We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location and hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Old Sydney
Ranked #44 of 181 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed April 8, 2014

We stayed at this hotel last Thursday night for two nights to attend a wedding. We were met at reception with outstanding service and friendly staff. Just couldn't do enough for us. Our room was an executive king and was spacious and comfortable. Unfortunately three cruise ships were docked and blocked our view of the harbour but when they left we had a wonderful view. Only complaint was the shower over the bath which was dated. Bed very comfortable.

We had a very urgent document to scan and email and the receptionist was more than helpful. Very much appreciated. Thank you.

Locality was just by The Rocks. Fantastic restaurants and cafés 2 minutes walk from hotel. Taxis always at hotel entrance should you need one. Overall a very pleasant experience staying at this hotel. Will certainly stay there again.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Grania R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMHIOldSydney, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2014

Dear Grania R,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We trust that you enjoyed the wedding which you attended in Sydney. It's nice to read that you also got time to explore the local area and enjoy the great views from the hotel.

Thank you for your kind words about our staff, we were delighted that we were of great assistance to you.

We look forwards to being able to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Rob & Team Holiday Inn Old Sydney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,468)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,207 - 1,213 of 2,468 reviews

Reviewed April 7, 2014

Brilliant location!!! Reasonable rates. Rooms are adequate, clean, comfortable beds, small bathrooms. The rooms must be well sound proofed, I didn't hear any noise from other rooms or hallway. Fantastic view of the Opera House and Harbour Bridge, from the roof top pool. Especially pretty at night. Would definitely recommend this hotel. The Rocks is a great area to stay in Sydney.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Astrid_4710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMHIOldSydney, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2014

Dear Astrid_4710,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We weer pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your positive comments which are much appreciated.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us.

Kind regards,

Rob & Team Holiday Inn Old Sydney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014

My husband and I stayed here two nights while laying over from a vacation in Port Douglas. We took a train from the airport and had a 5 minute walk from the train to the hotel. We got off at Circular Quay. We had big luggage and a few carryon's and it was no big deal! This Holiday Inn is at the Rocks close to the Bridge and Opera weekend marktet, lost of pubs, etc. We also walked to Darlington Harbor and took a water ferry to Manly Beach. The water Ferries are walking distance. We had a fantastic time! Saturday night, we decided to go up to the rooftop pool and hot tub and take in the beautiful view! After we got up there, we heard loud bangs. It was an amazing fireworks display over the Opera! Just incredible! Our room had the Port/Opera & Bridge view. The bathroom was small but we didn't care. The room was fine and the bed was excellent! Look no further! This is your hotel!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dalestacey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMHIOldSydney, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2014

Dear DaleStacey,

Thank you for taking the time to post a five star review of our hotel, it is greatly appreciated. It certainly seems as though you saw quite a bit during your time in Sydney and we are glad that you found our location to be so convenient. The fireworks have also been a surprise to us as well! They have not been advertised and are a part of some weekend festivals which have been taking place in Sydney. We are glad that you enjoyed them from our rooftop!

Thank you for choosing to stay with us, we also hope that you enjoyed Port Douglas, it's a wonderful place to visit.

Kind regards,

Rob & Team Holiday Inn Old Sydney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014

We spent 5 nights here 11th March until 16th March 2014 and have mixed feelings about the hotel. Yes, it's in an amazing location (our room overlooked the Harbour Bridge - wonderful) but it is SO tired. The paintwork on the windows behind the double glazing was peeling very badly and looks awful. The extractor fan in the bathroom was on constantly and was extremely noisy - we had to ensure the bathroom door was closed at all times. The rooms are functional and clean but don't expect any luxury. However, on the other hand, the staff were very friendly and helpful.
We had the breakfast on a couple of days and it is of a good quality, however, cafes in the locale do offer better value for money.

Room Tip: We chose a room on the 7th floor as it's quieter away from the traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian&Kathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMHIOldSydney, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2014

Dear Ian & Kathy,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Your constructive feedback is much appreciated.

We are pleased that you enjoyed our hotels location and thank you for you compliments about the room cleanliness and our staff.

We are currently in the process of upgrading parts of the hotel and this will be ongoing over the coming months. Many of the works are internal such as furniture, carpet and air conditioning replacements however we are also working towards renovating the exterior windows as they are heritage listed and require special care. This will be significant work but something which we are committed to completing this year. This will be carried out in conjunction with our current room maintenance program which has includes replacing glazing where necessary to ensure that there is thicker glass to block out any external noise.I apologise that your room was not one which has been completed at this stage.

Just last week we painted the entire restaurant including all of the windows and replaced the carpet. The result has been fantastic and we look forward to continuing to roll out further updates in the coming weeks.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and please accept our apologies,

Kind regards,

Rob & Team Holiday Inn Old Sydney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here 1 night after finishing a cruise. It's located 1 block behind the overseas passenger terminal so very close. It's also in the heart of the rocks for cafes and shopping. Walking distance to geroge street shops and circular quay.

Lobby is massive and has an open fireplace couches and a bar. :-)

The service was amazing. They held our bags from 6am till check in at 2pm. They delivered the bags to the room too.

The room itself was amazing. Very large than expected. Most review say they are small. We had a balcony too overlooking the rocks.

Beds are extremely soft. Pillows are AMAZING. They have soft and firm choices on the beds. The TV is very modern and good quality with fox8 a few others and normal tv. The air conditioning was also amazing. Got the room down to an amazing freezing temperature but could be turned up easily.

Bathroom was large and clean. Bath and shower head were not modern but food spread and very warm

ROOFTOP pool with amazing views of the bridge and the opera house. There is a spa, deck chairs pool towels a bathroom and a phone for room service up at the pool. And it's open till 11pm.

Room service and bars are available look great but didn't use them.

Cons, only 3 towels for 4 people. Outside door didn't lock level 5 not an issue. The pool says heated but don't think it was turned on. It was a 28° day anyway. Nothing major at all. :-)

Would Def recommend.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Josh K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMHIOldSydney, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

Dear Josh K,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Your positive review is greatly appreciated. We were very pleased to read that you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay with us. We also wish to thank you for the pictures which you have shared with others online.

We trust that you enjoyed your visit to Australia.

Kind regards,

Rob & Team Holiday Inn Old Sydney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2014

I spent three nights at this location on a business trip. As many have observed, it is a great location at The Rocks, but location is overrated since sydney has a terrific transportation system. The room felt like an upgraded Motel 6, the bathroom was dated, small and shabby. The room was spartan in its furnishings, limited in size and closet space. The bed was very comfortable and I would have gotten a good night's sleep except for the incessant noise and partying from the street. Service was outstanding and the employees were consistently helpful and polite. There are numerous cafes and restaurants and shops within walking distance on the same street, but many fall into the category of "tourist traps". The main question one has to ask is whether it is worth paying close to $400 a night to stay close to the opera house, quays, etc. Even then it may be possible to get quality accomodations without paying much more. I would shop around and look for the best value.

Room Tip: avoid rooms facing the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank G S s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMHIOldSydney, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

Dear G S s,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and for your kind words about our staff. We apologise for the external noise outside of the hotel which disturbed your sleep. We have been working closely with the local council to address any issues which are raised.

The hotel is currently undergoing some upgrade works which commenced this week and will continue rolling out throughout the year. This will include upgrades to our public areas, restaurant, air conditioning systems and some updating and heavy maintenance to some of our guest rooms. We appreciate your constructive feedback.

We trust that your business trip was a successful one. Thank you for choosing to stay with us.

Kind regards,

Rob & Team Holiday Inn Old Sydney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2014

Excellent location but not at all what I would expect from a Holiday Inn. Frankly, I didn't know they put their name to hotels in this poor condition.

The hotel itself was quirky. Very nice modern bright reception area, with lots of nooks and crannies as you go to the rooms which are dated and in poor condition.

The room I had was very poorly maintained, with various faults, AC broken and noisy and everything else practically falling apart, water on floor of bathroom and light broken. Dirty (not because of daily cleaning so much as the fact that its all worn and needing replacement).
Bed and pillows very good. Everything else bad. Woken up by noise of staff passing by at 6am.

The staff were average (hard to describe, just didn't seem too friendly, didn't try in any way and seemed rushed even though they weren't serving anyone). When I had to raise a fault with the room was completely fobbed off (I suspect they are used to it due to the condition of the rooms and have had all they can take).

Location excellent (including lots of competitors nearby which you might want to try if you intend on spending time in the room), rooftop pool exactly as pictured, lovely with amazing views.

Its not just that its run down and in need of a refurb - its a case that they clearly have spent no money on any general maintenance for years and have had no-one checking anything for the rooms to get into this state.

Room Tip: If you plan to spend time in a room then book a different hotel. Plenty of competitors nearby, a Tra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMHIOldSydney, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2014

Dear Matthew L,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I apologise that you did not find our hotel to be of a suitable condition. We wish to apologise for this. Our hotel is heritage listed and is currently about to undergo several enhancements.

I am pleased to let you know that the hotel and our owners have committed to some of the most comprehensive upgrades to the hotel in many years which commenced last week. We have also recently been audited by AAA who maintained our rating at 4.5 stars as well as an independent company who audits on behalf of IHG who ranked our Holiday Inn well within company standards.

The air conditioning problem of which you have commented upon will be rectified with a full hotel upgrade and replacement which will commence in late June. As of last week we also commenced an upgrade of our restaurant with painting, signage and carpets. In the coming weeks all furniture in our public areas, restaurants and bars will also be replaced along with new floor rugs in the lobby. The hotel will also be conducting upgrades and restorations to the windows externally which are heritage listed.

Our guest rooms are being placed on a very heavy maintenance program floor by floor of which we have just finished level 1. This will address most of the issue which you have commented upon in your review.

I apologise that you believed that our staff did not show the appropriate amount of empathy in regards to your feedback, we are disappointed by this and this is not typical of our team. Thank you for raising this for us to investigate further.

Please accept our apologies once again, we are sorry that we have disappointed you.

Kind regards,

Rob & Team Holiday Inn Old Sydney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#24 of 181 in Sydney
1,333 reviews
The Rocks
Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#29 of 181 in Sydney
4,553 reviews
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Old Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Old Sydney

Address: 55 George St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > The Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Sydney
#34 Family Hotel in Sydney
#43 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#48 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $160 - $407 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Old Sydney 4*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Heritage Listed Holiday Inn Old Sydney is one of Sydney's little secrets,uniquely positioned between the Harbour Bridge and Sydney Opera House within the iconic area of The Rocks. Holiday Inn Old Sydney is the closest hotel to the Overseas Passenger Terminal providing a hassle free accommodation option pre and post cruise. The hotel is closely situated to the Circular Quay Ferry and Railway stations also providing easy access to Sydney Airport via the Airtrain. Each of our 176 guestrooms come equipped with a choice of soft & firm pillows, flatscreen TV's, high speed internet access. Enjoy spectacular views to Sydney Harbour or an outlook onto the historic Rocks from the comfort of your room. Stroll down the harbour-side promenade past the museum of Contemporary Art, to lively Circular Quay and experience an excellent selection of restaurants and bars. Here you can catch a ferry to Manly Beach, Watsons Bay, Taronga Zoo or enjoy a fabulous harbour cruise. Holiday Inn Old Sydney is only moments from the majority of Sydney's best attractions and a variety of great shopping options, including the Rocks Markets, Queen Victoria Building, Pitt Street Mall and Oxford Street. Experience spectacular views of Sydney Harbour, the famous Harbour Bridge and the world-acclaimed Opera House from the famous Holiday Inn Old Sydney rooftop, equipped with heated outdoor pool and spa. Holiday Inn Old Sydney also offers a complimentary business centre with computer and internet access to keep you connected whilst away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Old Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Old Sydney Hotel Sydney
Old Sydney Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Sydney
Sydney Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing