We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible wifi”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Potts Point - Sydney
Ranked #67 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Not bad hotel - tired but ok. Wifi is extortionate and slow which became extremely frustrating as a business traveler. Mostly good service but laid back occasionally became lackadaisical. I asked about wifi on checkout and the receptionist said that everybody complains but there's nothing that can be done.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
Thank IRT68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashwin C, Manager at Holiday Inn Potts Point - Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Dear chathamian,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your recent stay at Holiday Inn Potts Point. It remains our goal to ensure our guests experience a relaxing and rewarding stay at Holiday Inn Potts Point and I was very disappointed to see that this was not the case during your stay.

I have personally followed up the matter with the department managers concerned and we deeply regret the inconvenience this caused you.

We really appreciate your feedback and hope that you return to Holiday Inn Potts Point in the near future.

Kind Regards
Ashwin Chetty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,098)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

720 - 726 of 1,098 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2013

Very close to the subway station. The hotel is very good and friendly staff. Be careful at night in the surroundings. I reccomend it.
There is a regular bus line close to the hotel which takes you to downtown

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hleme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashwin C, Manager at Holiday Inn Potts Point - Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2013

Dear Hleme,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review on Holiday Inn Potts Point. I am glad to see that you enjoyed your stay, transport to and from the hotel is seamless with Kings Cross station being located adjacent to the hotel. Thank you for your feedback regarding our cleanness and friendly staff. We are looking forward to welcome you back to Holiday Inn Potts Point soon.

Kind Regards
Ashwin Chetty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

I agree with all the comments this is a great location. The customer service however is absolutely terrible, did not matter what shift was on. They boarder on incompetence and desperately need customer service training... Take away the location I would rate this hotel a two star.

Room Tip: Ask for a Harbour View room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Graham P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashwin C, Manager at Holiday Inn Potts Point - Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2013

Dear Graham P,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback regarding your stay at Holiday Inn Potts Point. It remains our goal to ensure that our valued guests experience a relaxing and rewarding stay at Holiday Inn Potts Point and I was disappointed to see that this was not the case during your stay. Your comments are very much appreciated as they enable us to assess our guest experiences . Thank you once again and I hope to welcome you back to Holiday Inn Potts Point soon.

Kind Regards
Ashwin Chetty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

This is about the fourth or fifth time I have stayed at Holiday Inn Potts Point and I finally got a room with a view. I always enjoy my stay here, the staff are friendly, there is a Bar and Restaurant located on the ground floor. So if you don't want to go out, you can eat in. On a previous occasion when I was staying here, I requested a late checkout I was given a 2pm checkout. This was perfect at I had a lot to do that day, but did not have to rush, got back to hotel at 1pm had a shower something to eat then checked out.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tuna111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashwin C, Manager at Holiday Inn Potts Point - Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2013

Dear Tuna111,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your stay at Holiday Inn Potts Point.
I was delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay with us, we are looking forward to welcome you to Holiday Inn Potts Point soon.

Kind Regards
Ashwin Chetty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

I live in the neighbourhood, but had to abandon my apartment for a couple of days, so picked the Holiday Inn on grounds of price, space, and convenience.

As per other reviews, the Holiday Inn is located virtually on top of Kings Cross Train Station, and there is an elevator to street level, which is helpful if you're arriving with luggage. Check-in was possibly the fast and most efficient I have ever experienced (and I travel frequently, internationally), as well as being friendly. Despite booking a regular room, we were given a room with a view, and a late checkout, both much appreciated. The breakfast, for an additional $15 per person, was extremely good value. There were the usual hot dishes, but without the tired, re-heated, left-over-from-last night feel so common in buffets. Hot dishes were tasty, and HOT, the mushrooms were fresh, not tinned, there were poached as well as scrambled eggs (a nice touch, and the scrambled eggs weren't rubbery or grey), and there was a wide array of fruit, a good selection of breads, and - a first! - a juice extractor.

This is not a particularly stylish hotel, but staff are excellent, the hotel and rooms are clean and spacious, there was a pillow menu (normally found in more boutique or high end hotels), and the location is hugely convenient: walk to the CBD, or if sightseeing, through the Botanical Gardens to the Opera House and Circular Quay (from where ferries run to the Zoo, Manly, Cockatoo Island, and other attractions). Take the train from Kings Cross to almost anywhere else.

Not a hotel I'd pick for a romantic getaway or a honeymoon, but absolutely a good choice for business or holiday travel, or a quick weekend getaway.

Suggestions to the hotel: update the look with timber or engineered wooden floors. Clean the windows more often. Have free wifi throughout (I would suggest this to ALL hotels. Broadband is no longer a luxury, it's a necessity).

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gaisaber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashwin C, Manager at Holiday Inn Potts Point - Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2013

Dear gaisaber,

Thank you for your recommendation and for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your stay at Holiday Inn Potts. Our location is one of the main reasons why so many guests choose to stay at the Holiday Inn Potts point and also our high quality breakfast. Thank you once again, and we look forward to having you stay with us soon.

Kind Regards
Ashwin Chetty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

This hotel is in an excellent location, close to the city and surrounded by great eateries. We walked from there to the Sydney Cricket Ground (SCG) to attend the recent Aus v Sri Lanka test (approx 20 mins). In the evening we caught the train from Kings Cross Station (right next to the hotel) to Martin Place and walked across the road to the Domain for the DAPTONE SUPER SOUL REVUE. It was also only a 15 min walk to the Australian Museum - where we saw the Alexander the Great exhibition (really worthwhile too). We had a family room with wonderful views of the City. The staff were helpful and friendly. Breakfast was a buffet with freshly cooked omlettes available. If you stay in the hotel kids eat free so this was brilliant for us - we stay there whenever we get down to Sydney!

Room Tip: If you have children make sure you ask for a family room rather than adjoining rooms as it's muc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nat5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashwin C, Manager at Holiday Inn Potts Point - Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2013

Dear Nat5,

Thank you for feedback regarding your stay at Holiday Inn Potts Point. It is good to hear that you enjoyed your stay, I totally agree with you regarding our fantastic location and good quality breakfast. We really appreciate your feedback and hope to welcome you back to Holiday Inn Potts Point soon.

Kind Regards
Ashwin Chetty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

I often stay in Sydney for work and the Holiday Inn Potts Point has become a favourite for me. Convenient location, always clean, spacious rooms, affordable and the real clincher is the customer service. Without fail the staff have always been welcoming and courteous and very helpful.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LittleTassieRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashwin C, Manager at Holiday Inn Potts Point - Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2013

Dear LittleTassieRed,

Thank you for taking the to leave your feedback on Holiday Inn Potts Point. I am glad to see that you always enjoy your stay with us. Thank you for your fantastic feedback regarding our clean rooms, service and staff, we are look forward to welcoming you back to Holiday Inn Potts Point soon.

Kind Regards
Ashwin Chetty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Surry Hills
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
#37 of 179 in Sydney
4,394 reviews
Macleay Hotel
#48 of 179 in Sydney
880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Central Station Hotel
Central Station Hotel
#82 of 179 in Sydney
2,524 reviews
Mercure Sydney
#65 of 179 in Sydney
4,959 reviews
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
#105 of 179 in Sydney
5,275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Potts Point - Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Potts Point - Sydney

Address: 203 Victoria St | Potts Point, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Business Hotel in Sydney
#59 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $117 - $324 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Potts Point - Sydney 4*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Potts point is a 4-star, contemporary hotel located just 5 minutes from the city in cosmopolitan Potts Point. Each of our modern 286 guestrooms come equipped with a choice of soft & firm pillows, 32-inch flat screen TVs, high speed internet access and comfortable en-suite with dual pressure shower head. Enjoy spectacular views to Sydney Harbour or an outlook onto vibrant Potts Point from the comfort of your room. Experience some of Sydney’s best bars, cafes and restaurants only moments from our doorstep and explore the historical architecture and cultural embellishments Potts Point is renowned for. Kings Cross train station is located adjacent to the hotel. Just one stop will take you into the CBD and in the other direction it's just two stops to Bondi Junction, making Potts Point an ideal base for exploring both the city and the beachside eastern suburbs. Hotel facilities include the Mediterranean-themed Sirocco Bar & Restaurant, open for breakfast, lunch and dinner, a fitness centre, guest laundry and secure carpark. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Potts Point - Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Potts Point - Sydney Hotel Sydney
Holiday Inn Sydney
Sydney Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing