We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average hotel & location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Potts Point - Sydney
Ranked #61 of 174 Hotels in Sydney
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Average hotel & location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

Very standard; friendly yet incomplete, insufficient service. Good breakfast and good view on Sydney. Very noisy though. This part of Sydney cannot be recommended.
And: don't take the shuttle service to the airport that the hotel proposes; it takes very long, is very uncomfortable; terrible driver.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank My T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashwin C, Manager at Holiday Inn Potts Point - Sydney, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dera My T,

Thank you for providing feedback on your stay at Holiday Inn Potts Point. I totally agree with you regarding our harbour view rooms , they really have fantastic views. It also great to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast selection as well. We hope you stay with us in the future and thank you again for your feedback.

Kind Regards
Ashwin chetty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,013 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    499
    189
    42
    25
See reviews for
159
356
109
228
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pender Island
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

This hotel was located within 3 minutes of the subway and on major bus routes. A large chain grocery store was just across the street--good place to get your munchies and stock up for breakfast in the room.
The area near the hotel is a bit of a red light zone but this made for interesting strolls in the evening.
The staff were very accomodating helping us to arrange excursions. Beware of the internet charges--rate was for EACH time you signed online!
Rooms were large, very clean and well lit.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mianbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashwin C, Manager at Holiday Inn Potts Point - Sydney, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear mianbob,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review on Holiday Inn Potts Point. We really appreciate your feedback, I am very glad to see that you enjoyed your stay. It is also great to hear that you enjoyed our location. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to see you back at Holiday Inn Potts Point.

Kind Regards
Ashwin Chetty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

Stay here 2/3 times a month, sometimes a little more. Each and every stay is consistent! Staff are awesome, really down to earth and always up for a chat. The city view on the 1-28 rooms is nothing short of spectacular. Rooms are always clean and tidy, and are sound proof for any shenanigans. Beds are uber comfy (I wonder how I get one of these in my house?!), and there are two types of pillows provided to satisfy! Super close to Kings Cross nightlife, hotel is situated directly above Kings X station also. There's a handy laundry inside the hotel, $2 for a wash (powder provided) and $2 for the drier.

Only 1 time have I ever complained due to a cockroach in my room and I was immediately changed rooms within minutes.

Room Tip: For an awesome city view, rooms on the half circular block (rooms 1-28) on the odd number side are f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thousandsofmiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashwin C, Manager at Holiday Inn Potts Point - Sydney, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear richard_of_bne,

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your stay at Holiday Inn Potts Point. I was delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for acknowledging our staff members, I will share your comments with the team. We are looking forward to welcoming you back to Holiday Inn Potts Point soon.

Kind Regards
Ashwin Chetty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

Perfect location for anyone wanting to enjoy the nightlife that Sydney/Kings Cross has to offer. Walking distance to cafes, take away, nightclubs, bars, restaurants. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was spotless and the view over Sydney was stunning!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashwin C, Manager at Holiday Inn Potts Point - Sydney, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Lisa F,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post feedback on your recent visit to Holiday Inn Potts Point!
It was great to hear that you found the hotel to be well-located and enjoyed our clean and large, spacious rooms. We agree, the views from the property can be quite breathtaking!

Kind Regards
Ashwin Chetty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingswinford
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

I stayed at the Holiday Inn Potts Point early this year and found it a very clean and comfortable hotel with Double and single beds tea and coffee facility fridge very useful TV.

But be careful if using WiFi it will cost in your room and they don''t tell you the charge

It is free but only in reception area

Its close to Kings Cross Station and walking distance to most interesting places

Room Tip: Ask for a room with the view of the bridge
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MazKingswinford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashwin C, Manager at Holiday Inn Potts Point - Sydney, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Max Kingswinford,

Thank you for your comments about your recent stay at Holiday Inn Potts Point.I was really happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your feedback regarding our location, service and spectacular room. We are looking forward to welcome you back to Holiday Inn Potts Point soon.

Kind Regards
Ashwin Chetty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

I have stayed at the Holiday Inn Potts Point 3 times in the last couple of months. It is very convenient when driving as it is quite close to the freeway and the parking is easy ($25/ night). It is as others note right next door to the Kings Cross railway station - and trains run frequently ($4.80 return to the city). There are many excellent restaurants nearby and boutique shopping, although Kings Cross is of course renown as Sydney's red light district.

The staff have always been friendly and helpful. Checking in and checking out has been a breeze. When I've had a question they have been willing and able to help.

Rooms are a good size, and clean. The bathrooms are actually quite large - showers over a bath if you want a good soak. Beds are comfortable, just as you expect in a Holiday Inn. The only little issue I have is that the air conditioning can be a bit noisy - but not so you cannot sleep.

The hotel is one street down from the main Kings Cross street - Darlinghurst Road - and so it can get crowded and fairly noisy late into the night. The room I was in first was at the front and I could hear some of that noise, but the next 2 times I stayed I was in the tower side and didn't have any problems at all with outside noise.

Room Tip: if you are by yourself or travelling with a partner ask for a room with a queen only because they ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MartinCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashwin C, Manager at Holiday Inn Potts Point - Sydney, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Martin Canberra,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback on Holiday Inn Potts Point. I am glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your fantastic feedback regarding our clean rooms, service and staff, we are look forward to welcoming you back to Holiday Inn Potts Point soon.

Kind Regards
Ashwin Chetty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chengdu, China
Level Contributor
1,144 reviews
325 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2,179 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

Let's talk about location. This place might be called the Holiday Inn Potts Point but it is really in Sydney's red light district of King's Cross. Right in the centre of King's Cross. The hotel has latched onto the name of a neighboring suburb, Potts Point, in order to try and gentrify its image- the name King's Cross evokes hookers and drug addicts in the eyes of Middle Australia. But they can relax: there is nothing at all sleazy about this fine hotel and we have quite a few positive things to say about it.

We got an upgrade to a room with great views. You mightn't think it will you are wandering along the strip at the Cross but it is on a ridge and from a few floors up you get views down to Sydney Harbor. From our window we could see the Sydney Harbor Bridge and the Sydney Opera House and all the lights of the city laid out in its Saturday night glory.

Apart from that we also enjoyed the room service 'food parcel' options. (These enabled you to avoid the 'plate charge' and were of a perfectly decent size for a main meal.) We ordered the nasi goreng (Indonesian fried rice) and it was very tasty, with prawns, chicken and a zingy level of spiciness overall. We would recommend these 'food parcels' to anyone looking for a quiet night in.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Raymond W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashwin C, Manager at Holiday Inn Potts Point - Sydney, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Raymond W,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review on Holiday Inn Potts Point. We really appreciate your feedback, I am very glad to see that you enjoyed your stay. It is also great to hear that you enjoyed the view of our fantastic harbour from your room. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to see you back at Holiday Inn Potts Point.

Kind Regards
Ashwin Chetty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Macleay Hotel
#41 of 174 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
Kings Cross
Larmont Sydney by Lancemore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Surry Hills
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
#37 of 174 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,919 reviews
Quest Potts Point
#72 of 174 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Potts Point - Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Potts Point - Sydney

Property: Holiday Inn Potts Point - Sydney
Address: 203 Victoria St | Potts Point, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Business Hotel in Sydney
#56 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Potts Point - Sydney 4*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Potts point is a 4-star, contemporary hotel located just 5 minutes from the city in cosmopolitan Potts Point. Each of our modern 286 guestrooms come equipped with a choice of soft & firm pillows, 32-inch flat screen TVs, high speed internet access and comfortable en-suite with dual pressure shower head. Enjoy spectacular views to Sydney Harbour or an outlook onto vibrant Potts Point from the comfort of your room. Experience some of Sydney’s best bars, cafes and restaurants only moments from our doorstep and explore the historical architecture and cultural embellishments Potts Point is renowned for. Kings Cross train station is located adjacent to the hotel. Just one stop will take you into the CBD and in the other direction it's just two stops to Bondi Junction, making Potts Point an ideal base for exploring both the city and the beachside eastern suburbs. Hotel facilities include the Mediterranean-themed Sirocco Bar & Restaurant, open for breakfast, lunch and dinner, a fitness centre, guest laundry and secure carpark. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, IHG, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Potts Point - Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Potts Point - Sydney Hotel Sydney
Holiday Inn Sydney
Sydney Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing