We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay at Holiday Inn,Darling Harbour”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Darling Harbour
Ranked #82 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Lovely stay at Holiday Inn,Darling Harbour”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights in the Holiday Inn at Darling Harbour and were very pleased with our stay. The room was spacious and clean and the bed was very comfortable. Hotel is handy for light rail and monorail stops. It's also very near Chinatown and Paddy's Markets. We walked to Darling Harbour itself more than once - only 10 minutes or so and pleasant walk.

Breakfast was overpriced for what was on offer. We ate there only on one day, on other days we went to nearby coffee shops/cafes.

The bar was comfortable, the staff friendly and the beer/wine reasonably priced which we didn't find too often in Australia.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradley B, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Darling Harbour, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review after your recent stay with us. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and also our central location at the southern end of the Darling Harbour precinct. Your comments regarding our Breakfast pricing has been passed onto our Food & Beverage Manager for review and further follow up. Once again we thank you for your review and honest feedback.

Kind regards

Bradley Boyd
Director of Sales
Holiday Inn Darling Harbour.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,508 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    283
    717
    375
    82
    51
See reviews for
311
454
110
363
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
Reviewed November 16, 2012

This hotel has a good location as it is near light rail and monorail stops, George Street for the free CBD shuttle service, and near Market City and Chinatown (easy to find restaurants and food courts) and lots to see and do at Darling Harbour. The room was comfortable and clean although I was initially apprehensive as my room was located on the 2nd floor where the monorail runs just outside but I found that I was not unduly disturbed when it went past each time. Mostly, I would like to commend the concierge staff (especially Alex) who were genuinely warm and helpful in giving directions to where I wanted to go, alerting me when pickups for tours arrived, reconfirming my airport transfer, etc We also noticed the reception staff being helpful and hardworking, helping to tidy up the lounge area when needed.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan1112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradley B, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Darling Harbour, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
We were pleased to read your comments after your recent stay with us and it is great to hear that you enjoyed your time in Sydney and also at the Hotel. We hope to be able to welcome you back again at some future time.

Kind regards

Bradley Boyd
Director of Sales
Holiday Inn Darling Harbour
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

right in the centre of china town and next to darling harbour it was convenient for what I wanted. nice and close to paddys market. Breakfast was ok, a little overpriced for a breakfast that had run out of a few things. Room was comfortable

Room Tip: ask for a room thats at the front other wise expect brick for a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonnie_dee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradley B, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Darling Harbour, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Your recent feedback is highly valued, thank you for taking the time to post some comments. Your feedback regarding your breakfast experience has been passed onto our Food & Beverage Manager so that we can better manage the level of food items on offer during this busy meal service period. Its is honest feedback such as yours that will allow us to continue to improve and ensure that we always meet the expectations of our guests.

Kind regards

Bradley Boyd
Director of Sales
Holiday Inn Darling Harbour
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk vulcan
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

They could not have been bothered if we were there or not. Our booking was made well in advance for 3rooms but we were all on vastly different floors. The disabled access room was on the third floor facing out onto a brick wall as the hotel is built inside an old facade. It was a dark and gloomy room much in need of redecoration. Breakfast was average quality and expensive. Visit saved by an excellent and well informed concierge.
Not what we expect of a holiday inn.

Room Tip: Get a room on a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tcauUkVulcan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradley B, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Darling Harbour, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Your honest feedback is highly valued and we thank you for taking the time to bring your experience to our attention. Your comments have been passed on to our Front Office Manager for further review and action so that we can improve in the future and ensure that we are able to meet the expectations of our guests.

Thank you once again for your honest and highly valed feedback.

Kind regards

Bradley Boyd
Director of Sales
Holiday Inn Darling Harbour.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sydney hotels

Cincinnati
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

By all accounts this is a very average big city hotel. If you are going to a concert not a better location in the city. It is in the Heart of China town. It is about 500 meters from Darling harbour.

The Morning Breakfast is below average. If you are going to serve bacon, the drippings need to be drained. The coffee out of the buffet coffee machine is disgraceful. Walked across the street to the Novotel ("Brews") for a very nice coffee 5 of the six mornings.

had breakfast at the Novotel - it much better than the HI.

If you need to be in SYD and your budget will not afford anything more it will do.

Room Tip: You must get a room facing the street otherwise you will be looking at a brick wall through your win...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradley B, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Darling Harbour, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post some comments after your stay with us. Whilst we have failed to live up to your expectations, your honest feedback is highly valued as it will allow us to improve on these areas. Your comments have been passed onto your Food & Beverage Manager for review and action.
Thank you once again for your valued feedback.

Kind regards

Bradley Boyd
Director of Sales
Holiday Inn Darling Harbour
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Great central location, great guest service - very helpful. Close to paddy's markets, Darling harbour, right across the road from the entertainment centre!! Can't wait for a concert ;) discounted parking at entertainment centre too!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tonka05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradley B, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Darling Harbour, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
We appreciate the time you have taken to post a comment after your recent stay with us. It was great to read that you enjoyed the hotel and our central location. We look forward to seeing you again next time you are visiting Sydney.

Kind regards

Bradley Boyd
Director of Sales
Holiday Inn Darling Harbour
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Love this place. It's so well situated for family fun. McD's across the road for brekkie, all the Darling Harbour tourist places a short walk away - Chinatown (for great dinners), ferry, Aquarium, IMAX theatre, Chinese Gardens, Harbourtown, Paddy's Markets, Tumbelog Park... The rooms are spacious with all the amenities and staff are extremely helpful.

Room Tip: Have stayed many times and been upgraded a few times. All rooms great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tricia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradley B, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Darling Harbour, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
We were so pleased to receive your feedback after your recent stay with us, thank you for taking the time to post your comments. We hope to be able to welcome you back to a Holiday Inn some time very soon.

Kind regards

Bradley Boyd
Director of Sales
Holiday Inn Darling Harbour.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Holiday Inn Old Sydney
Holiday Inn Old Sydney
#45 of 179 in Sydney
2,363 reviews
Central Business District
Radisson Hotel And Suites Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mercure Sydney
#62 of 179 in Sydney
4,832 reviews
Central Business District
Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Darling Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Darling Harbour

Property: Holiday Inn Darling Harbour
Address: 68 Harbour St, Darling Harbour, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#75 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Darling Harbour 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Emanating a quiet charm right in the middle of the action, Holiday Inn Darling Harbour has the best that Sydney has to offer on its doorstep. A heritage listed former Wool Store cloaks the northern wing of the hotel in history. Situated in the southern end of Sydney's central business district, the hotel is ideally positioned to allow you to make the most of your visit to Sydney. Take a leisurely stroll through Darling Harbour with its many attractions. The vibrant Chinatown and Latin Quarter are close by and the Qantas Credit Union Arena is right across the road. You can walk to some of Sydney's best restaurants, theatres and shopping complexes. For something a little different, board a ferry or the light rail for sightseeing. Trains and buses to Pitt Street Mall shopping precinct and Circular Quay are nearby too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Darling Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Darling Harbour Hotel Sydney
Holiday Inn Sydney
Sydney Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing