We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious room, convenient location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Potts Point - Sydney
Ranked #62 of 174 Hotels in Sydney
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
45 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Spacious room, convenient location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights on a long weekend visiting Sydney.

The hotel was centrally located in Kings Cross next to a subway station entrance. A convenient location and I felt safe even when walking to hotel at night.

The hotel had a modern (typical middle-range) business hotel furnishing - neutral and functional. My room was more spacious than expected, with decent views over Kings Cross streets. However, people from surrounding office buildings could look at the room clearly.
Furnishing in the room was functional and again.

Check-in and check-out were speedy and front office staff was helpful with my enquiries.

I did not dine at the hotel restaurant so could not comment on its food quality or option.

I thought my stay was good values. I will have no problem staying at the hotel again if I visit Sydney (though Sydney is not intriguing to me).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KeepDiscovering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashwin C, Manager at Holiday Inn Potts Point - Sydney, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear KeepDiscovering,

Thank you for taking your time to post your review following your stay at Holiday Inn Potts Point. I was glad to to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to Holiday Inn Potts Point soon.

Kind Regards
Ashwin Chetty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,014 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    500
    189
    42
    25
See reviews for
159
357
109
228
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

We really enjoyed our one week stay at this hotel, the reception staff , Jared and Jason were extremely helpful and friendly. The rooms were well appointed . The extensive breakfast ensured a good start to the day! Great hotel and highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank div518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashwin C, Manager at Holiday Inn Potts Point - Sydney, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear div518,

Thank you for your comments about your recent stay at Holiday Inn Potts Point. I was very happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your feedback regarding our service, rooms and quality breakfast. We are looking forward to welcoming you back to Holiday Inn Potts Point soon.

Kind Regards
Ashwin Chetty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Level Contributor
93 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

Get the train from the airport to Town Hall station, change platforms for the Bondi line, and two stops later alight at Kings Cross station, directly below the hotel. For a very few dollars, you've just spent 30 minutes from airport to hotel. For the CBD, just return on the Town Hall line and get off at Martin Place (one stop) in the heart of the City - and walk from there.

Driving by car from the south, as we did, take the Eastern Distributor toll road and come off at Kings Cross - just a short drive from the hotel. The Holiday Inn car park, under the hotel. is clearly marked and easily accessed, Currently $27.50 for the night, it's a good price for a city hotel.

We asked for a quiet room, and were on the third floor, without a view which did not worry us as we were headed for the harbour anyway. The room wasn't huge, but with just one overnight bag each it was plenty big enough, very comfortable and with a very good pillow menu! Big TV, shower over the bath etc. All spotless.

The breakfast buffet served in the ground floor restaurant was excellent - everything you could need in unlimited quantities.

Added to all this, the reception staff were helpful, knowledgable and efficient. We won't hesitate tio stay there again if the opportunity arises.

Room Tip: Talk to the hotel about which floor is best for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Brightievictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashwin C, Manager at Holiday Inn Potts Point - Sydney, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Brightievictoria,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your stay at Holiday Inn Potts Point. I am glad to see that your enjoyed our location & service. Your comments are very much appreciated and I hope to welcome you back to Holiday Inn Potts Point soon.

Kind Regards
Ashwin Chetty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coppell, Texas
Level Contributor
110 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

A great majority of the reception staff at the Potts Point Holiday Inn were cheery, positive and helpful during my 22-day stay at the hotel for the second time around over the past few years. The Kings Cross subway stop is truly three minutes' walk from the hotel and lies on the blue line between Eastern Suburbs and the Illawarra Line. The supermarket across the street from the hotel is Coles which opens at 6:00 and closes around midnight on most nights, and makes for good recesses from eating out constantly at the numerous good restaurants in the area. The hotel's fitness center is so-so, maybe sparse actually, but Fitness First club across the street on eighth floor is not much better because there are limitless members utilizing the club during the most opportune hours of the day and at quite a high price for short-term visitors such as Holiday Inn guests. There is a fine running track at Macquarie Park/Farm Cove past Woolloomoolloo (apologies for any misspelling of that name) and all the way to Opera House (after 7:00 opening hour). The hotel's breakfast is broad, but dear at AUD21 as of May 2013. There is no swimming pool or sauna at this hotel. Endless partying gets old after a while, so the hotel with its rather secure interior becomes an oasis after being in Kings Cross for a week. If I must live in the Kings Cross area for an extended, yet temporary period of time and can no longer bear the hostel atmosphere then Holiday Inn Potts Point is my favorite option there.

Room Tip: If you wish to avoid the noise from street urchin below then request a room not on the side of Darli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kwansaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashwin C, Manager at Holiday Inn Potts Point - Sydney, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Kwansaii,

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your stay at Holiday Inn Potts Point. I was delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for acknowledging our staff members, I will share your comments with the team. We are looking forward to welcoming you back to Holiday Inn Potts Point soon.

Kind Regards
Ashwin Chetty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

From my check in to my check out three nights later, the staff here were friendly, helpful and courteous. Location is just near the Kings Cross Railway Station which allowed me to trip about to various places for the Head On and Vivid Festivals and I had a room that was a haven from the crowds. The view of Sydney Harbour Bridge and City night and day was mesmerising and the room was very comfortable.

Room Tip: Ask for a Harbour View room - it is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elliejan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashwin C, Manager at Holiday Inn Potts Point - Sydney, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear elliejan,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at Holiday Inn Potts Point. I am glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your fantastic feedback regarding our harbour view rooms and service. I hope to welcome you back to Holiday Inn Potts Point soon.

Kind Regards
Ashwin Chetty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

Very standard; friendly yet incomplete, insufficient service. Good breakfast and good view on Sydney. Very noisy though. This part of Sydney cannot be recommended.
And: don't take the shuttle service to the airport that the hotel proposes; it takes very long, is very uncomfortable; terrible driver.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank My T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashwin C, Manager at Holiday Inn Potts Point - Sydney, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dera My T,

Thank you for providing feedback on your stay at Holiday Inn Potts Point. I totally agree with you regarding our harbour view rooms , they really have fantastic views. It also great to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast selection as well. We hope you stay with us in the future and thank you again for your feedback.

Kind Regards
Ashwin chetty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pender Island
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

This hotel was located within 3 minutes of the subway and on major bus routes. A large chain grocery store was just across the street--good place to get your munchies and stock up for breakfast in the room.
The area near the hotel is a bit of a red light zone but this made for interesting strolls in the evening.
The staff were very accomodating helping us to arrange excursions. Beware of the internet charges--rate was for EACH time you signed online!
Rooms were large, very clean and well lit.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mianbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashwin C, Manager at Holiday Inn Potts Point - Sydney, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear mianbob,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review on Holiday Inn Potts Point. We really appreciate your feedback, I am very glad to see that you enjoyed your stay. It is also great to hear that you enjoyed our location. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to see you back at Holiday Inn Potts Point.

Kind Regards
Ashwin Chetty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Macleay Hotel
#41 of 174 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
Kings Cross
Larmont Sydney by Lancemore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Surry Hills
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
#37 of 174 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,925 reviews
Quest Potts Point
#70 of 174 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Potts Point - Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Potts Point - Sydney

Property: Holiday Inn Potts Point - Sydney
Address: 203 Victoria St | Potts Point, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Business Hotel in Sydney
#57 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Potts Point - Sydney 4*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Potts point is a 4-star, contemporary hotel located just 5 minutes from the city in cosmopolitan Potts Point. Each of our modern 286 guestrooms come equipped with a choice of soft & firm pillows, 32-inch flat screen TVs, high speed internet access and comfortable en-suite with dual pressure shower head. Enjoy spectacular views to Sydney Harbour or an outlook onto vibrant Potts Point from the comfort of your room. Experience some of Sydney’s best bars, cafes and restaurants only moments from our doorstep and explore the historical architecture and cultural embellishments Potts Point is renowned for. Kings Cross train station is located adjacent to the hotel. Just one stop will take you into the CBD and in the other direction it's just two stops to Bondi Junction, making Potts Point an ideal base for exploring both the city and the beachside eastern suburbs. Hotel facilities include the Mediterranean-themed Sirocco Bar & Restaurant, open for breakfast, lunch and dinner, a fitness centre, guest laundry and secure carpark. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, IHG, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Potts Point - Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Potts Point - Sydney Hotel Sydney
Holiday Inn Sydney
Sydney Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing