We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Potts Point - Sydney
Ranked #58 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Value for money hotel”
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Stayed with wife for 8 nights starting 5 April. First visit to Sydney. Love the excellent hotel location - train station next door, supermarket and 24-hour cafe across the road, pharmacies and good choices of cafes and restaurant very close by. In short, I thought the hotel and its surroundings had everything a typical tourist would need, especially if he's staying for a week or more.

Special mention goes to Jarrod (I'm guessing that's the correct spelling for his name), who checked us in in a very warm manner and shared with us tips on what and where to visit and eat. He set the right tone right at the start of our stay.

Gellato Messina a short walk away is a must-visit. Recommended by Jarrod and easily the best ice cream I've had so far.

From my personal experience, there were no concerns with the WiFi speed or connectivity (very good). WiFi was free as I am an IGH member.

Be aware of the airport shuttle service timing (operated by third party and to be fair the hotel have not much control over their bad service). Take note that the shuttle van will not necessarily go straight to the international airport terminal (20 to 25 minutes away) after picking you up at the hotel. Our flight out of Sydney was to depart at 11 a.m. We requested for shuttle van to come at 8 a.m. but it finally arrived at 8:30 a.m. after repeated calls and false assurances. Very unfriendly driver could only promise arrival at airport at 9:30 a.m. at the earliest after a few more hotel stops plus domestic terminal stop and then finally international departure terminal. We decided to take a taxi and "burn" our shuttle van tickets. Unfortunately the most unpleasant part of this trip happened at the tail end of the holiday.

Room Tip: Possible to see the Opera House and Harbour Bridge from the higher rooms. We stayed on the 7th floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CLChia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aprelle C, Manager at Holiday Inn Potts Point - Sydney, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Dear CL Chia,

Thank you for your recent stay at Holiday Inn Potts Point and sharing your experience. Furthermore, thank you for your loyalty to IHG as an IHG Rewards Club member. Jared is a valued member of the team and epitomizes what we strive for and it was terrific to read that he was able to make your stay so memorable; I will share your feedback with him. It is fantastic to read that you were able to enjoy the complimentary internet as an IHG Rewards Member. We hope that you had a safe flight home and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip.

Kind Regards,

Aprelle Coady
Holiday Inn Potts Point
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,057 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    278
    521
    191
    42
    25
See reviews for
169
375
114
235
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

My mum and I stayed here whilst visiting Sydney for a long weekend. The staff were excellent, very friendly and helpful, but the hotel itself is very dated. The room was clean, however we did get ants on the second day near the bin. The bathroom was huge but again was dated, I haven't seen a shower curtain in a hotel bathroom in a very long time!
However, the location was excellent, practically opposite the train station which takes only four stops to Circular Quay and with a lift straight down to the ticket office which was good for my mum. I would stay here again, but it could do with make-over.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Allison T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aprelle C, Manager at Holiday Inn Potts Point - Sydney, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Dear Cool Allie,

Thank you for posting a review of your recent stay at Holiday Inn Potts Point. It is great to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and our staff members were extremely helpful. Thank you for the feedback regarding your bin and I will follow up the incident with the relevant department managers. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards,

Aprelle Coady
Holiday Inn Potts Point
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Booked this over Easter and got great deal, Hotel in street behind main drag of the Cross, You can avoid that seedy sad place with young mentally ill adults by using Victoria Street, heading over to Darlinghurst or by using the train. Stairs down the street to Woolomoloo and easy walk into Opera House. Hotel is clean, check in great, Gym is very small and no outside areas but Fitness first across the road and maybe they should do deal like the rest of hotels in the area. Swimming pool Boy Charlton not to far if you need laps. Lots of cafes and coffee close by.... just avoid the main strip of the Cross far toooo sad.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gus1233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aprelle C, Manager at Holiday Inn Potts Point - Sydney, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Dear Gus 1233,

Thank you for your review. It is fantastic to read that you had an enjoyable stay and were able to make the most of our great location. We too love the little cafes a long Victoria Street for coffee and fresh food. My apologies that you were not informed about our gym special with Fitness First. As a hotel guest you are able to use Fitness First for $15 per visit, if you see reception during your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Sydney.

Kind Regards,

Aprelle Coady
Holiday Inn Potts Point
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Forget about watching your favorite channel like CNN News, or any international channel. Be prepare to watch only local unrelative news channels, stupid soap series, etc.
Wi-Fi internet service is like third world service. I have been in third world countries many times and wi-fi internet is much better than here in this hotel.
Today, my last day in the hotel, I found out by the receptionist, that if I pay a FEE..., i should have a excellent internet speed and TV channels. PATHETIC !!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juan C G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aprelle C, Manager at Holiday Inn Potts Point - Sydney, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Dear Juan C G,

Thank you for your review. I apologise for your experience as it seems that we could have done much more to have improved your stay. I thank you for your patience as our internet this week has just completed an upgrade, for a faster service. Furthermore, internet is complimentary for all IHG Reward members and I will ensure to bring this up at our next meeting for all staff, I apologise for the confusion. We wish you all the best on the rest of your holiday and a safe trip home.

Kind Regards,
Aprelle Coady
Holiday Inn Potts Point
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014

We had a one night stay as we had a function locally to attend and didn't want the hassle of trying to get a cab home on a Friday night. As we were out a lot of the evening, we didn't eat but did have a drink at the bar which was very pleasant.

Check in and check out were smooth. We parked the car in the carpark next door but attached to the hotel. It was all very easy. We love the fresh produce market by the Kings Cross fountain so had a walk up there in the morning and then took a quick drive home.

All in all, it ticked all the boxes.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fussyvoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aprelle C, Manager at Holiday Inn Potts Point - Sydney, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Dear Fussy Voyager,

Thank you for sharing your experience of your recent stay at Holiday Inn Potts Point. It is fantastic to read that you enjoyed your night out and that you had an enjoyable and convenient stay. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip.

Kind Regards,

Aprelle Coady
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed March 29, 2014

We arrived at our Hotel only to find they had mixed up our reservation. After greeting us enthusiastically as my friend was one of their 'Elite' members, they went on to give us the wrong room. My friend had booked the room 2 months earlier directly with the Holiday Inn and not with a booking company, so we were quite upset. This is where they pulled out all the stops though. After realizing that putting a cot in our room was not going to fly with me, they bought us a drink in the lounge and a free breakfast buffet, then upgraded us to a family room for our last 4 nights. I was impressed that they went out of their way to fix their error. One other thing though, they do not easily show you the price of renting a movie in your room. I was quite appalled when the cost came up at $18.50 when we checked out. Ick! This Hotel is in the centre of all things Sydney. The train station (Kings Cross) is next door and the trains take you to all of the Sydney features at a very reasonable price. It is a very efficient train system. There are also all kinds of restaurants and shopping spots right outside the door. Fun!

Room Tip: If you are on vacation in Sydney, ask for a high room with a view of Sydney Harbour. It is quite bre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JrSrTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aprelle C, Manager at Holiday Inn Potts Point - Sydney, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Dear JrSrTraveller,

Thank you for posting a review of your recent stay at Holiday Inn Potts Point. I apologise for the inconvenience caused during your stay regarding our reservation error. It is fantastic to read about the impression the team left with you regarding the way they handled the situation. I will share your feedback with the team at our next meeting. I am glad that you had an overall enjoyable stay and were able to take advantage of our great location. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Australia.

Kind Regards,

Aprelle Coady
Holiday Inn Potts Point
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Lake CA
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

My last holiday Inn was a nightmare
This property and the staff were great. The remote in my room needed batteries at 3am. They were their to replace them in three minutes.
Addy on the front desk and Jason were super helpful with receiving an emailed ticket to a sporting event. They printed it for me instantly with no problem.
Their advice, directions and manner were terrific.
They could not have been more helpful.

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank JackOntheroad V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aprelle C, Manager at Holiday Inn Potts Point - Sydney, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Dear JacoOntheroad V,

Thank you for your review. It is fantastic to read that you had an enjoyable stay and the staff were extremely helpful! Addy and Jason are valued members of the team and epitomizes what we strive for and it was terrific to read that they were able to make your stay so memorable. Thank you for sharing your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards,

Aprelle Coady
Holiday Inn Potts Point
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Surry Hills
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
#35 of 179 in Sydney
4,139 reviews
Macleay Hotel
#44 of 179 in Sydney
833 reviews
Kings Cross
Larmont Sydney by Lancemore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quest Potts Point
#78 of 179 in Sydney
522 reviews
Surry Hills
57 Hotel
57 Hotel
#38 of 179 in Sydney
1,636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Potts Point - Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Potts Point - Sydney

Property: Holiday Inn Potts Point - Sydney
Address: 203 Victoria St | Potts Point, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Business Hotel in Sydney
#54 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Potts Point - Sydney 4*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Potts point is a 4-star, contemporary hotel located just 5 minutes from the city in cosmopolitan Potts Point. Each of our modern 286 guestrooms come equipped with a choice of soft & firm pillows, 32-inch flat screen TVs, high speed internet access and comfortable en-suite with dual pressure shower head. Enjoy spectacular views to Sydney Harbour or an outlook onto vibrant Potts Point from the comfort of your room. Experience some of Sydney’s best bars, cafes and restaurants only moments from our doorstep and explore the historical architecture and cultural embellishments Potts Point is renowned for. Kings Cross train station is located adjacent to the hotel. Just one stop will take you into the CBD and in the other direction it's just two stops to Bondi Junction, making Potts Point an ideal base for exploring both the city and the beachside eastern suburbs. Hotel facilities include the Mediterranean-themed Sirocco Bar & Restaurant, open for breakfast, lunch and dinner, a fitness centre, guest laundry and secure carpark. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, IHG, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Potts Point - Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Potts Point - Sydney Hotel Sydney
Holiday Inn Sydney
Sydney Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing