We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Old Sydney
Ranked #45 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Leics, UK
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great hotel, great location”
Reviewed April 13, 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights at the end of March, and really liked this hotel. It's in a great location in the Rocks, close to some lovely shops, cafes, restaurants and the market. And it's just a short walk to the most beautiful harbour in the world!
We arrived at about 7.30am and were given a room within a few minutes, which was great after a 24 hour journey. The staff were very friendly and helpful.
The room was on the small side and the furniture was looking a little tired, but this didn't detract from our stay - there were far more exciting things to go and see in the city! We liked the generous supply of tea/coffee etc, the free biscuits and the fact that the mini bar was a normal fridge which we could fill with our own food and drink - far better than those awful sensor-type fridges that you daren't remove anything from for fear of being charged $10 for a bottle of water!
The rooftop pool was lovely - we didn't use it as we didn't have time, but the view was amazing!
Would definitely recommend this hotel for anyone wanting a hotel in a quiet spot but central for eating out etc. However, it was on the pricey side compared with other hotels we've stayed in in Australia, so we've marked it down for value on that basis.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelBug75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMHIOldSydney, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear TravelBug75,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Your review was very comprehensive and much appreciated. We were pleased to read that you enjoyed your time in Sydney as well as your stay at the hotel. It was nice to read that we were also able to offer you a room so quickly after such a long flight which we know can make a huge difference when you are jet-lagged!

Thank you for choosing to stay with us.

Wishing you a happy 2014,

Kind regards,

Rob & Team Holiday Inn Old Sydney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    740
    1,132
    361
    90
    40
See reviews for
557
1,079
134
227
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (601)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

We spent three nights here on route to Brisbane from Singapore. We arrived at 7am obviously too early to check in but the staff did offer us a different room but we decided to have a walk round and wait for our chosen upper floor front opera house view. The room was worth the wait spacious, clean and very quiet. The daily cruise ships did block the view but didn't bother us. We had breakfast in the hotel one morning and there was ample choice of hot or cold food. There are plenty of restaurants and cafés all around serving very good quality food. Lots of shops nearby and very short walk to harbour and opera house. Would definitely recommend this hotel and would stay there if we ever get the chance again!

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Lynn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMHIOldSydney, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Dear Lynn W,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Thank you for your kind words about the hotel, our staff and our breakfast offering.

We trust that you enjoyed your visit to Sydney, and we hope to be able to welcome you back to the hotel again in the future.

Kind regards,

Rob & Team Holiday Inn Old Sydney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2014

We chose the Holiday Inn as it is across from the Overseas Passenger Terminal for cruises. We chose to arrive a day before cruise departure. We had an excellent room 820 with a view of our ship docking ...made it all the more exciting. We arrived a little early so we went off for lunch on the Waterfront docks . On our return our luggage was in our room and we had triple aspect window view around the harbour and the Rocks. Very comfortable room .Hotel is ideally positioned for Rocks ,Bridge , Opera House and Circular Quay .Roof view amazing although only a small space , were lucky to see some fireworks over the harbour . Excellent helpful desk staff very obliging and very used to cruisers. Nothing too much trouble , particularly helpful when I left something in room ,I made a quick call as we were docking and I rushed up to hotel and it was all ready waiting for me at desk . Would stay here again .

Room Tip: Remember your opera house view may be blocked by a large cruise ship . They berth at 5.30am and lea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tardustraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMHIOldSydney, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Dear Tardustraveller,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. How exciting it must have been for you to watch your cruise ship dock right outside of your window prior to your journey!

Thank you for your kind review which the team greatly appreciate.

We trust that you had a lovely cruise and we hope to be able to welcome you back to the hotel again in the future.

Kind regards,

Rob & Team Holiday Inn Old Sydney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2014

This hotel is quite basic in the room amenities but makes up for it with the great location within 5 minutes walk to the opera house and the Bay Bridge.
Restaurants, bars and shops within 1 minute walk - plenty of choice.
The view from the roof terrace pool is amazing.
The staff are also very helpful and attentive. Would stay here again if in the area.

Room Tip: There are floors that have a few stairs between the rooms and the lift. Majority of floors have no s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrighouseJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMHIOldSydney, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Dear BrighouseJim,

Thank you taking the time to review our hotel and for awarding us a five out of five score. We were pleased to read that you enjoyed the local area and your stay in Sydney. We were delighted to read that our staff were of assistance to you and that you found them to be attentive.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us.

Wishing you safe future travels,

Kind regards,

Rob & Team holiday Inn Old Sydney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 8, 2014

It's a chain hotel, but it sure doesn't act like one. Not only is the location excellent, and the building historically interesting, but the staff is exceptionally helpful. A woman at the desk made some copies for me, at no charge. (When does a hotel do THAT?) And Housekeeping called to tell me a small magnifying mirror I had stuck on the bathroom mirror had fallen and broken, offered to find a replacement, and then directed me to where I could find one myself. I was impressed. Someone has done a brilliant job with the staff.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMHIOldSydney, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Dear Lynn B,

Thank you so much for your very kind review of our hotel. It was our pleasure to assist you during your stay with us. We love the title of your review too! Thank you for the positive feedback about our team who are always striving to make a positive guest experience for our customers. We will be sure to pass on your lovely feedback to the team members who assisted you.

Wishing you safe future travels, and thank you once again for choosing to stay with us,

Kind regards,

Rob & Team Holiday Inn Old Sydney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Lovely room, big and clean with wonderful views of Sydney Opera House, (at least until the cruise ships dock). Espresso machine in the room, also selection of tea and hot chocolate. Good standard and selection of toiletries in the bathroom. Lovely fluffy towels, large shower. We didn't book breakfast at the hotel, but plenty of restaurants round about. The hotel does not have a restaurant to dine in the evenings, although you can get room service, and I think snacks in the bar. Great location. Pool quite small, not much to say really. Would visit again, although I think Sydney is greatly over-rated.

Room Tip: We were on the 7th floor, no complaints.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeskyAberdeenshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMHIOldSydney, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Dear PeskyAberdeenshire,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, your positive review is greatly appreciated. We weer pleased that you enjoyed our hotel and that everything which you could expect from your room made your stay so comfortable.

We trust that you enjoyed the rest of your time in Australia.

Kind regards,

Rob & Team Holiday Inn Old Sydney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel last Thursday night for two nights to attend a wedding. We were met at reception with outstanding service and friendly staff. Just couldn't do enough for us. Our room was an executive king and was spacious and comfortable. Unfortunately three cruise ships were docked and blocked our view of the harbour but when they left we had a wonderful view. Only complaint was the shower over the bath which was dated. Bed very comfortable.

We had a very urgent document to scan and email and the receptionist was more than helpful. Very much appreciated. Thank you.

Locality was just by The Rocks. Fantastic restaurants and cafés 2 minutes walk from hotel. Taxis always at hotel entrance should you need one. Overall a very pleasant experience staying at this hotel. Will certainly stay there again.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Grania R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMHIOldSydney, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear Grania R,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We trust that you enjoyed the wedding which you attended in Sydney. It's nice to read that you also got time to explore the local area and enjoy the great views from the hotel.

Thank you for your kind words about our staff, we were delighted that we were of great assistance to you.

We look forwards to being able to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Rob & Team Holiday Inn Old Sydney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
The Russell Hotel
The Russell Hotel
#39 of 179 in Sydney
908 reviews
The Rocks
Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#20 of 179 in Sydney
1,280 reviews
Central Business District
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Old Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Old Sydney

Property: Holiday Inn Old Sydney
Address: 55 George St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > The Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Sydney
#43 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#43 Family Hotel in Sydney
#47 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Old Sydney 4*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Heritage Listed Holiday Inn Old Sydney is one of Sydney's little secrets,uniquely positioned between the Harbour Bridge and Sydney Opera House within the iconic area of The Rocks. Holiday Inn Old Sydney is the closest hotel to the Overseas Passenger Terminal providing a hassle free accommodation option pre and post cruise. The hotel is closely situated to the Circular Quay Ferry and Railway stations also providing easy access to Sydney Airport via the Airtrain. Each of our 176 guestrooms come equipped with a choice of soft & firm pillows, flatscreen TV's, high speed internet access. Enjoy spectacular views to Sydney Harbour or an outlook onto the historic Rocks from the comfort of your room. Stroll down the harbour-side promenade past the museum of Contemporary Art, to lively Circular Quay and experience an excellent selection of restaurants and bars. Here you can catch a ferry to Manly Beach, Watsons Bay, Taronga Zoo or enjoy a fabulous harbour cruise. Holiday Inn Old Sydney is only moments from the majority of Sydney's best attractions and a variety of great shopping options, including the Rocks Markets, Queen Victoria Building, Pitt Street Mall and Oxford Street. Experience spectacular views of Sydney Harbour, the famous Harbour Bridge and the world-acclaimed Opera House from the famous Holiday Inn Old Sydney rooftop, equipped with heated outdoor pool and spa. Holiday Inn Old Sydney also offers a complimentary business centre with computer and internet access to keep you connected whilst away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, IHG, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Old Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Old Sydney Hotel Sydney
Old Sydney Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Sydney
Sydney Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing