the restaurant but it looked good.
Reception staff is excellent, we arrived by train, early, but the very friendly efficient lady on the front desk was pleased to give us an early check-in. We approached the gentleman on the concierge desk who was more than happy to point us in the right direction to get about the city.
I would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: To avoid confusion when booking a room [regarding bedding] always check with Wotif, as they provide...
See more room tips
Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank valjeanery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradley B, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Darling Harbour, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thank you for your postive feedback it is very much appreciated. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Sydney and also at the Hotel. We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards

Bradley Boyd
Director of Sales
Holiday Inn Darling Harbour
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Radisson Hotel And Suites Sydney
The Rocks
Holiday Inn Old Sydney
Holiday Inn Old Sydney
#43 of 178 in Sydney
2,385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour
Mercure Sydney
#63 of 178 in Sydney
4,868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Darling Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Darling Harbour

Property: Holiday Inn Darling Harbour
Address: 68 Harbour St, Darling Harbour, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#74 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Darling Harbour 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Emanating a quiet charm right in the middle of the action, Holiday Inn Darling Harbour has the best that Sydney has to offer on its doorstep. A heritage listed former Wool Store cloaks the northern wing of the hotel in history. Situated in the southern end of Sydney's central business district, the hotel is ideally positioned to allow you to make the most of your visit to Sydney. Take a leisurely stroll through Darling Harbour with its many attractions. The vibrant Chinatown and Latin Quarter are close by and the Qantas Credit Union Arena is right across the road. You can walk to some of Sydney's best restaurants, theatres and shopping complexes. For something a little different, board a ferry or the light rail for sightseeing. Trains and buses to Pitt Street Mall shopping precinct and Circular Quay are nearby too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, IHG, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Darling Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Darling Harbour Hotel Sydney
Holiday Inn Sydney
Sydney Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing