We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,905)
Filter reviews
2,905 results
Traveler rating
996
1,357
405
103
44
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
996
1,357
405
103
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop pool rocks area opera house harbour bridge great location weekend market cruise ship overseas passenger terminal rocks markets short walk lobby bar close to circular quay bit dated buffet breakfast bars and restaurants george street an upgrade
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 2,905 reviews
Reviewed May 7, 2019

In our opinion, this hotel has the most perfect location to tour in Sydney. The service was courteous and prompt at all times. The room was modest in size and the bathroom was too small and lacking counter space. So next time we will ask for a room with a better bathroom. Still we were happy to compromise because its perfect location and service added to the easiness and pleasure of touring. Coffee, tea and cookies in your room are complimentary. Also there is a self service laundry room, which came in handy.

Date of stay: April 2019
Thank MirTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidR14636, General Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2019

Hello MirTravels,

Thank you for the kind words.
We are glad you enjoyed your time in the city and that our hotel looked after you well.

Very soon VIVID is on again and as you know our views are perfect to see the show, if you have some free time please consider us.

Cheers

Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2019 via mobile

Really enjoyed our four night stay in this hotel, it was our first stop in Australia and gave us the ideal location to see all the sights from!
Located opposite the cruise ship dock and a short walk from both the harbour bridge and opera house, the hotel was ideal for all our requirements.
The transport hub is a short walk away, and there are some lovely places to eat and drink close by.
The hotel was very clean and smart, the service from staff was excellent, the breakfasts were excellent with a good choice of buffet style food freshly cooked eggs available to order a local newspaper to catch up on everything local.
The evening meals were also of a very good quality.
Overall a very pleasant hotel, if I am ever in the area again it is definitely a place I would stay in again.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank plod4925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidR14636, General Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2019

Hello plod4924,

Thank you for the feedback about your recent stay with us. We are glad to read that you enjoyed it.

We are finding more and more that our location is the first option for travelers. I was also happy to read your experiences with our team and our restaurant was good too.

We hope to see you again soon

Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2019

Stayed here for 4 nights after travelling further north. Staff were very welcoming and and helpful. Fantastic location and great view from our room. Opera house through one window and Harbour bridge out of the other. Room was clean, tidy and functional. mall pool on the roof with great views but can get very busy. Location is brilliant with loads of places to eat and drink and sites within walking distance. Would recommend for short city break to Sydney.

Room tip: Room 630 has great views
Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidR14636, General Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2019

Hello Kevin T,

Thank you for your feedback.

Very soon its VIVID time again, maybe you have a few spare days to join us again and see what offers we have.

Hope to see you again

Cheers

Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2019

this hotel is located on the Rocks, a ten minute walk to /from Circular Quay room adequate, breakfast @ $29 was good plenty to eat and drink, and the staff were pleasant and helpful.Great view from the roof.

Date of stay: April 2019
1  Thank seniorsaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidR14636, General Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2019

Hello seniorsaway,

Thank you for your review on the hotel, we are glad you had a great time.

We hope to see you again soon

Cheers

Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2019 via mobile

Our family stayed for 3 nights. Accommodation was clean, staff were helpful and friendly. Great location with fabulous views of the city. Breakfast buffet was great and parking was easy. We always enjoy staying here.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank artishlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidR14636, General Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2019

Hello artishlee,

Thank you for the review on our hotel, thank you for being loyal to us and seeing us as first choice when staying in the city.

Soon VIVID is on, maybe you have time to come back? as you know we have the best views of the harbour.

Cheers

Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews