We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Totally over-rated” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Old Sydney

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Holiday Inn Old Sydney
Ranked #44 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Moray, Scotland
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Totally over-rated”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2006

We stayed for 3 nights at the end of April and chose this hotel for the location and the reviews on this site. I wished we had'nt as it was the worst place we stayed in throughout our 5 week trip in Oz. Everywhere we went in Oz we found the people so friendly and helpful but not here and as with a previous review we found the attitude of the staff to be shocking.

The location is great but I'm afraid that was all that I would recommend this hotel for. We booked an executive room and got room 826 on the top floor and initially we thought it was fine but thought the air conditioning was rather noisy. We then realised that it was not the air-con but the a large power unit on the roof directly above our room and the there was no way we could have got some sleep in that room. Again like a previous review, when I politely asked at reception about the noise I was given a blank look, an attitude of 'how dare I complain' and and a denial that no-one had ever complained about it before. I asked if we could be moved but was told that the hotel was full so I returned to the room but had to return to reception to see if there was anything that could be done. I was then told there was rooms available but not executive rooms ( which were available for the next day) but we were not caring about that so we moved rooms at 12.30am and then got moved the next day to another executive room.

We did not get an apology for having to move and we then found the attitude of the staff towards us as downright rude and we can only put it down to their childish attitude to us asking to be moved. Although it did not spoil our stay in Sydney we were really glad to check out as we have never felt so uncomfortable and unwelcome in a hotel before. We would never recommend this hotel for anything else other than the location.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank macdap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    690
    1,074
    352
    87
    39
See reviews for
517
1,034
128
214
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (576)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2006

We stayed at the Old Sydney Holiday Inn for five nights on a round the world tour. We have to say that whilst the location was great right in the middle of the Rocks our stay was marred by the awful attitude of some of the staff.

The room was nice; spacious and clean with some nice little extra touches included such as high end toiletries. The rooftop pool is tiny but has some of the best views in Sydney. Go up at different times, both day and night to get some great photographs.

Those are the positive points of the hotel. However, what spoilt it for us was the way we were treated. Having not had much contact with the front desk staff it was only on our last day that we discovered how incompetent they really were.

The hotel is very noisy every night - if you have a room at the front of the hotel. We politely asked at reception if it was like that every night and they seemed to take offence and gave us some 'attitude.' However, we thought no more of it until our problems started with the staff. At this time we asked them to book us an early morning wake up call and we later double-checked that this had been done. This call never arrived and when we telephoned reception to ask why it they had not woken us up, we were rudely put on hold with extremely loud music and the phone was never picked up again.

We had also asked at the same time for the reception to book our shuttle to the airport. We were there when the receptionist was on the phone to the company so imagine our surprise when the shuttle did not arrive for us. We know that the shuttle was booked for everyone except four (including myself and my travel companion) so it does not seem to be the shuttle company's mistake. We also know that the woman on the front desk did not mistakenly book us with another company, as we waited in reception for an hour and no other shuttle arrived. Therefore, we can only think that the front desk staff deliberately failed to book our shuttle. Perhaps they did not like us mentioning the noise. Strange I know but they really seemed to take it as a personal slight on their character.

I certainly would not be staying at this hotel again and would not recommend it to anyone else.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Eralc3891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2006

We have just returned from a two night stay at Old Sydney Holiday Inn.

I knew when we booked this hotel that it has a roof top pool but I did not realise how good the view was. It was amazing.

The room was what we expected for a Holiday Inn.

I would defiantly stay here again and recommend this hotel, for the good location, excellent views and value for money.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Peter_Kay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2006

The location of this hotel was great which meant that you could walk to most places in the city. The view from the roof top is a view I will never forget - it was amazing!!!
The room was a little small but this did not matter as everything else was good.
One word of warning - use the safe in the room as our room was entered (not broken into) and valuables stolen. The hotel would not take any responsibility.
Although this was a downer it did not spoil our trip.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HarryHarris1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Happy Valley, Oregon
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2006

We stayed there for two nights at the end of a cruise. The hotel was so close to where the ship docked that we walked less that a block (someone showed us a shortcut between two buildings) from the ship. The ship kicked us off at 7:00 A.M. and we showed up at the desk by 7:30. Since they had an available room in our class they let us check in early. Otherwise, they would have happily stored our luggage while we toured the city.

Originally I was very angry with the hotel. We prepaid the hotel (credit card) and when the bill came in we discovered that we were charged about U.S. $100 more than what my travel agents computer screen and confirmation sheet showed when we were evaluating hotels. Holiday Inn would not correct or refund the difference even when I showed them the paperwork at check in time. The manager was brought out and he offered us free breakfasts for two for the two days. The breakfasts were very good and the total cost made up for the billing error so in the end I was happy.

The room was adequate except for the TV (both programming and ease of use) but we weren't there to watch TV. The view from the room left a lot to be desired but the view from the roof more than made up for it. Most inportantly the room was quiet. We spent very little time in the room but it was comfortable and sunny. Since the billing problem was solved I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank konadays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2006

Stayed for 6 night in February 2006. The location of the old holiday inn can not be beaten. This is the second time stayed at the hotel and Sydney was just as enjoyable this time. Staff very helpful and pleasant. Had a deal that included breakfast and this was very good and kept us going through the day. The hotel is right in the middle of the rocks which is handy for restaurants, bars and many tourist attractions. Room was of a moderate size, but only really used for getting our heads down at night as there is so much to do in Sydney both near the hotel and further afield.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank mr_mojo_risin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2006

Stayed here for 2 weeks. Great view of the opera house if you get an up-grade room. All you can eat breakfast was extra. Just a short walk across the street to Circular Quay. Rocks open air market next door on Saturday & Sunday. Helpful staff. Washer & dryer for guests. Ask about the shuttle bus to the airport,much less than a taxi.

  • Stayed June 2004
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank 915 rosney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#22 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
The Rocks
The Russell Hotel
The Russell Hotel
#34 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 873 reviews
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Old Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Old Sydney

Property: Holiday Inn Old Sydney
Address: 55 George St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > The Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Sydney
#42 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#43 Family Hotel in Sydney
#47 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Old Sydney 4*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Heritage Listed Holiday Inn Old Sydney is one of Sydney's little secrets,uniquely positioned between the Harbour Bridge and Sydney Opera House within the iconic area of The Rocks. Holiday Inn Old Sydney is the closest hotel to the Overseas Passenger Terminal providing a hassle free accommodation option pre and post cruise. The hotel is closely situated to the Circular Quay Ferry and Railway stations also providing easy access to Sydney Airport via the Airtrain. Each of our 176 guestrooms come equipped with a choice of soft & firm pillows, flatscreen TV's, high speed internet access. Enjoy spectacular views to Sydney Harbour or an outlook onto the historic Rocks from the comfort of your room. Stroll down the harbour-side promenade past the museum of Contemporary Art, to lively Circular Quay and experience an excellent selection of restaurants and bars. Here you can catch a ferry to Manly Beach, Watsons Bay, Taronga Zoo or enjoy a fabulous harbour cruise. Holiday Inn Old Sydney is only moments from the majority of Sydney's best attractions and a variety of great shopping options, including the Rocks Markets, Queen Victoria Building, Pitt Street Mall and Oxford Street. Experience spectacular views of Sydney Harbour, the famous Harbour Bridge and the world-acclaimed Opera House from the famous Holiday Inn Old Sydney rooftop, equipped with heated outdoor pool and spa. Holiday Inn Old Sydney also offers a complimentary business centre with computer and internet access to keep you connected whilst away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Old Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Old Sydney Hotel Sydney
Old Sydney Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Sydney
Sydney Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing