We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel in a fabulous location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Old Sydney
Ranked #43 of 174 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
North Carolina
Level Contributor
190 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Great Hotel in a fabulous location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2007

A very nice, clean reliable hotel.
The staff was very helpful, the rooms were clean and well appointed and The Rocks is the most interesting, charming area.
You can walk to the harbor and the Circular Quay where you can get transport to just about any attraction in the city.
We stayed in this hotel in 2003 and the overall quality has stayed the same.
We highly recommend it.

  • Liked — Reliable quality and great location.
  • Disliked — Can smell cooking from restaurant in room at times.
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank neriagechris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    706
    1,091
    356
    87
    39
See reviews for
532
1,049
130
215
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (582)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northwest Illinois
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2007

We were immediately impressed by the 4 (?) story lobby and long check-in desk
Check-in was efficiently handled by friendly staff; elevator is just around corner from the desk;
room was clean, but pretty average;
On site restaurant is on the second level-staff seemed disorganized, even tho' it was not busy; nice wine list; fairly pricey-better bargains at down the street cafes.
There is a pool on the roof, but we didn't have time to use it; there is a great view of the Sydney Opera House (just a short walk from the hotel) from the roof.
Check out and lining up transportation to the airport was easy.

Stayed April 2007
Helpful?
Thank NorwestIlliniWineGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2007

This review is realllllly late- but we met a couple from Australia on our recent trip and they jarred my memory that I never wrote a review for this hotel!

We stayed here in July of 2005. We loved the location, and found the hotel to be a great value for the money (although the room was small). We also found it to be quiet in the room that we were staying.

Again, the location can't be beat for the price. Such views of the Opera House from the rooftop! We would go back to this hotel if we ever make it back to Australia.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
Helpful?
2 Thank Ladyleah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2007

We stayed at this hotel for four nights in May. It's in an ideal location, situated between the bridge and Opera House. (Coming from Newcastle upon Tyne we were interested in comparing bridges!). The Tourist Information is right next door - very handy although the young man we spoke to was definitely in the wrong job -totally unhelpful. We bought 3-day Sydney passes which were worth the money, you can use them on the tour buses, ferries, trains and local buses. Bondi beach was a big disappointment - it's just a small bay. Manly beach is much nicer.

I would definately recomend this hotel, rooms were clean and modern., staff were friendly and helpful. Lots of choice at breakfast. And the location is great

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — Just one lift to each floor
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank offonhol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2007

Located in The Rocks, great for access to Circular Quay Ferries and Trains. Great location with Sydney Opera House and Sydney Harbour bridge only minutes away. Hotel staff very helpful.

Swimming Pool located on 8th floor - great views of Opera House and Bridge

Manly Beach far nicer beach to visit than Bondi.

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank GeordiesfromNE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2007

This hotel is an absolute must if you are coming to Sydney for a a few days. We booked a Deluxe Harbour View Room and you will not be disappointed with the room and stunning views for the extra money paid. This has to be the best value quality hotel in Sydney. We were allocated Room 830 on the top floor- probably the best room in the hotel with amazing views of the Opera House and Bridge. The rooftop pool is small (towels available) but the views are simply fantastic and you can order food and drinks to be delivered.
There are plenty of cafes serving a light breakfast nearby especially round the Opera House side of Circular Quay.
The staff were friendly and I will most definitely return.

The Olympic Park is well worth the visit (take a limited stop train from Circular Quay to Lindale and swap onto Olympic Park Shuttle).

  • Liked — Great Value for the location
  • Stayed April 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Robin64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2007

We had stayed 5 nights in the Shangri La before downgrading to the Holiday Inn. In many ways it was great because the location was brilliant, however, they were in the process of renovating and we weren't lucky enough to get a new room. The lifts kept breaking down and we couldn't find our way down stairs by stairs, and nor could anyone else! In the end we walked down the outdoor fire exit doors. The breakfast was quite good. Lots of variety - fruit juices, waffles, pancakes, omelettes. I do think this hotel was great value for money considering the location.

  • Stayed September 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TAAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#21 of 174 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rocks
The Russell Hotel
The Russell Hotel
#36 of 174 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
Central Business District
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Old Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Old Sydney

Property: Holiday Inn Old Sydney
Address: 55 George St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > The Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Sydney
#41 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#43 Family Hotel in Sydney
#47 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Old Sydney 4*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Heritage Listed Holiday Inn Old Sydney is one of Sydney's little secrets,uniquely positioned between the Harbour Bridge and Sydney Opera House within the iconic area of The Rocks. Holiday Inn Old Sydney is the closest hotel to the Overseas Passenger Terminal providing a hassle free accommodation option pre and post cruise. The hotel is closely situated to the Circular Quay Ferry and Railway stations also providing easy access to Sydney Airport via the Airtrain. Each of our 176 guestrooms come equipped with a choice of soft & firm pillows, flatscreen TV's, high speed internet access. Enjoy spectacular views to Sydney Harbour or an outlook onto the historic Rocks from the comfort of your room. Stroll down the harbour-side promenade past the museum of Contemporary Art, to lively Circular Quay and experience an excellent selection of restaurants and bars. Here you can catch a ferry to Manly Beach, Watsons Bay, Taronga Zoo or enjoy a fabulous harbour cruise. Holiday Inn Old Sydney is only moments from the majority of Sydney's best attractions and a variety of great shopping options, including the Rocks Markets, Queen Victoria Building, Pitt Street Mall and Oxford Street. Experience spectacular views of Sydney Harbour, the famous Harbour Bridge and the world-acclaimed Opera House from the famous Holiday Inn Old Sydney rooftop, equipped with heated outdoor pool and spa. Holiday Inn Old Sydney also offers a complimentary business centre with computer and internet access to keep you connected whilst away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Old Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Old Sydney Hotel Sydney
Old Sydney Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Sydney
Sydney Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing