We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Potts Point - Sydney
Nearby Hotels
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
$168
$138
Radisson Blu
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$188
$171
InterContinental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hilton Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
$172
$156
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$211
$171
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hyatt Regency Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
$141
$136
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$202
$171
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$157
$141
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
The Grace Hotel Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
$123
$111
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
$287
$138
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$244
$158
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,189)
Filter reviews
1,189 results
Traveler rating
314
579
223
46
27
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
314
579
223
46
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskings crosstrain stationvictoria streetopera housebondi junctionihg membera harbour view roomcity skylinecoles supermarketconvenient locationhotel is situatedbit datedcomfortable hotelbotanic gardensan upgradebuffet breakfastpublic transport
Filter
Updating list...
612 - 617 of 1,189 reviews
Reviewed August 4, 2014

This hotel is very well located for Sydney. Being right above Kings Cross Railway Station, you have direct access to the CBD by rail instantly or right at the front door you can catch a cab. Alternatively you could always walk, it'd probably take you 15-20mins and is a relatively easy walk.

Plenty of near by restaurants and the happening nightlife of Kings Cross is right at the front door.

The room itself had great views back toward the city, Opera House and the Harbour Bridge. The room was exceptionally clean, in fact it was much cleaner than some of the five star hotels I've stayed in over time. The reception team were very efficient and friendly. Parking under the hotel was also cheap and your car is secure.

If I had to fault this hotel, I'd have to really look for something. And I guess the external windows would be the area I'd pick on. The windows, which admittedly would be dirty again after a small amount of rain, could have used a clean but this didn't hinder my stay in the hotel one bit.

Room Tip: The city view room faces away from the busy Victoria Street so there was little noise for me. That, and you have the amazing view of the city.
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank GF2183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicki L, Manager at Holiday Inn Potts Point - Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2014

Dear GF2183,
Thank you very much for your review. We are so pleased to hear that your experience was clean, comfortable and secure for the duration of your stay. It is great that you could use our fabulous location to its full potential and in particular, the amazing view. We look forward to welcoming you back for your next visit to Sydney.
Kind Regards,
Vicki Lawrence

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2014

Stay a week at this hotel. Very clean well appointed room and bathroom.
Rather large for price.
Very friendly helpful staff.
Very close to transport. Train station right next door, plenty of cabs and busses available. Quick train ride to downtown or Bondi Junction on train.
Right at Kings Cross.
Restaurant great for quik breakfast but service in afternoon in lounge area not so good. I did not eat in restaurant.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicki L, Manager at Holiday Inn Potts Point - Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2014

Dear Mary B,
Thanks for your review. It’s great to hear that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay, and the staff and service have exceeded your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Kind Regards,
Vicki Lawrence

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2014

Very nice hotel, staff are friendly and welcome. I like the location lots of things to do nearby. Rooms are clean and comfortable. I like the choice of pillow. Easy access to Kings Cross train station.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank bkkontur65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicki L, Manager at Holiday Inn Potts Point - Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2014

Dear Bkkontur65,
Thank you for your review. It is great to hear the staff had exceeded your expectations, and our location provided convenience for your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Kind Regards,
Vicki Lawrence
Holiday Inn Potts Point

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2014

We hosted a 3 day course at this hotel recently, for 17 delegates. The hotel was chosen for it's reasonable price rather than any particular facilities or location, but I was pleasantly surprised at both the very good small meeting facilities and the convenience of the location. The meeting room was well sized, quiet, and the support from the conference team was excellent (with a particular thanks to Nicola Houghton). The lunches were different and very tasty, with more than enough food, and the price per delegate made it very affordable for us South Africans!

The room was big enough and clean, although I was disappointed that I got a room with no view, and above a relatively noisy locality, when I'd brought 19 guests to the hotel! Avoid rooms from 18 upwards - e.g. 521 is not great! Everything else about it was good, though.

The location at first glance appears a bit average, but there is a great pub next door, a street with a lot of good restaurants a short distance away, and a train station right next door. This makes it very easy to get around. The sensible rooms have a view of the city and harbour, without the price tag of a waterfront hotel...

Good breakfast, as well. So overall, a pleasant experience. Could have been excellent with a better room, but I'm happy with the way things turned out.

Room Tip: Avoid higher numbered rooms, and avoid lower floors
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicki L, Manager at Holiday Inn Potts Point - Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2014

Dear David T,
Thank you so much for taking the time to complete your review, and for all your positive feedback. It is really great to hear that we could provide for all your needs with the conference, and the service was above and beyond your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back to Holiday Inn Potts Point for your next stay in Sydney
Kind Regards,
Vicki Lawrence
Holiday Inn Potts Point

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2014 via mobile

Rooms are ok and the staff is friendly. The restaurant has a limited diner offering but tastes ok. Too much noise from the music of nightclubs and noise of the people coming out of the club until 3am. The hotel needs to close the front door @ 21h30 to keep unwanted guests out.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Patrik D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Potts Point - Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2014

Dear Patrik D,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the noise levels prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews