We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Location-friendly staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Old Sydney

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Holiday Inn Old Sydney
Ranked #44 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Perfect Location-friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2014

We loved the location of this hotel. You step out the front door and you are literally steps away from Circular Quay, the Rocks and the Harbour. The front staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was a little tired, but perfect for myself and my two college age boys. I would trade a super fancy room for the convenience of the location any day. We spent very little time in the room anyway! Great view from the pool on the roof too. I'm giving it a 5 rating because you can't beat the location.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VacaAddict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMHIOldSydney, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Dear VacaAddict,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We certainly have a great location which assists in exploring most of Sydney's major tourist attractions, thank you for the five out of five rating which you awarded us.

Wishing you safe future travels, thank you for choosing to stay with us.

Kind regards,

Rob & Team Holiday Inn Old Sydney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    689
    1,073
    352
    87
    39
See reviews for
517
1,032
128
214
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (576)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2014

The Old Sydney Holiday Inn is all about location. Having the charm of a youth hostel, it is the proximity to the sights & sounds in the rocks that make the hotel a good place to be. And this is what you pay for. If you don't mind walking a bit, you get real 5star hotel feeling from the Shangri La, Hilton or Sheraton at the Park. I stayed at the places before and most say they play in a different league but are not necessary more expensive. The Holiday Inn needs refurbishing. The breakfast is pretty basic, not bad, but not great either, noone to make your omlette for sure. One more thing to mention, the bathtub is one of the smallest i have seen in a hotel so far ... in summary: great location, average service, outdated rooms. Nothing much to complain, nothing much to write home about ...

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Florian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMHIOldSydney, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Dear Florian W,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am sorry that you believe that our hotel has the charm of a " youth hostel". Our hotel is a heritage listed building which is made up of 2 historic buildings. We do not claim to be a 5 star hotel and are a solidly rated 4.5 star hotel. Our hotel chefs do offer an omelette, gluten free or special egg cooking services each and every morning for our customers. We are refurbishing our live cooking station at present however we are still offering this service to our customers every day. Several other customers have commented in reviews recently on this site how much they enjoyed this inclusion as well as the service which our staff provide.

Thank you for your constructive feedback, we apologise that the hotel was not to the standard which you were expecting.

Kind regards,

Rob & Team Holiday Inn Old Sydney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2014

We stayed at the hotel for the weekend with our family. The filthiest hotel bathroom I've ever had and I've stayed at some pretty terrible hotels. This bathroom had grit on the floor. The walls had more mould than a mushroom farm. Sad for a Sydney C.B.D hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMHIOldSydney, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Dear David C,

Thank you for taking the time to post your first review. I sincerely apologise to you and your family for your poor stay with us. The team and I are shocked to read your comments about your bathroom. I can assure you that your comments will be followed up and are treated very seriously.

I have sent you a private message to obtain some further details from you so that our Housekeeping Manager can speak with you further.

Please accept our apologies once again.

Kind regards,

Rob & Team Holiday Inn Old Sydney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Level Contributor
84 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2014

Outstandingly situated in The Rocks with views of the Sydney Opera House. The 8th floor roof top includes a pool, jacuzzi and stunning views. Staff are very friendly and helpful, clearly valuing customer service. Rooms are somewhat dated and worn but clean and comfortable. No on-site fitness center although free access is granted at a gym a few blocks away.

Room Tip: Steer away from rooms that end in 19 or 18 as they face the back of the hotel, away from the harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhonda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMHIOldSydney, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Dear Rhonda G,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Your kind words about the hotel and our service levels is greatly appreciated and will be shared with the team, thank you for acknowledging our staff. We also appreciate your constructive feedback, the hotel is currently updating areas of our hotel and has recently overhauled our preventative maintenance program.

We hope to be able to welcome you back to the hotel again in the future, thank you for choosing to stay with us,

Kind regards,

Rob & Team Holiday Inn Old Sydney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2014

Only stayed one night in transit at the Holiday Inn Old Sydney in the historical Rocks. Marvelous view from the rooftop over Circular Quay with Sydney Harbor Bridge and Opera House made me forget the typical, worn, nondescript Holiday Inn chic. Public areas were littered, but rooms, small, were clean and comfortable and the bathroom was functional. Value for money was good, especially if compared with other hotels in expensive Sydney.

Room Tip: Ask for higher floor with harbor view; otherwise you will look at other buildings' walls
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eberhard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMHIOldSydney, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Dear Eberhard M,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We were pleased to read that you enjoyed our hotels location and that you found it to be clean and that it was value for money.

Kind regards,

Rob & Team Holiday Inn Old Sydney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2014

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Old Sydney with our 2 children, aged 13 and 9. The hotel is in a fantastic location, right in the heart of Sydney and close to all the major sights. Harbour Bridge, Opera House, Circular Quay etc, and is located on George Street, one of the main shopping streets. Our room was on the 6th floor towards the back, whilst the room was on the small side for 4 people, it was clean and the beds were so comfy. The furniture could probably do with an update but it didn't bother us at all. It has a small rooftop pool with fantastic views of the Harbour Bridge and the Opera House, my girls loved the pool but it was a tad too chilly for me to go in, it also has a small spa pool. The view is sometimes obscured as Cruise ships regularly dock in the port. It has one restaurant which we used for breakfast each day and the breakfast was lovely. It has a station where you could order eggs the way you like them, waffles, pancakes etc etc. Loved the juicer, where the girls made their own fresh juice every morning, there was also a great hot buffet choice and continental meats, cheese, fruit, pastries etc. Also had a coffee/tea counter where you could even fill a take away cup ready for your day ahead. The staff at this hotel were so friendly and would do anything to help you. I did read some negative reviews about this hotel but having been there for myself I am glad I ignored them and I would highly recommend this hotel for its location and friendly service.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave2308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMHIOldSydney, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Dear Dave2308,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We were pleased to read that you enjoyed your visit to Sydney and your stay at the hotel. Thank you for posting your very fair review, the team here try extremely hard to deliver on our promises and value for money. We are also continuing on improving the hotel with several projects either underway or about to start which will continue to enhance our customer experience.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us, wishing you safe future travels.

Kind regards,

Rob & Team Holiday Inn Old Sydney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2014

This was the perfect hotel for our stay during the International Rotary Convention a few weeks ago. It is around the corner from the main transit terminal, as well as right near the Opera House and Bridge.

The room was more than adequate - and the view of the Opera House during the Vivid Light Show was spectacular.
We would stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maidspiCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMHIOldSydney, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear maidspiCalifornia,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We were pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We truly enjoyed hosting all of our Rotary delegates and were delighted to read that you also got an opportunity to take in the Vivid light festival.

Wishing you safe future travels, we hope to be able to welcome you back to the hotel again in the future.

Kind regards,

Rob & Team Holiday Inn Old Sydney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#23 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
The Rocks
The Russell Hotel
The Russell Hotel
#34 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 872 reviews
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Old Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Old Sydney

Property: Holiday Inn Old Sydney
Address: 55 George St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > The Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Sydney
#42 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#43 Family Hotel in Sydney
#47 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Old Sydney 4*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Heritage Listed Holiday Inn Old Sydney is one of Sydney's little secrets,uniquely positioned between the Harbour Bridge and Sydney Opera House within the iconic area of The Rocks. Holiday Inn Old Sydney is the closest hotel to the Overseas Passenger Terminal providing a hassle free accommodation option pre and post cruise. The hotel is closely situated to the Circular Quay Ferry and Railway stations also providing easy access to Sydney Airport via the Airtrain. Each of our 176 guestrooms come equipped with a choice of soft & firm pillows, flatscreen TV's, high speed internet access. Enjoy spectacular views to Sydney Harbour or an outlook onto the historic Rocks from the comfort of your room. Stroll down the harbour-side promenade past the museum of Contemporary Art, to lively Circular Quay and experience an excellent selection of restaurants and bars. Here you can catch a ferry to Manly Beach, Watsons Bay, Taronga Zoo or enjoy a fabulous harbour cruise. Holiday Inn Old Sydney is only moments from the majority of Sydney's best attractions and a variety of great shopping options, including the Rocks Markets, Queen Victoria Building, Pitt Street Mall and Oxford Street. Experience spectacular views of Sydney Harbour, the famous Harbour Bridge and the world-acclaimed Opera House from the famous Holiday Inn Old Sydney rooftop, equipped with heated outdoor pool and spa. Holiday Inn Old Sydney also offers a complimentary business centre with computer and internet access to keep you connected whilst away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Old Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Old Sydney Hotel Sydney
Old Sydney Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Sydney
Sydney Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing