We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Old Sydney
Ranked #41 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed November 12, 2013

We stayed here for two nights in November 2014. The reception desk staff were great. Our room was clean. There was a little bit of noise from the street but it didn't keep us awake. The bed was comfortable. Breakfast is a lovely buffet with an egg station. The staff at the breakfast restaurant were very helpful and pleasant. I had my family meet us in there for Breakfast on the Sunday and the staff could not have been more helpful or accommodating. The pool on the roof has great views of Sydney Harbour. We didn't get to use it but we did go up for a look. Overall it is a pleasure to stay here, we have stayed before and would stay again.

Room Tip: Any room would be good. Higher up gets better views of the Harbour
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tklj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMHIOldSydney, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

Dear tklj,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and for awarding us a five star review. Your very positive comments are greatly appreciated. It is lovely to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We wish you safe future travels and we hope to be able to welcome you back again in the future.

Kind regards,

Rob & Team Holiday Inn Old Sydney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,407)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Old Sydney
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,265 - 1,271 of 2,407 reviews

Reviewed November 9, 2013

As an IHG priority member upgrades are common (Nice) .On this occasion our upgrade gave us a great view over the Opera House and Harbour. The downside was that the Salsa bar across the road stays open till the early hours and without double glazing this is an issue if you want to sleep. We stayed here as a stopover to Queensland and whilst the hotel checkin, room etc were all good the noise levels did not let us have a good sleep. The location is fantastic, the rooms smallish but clean and they have everything you need. No shortage of things to do or sights to see in the location. Ask for a room that is NOT on the street front.

Room Tip: Don't get one on the street front unless you like Salsa and staying up late.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMHIOldSydney, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2013

Dear Feddans,

As a Top Contributor, thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. As an IHG Rewards Club member thank you for your loyalty. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed the hotel and the local area on your way through to QLD. I apologise for the external noise which you have made mention of in your review and that it affected your sleep. We are currently working with the local council with any noise related issues reported.

Kind regards,

Rob & Team Holiday Inn Old Sydney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

I booked a family room in this hotel based on its location and good reviews, and indeed it was a good choice ! The location is just perfect, in the heart of the rocks and 5 minutes walk to the opera house. Stunning view from the rooftop pool of the Opera House, Skyline and Harbor Bridge. The breakfast is just the best ever, with all sorts of food and beverages, and fresh home made fruit juices to start a great day. The staff is pleasant and helpful. I will certainly come back to Sydney and i'll book this hotel again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cecile B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMHIOldSydney, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Dear Cecile B,

As a Senior Reviewer thank you for taking the time to share your experience online. We greatly appreciate your five star review of our hotel. It was great to read that you enjoyed the lovely view from our rooftop and our buffet breakfast offering.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again in the future.

Kind regards,

Rob & Team Holiday Inn Old Sydney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

My second trip in Sydney, I begged our group to book this hotel based solely on it's location. I never knew just how good of a stay it would be! The customer service was fantastic, room was exteremly clean and the view was amazing! Glen was able to rush us a room long before check-in time since we arrived at 6am. He and the rest of the staff were very pleasant and helpful. Hotel is surrounded by beautiful cobblestone alleys and sidewalk cafes. Perfect/unobstructed views of the Opera House, skyline and Harbor Bridge from the pool/hot tub. Great nightclub across the street. We will always stay here when booking in Sydney's city limits!

Room Tip: Rooms to the east can be loud due to the nightclub, but it's not bad. Rooms to the south/west ar...
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank B777fliers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMHIOldSydney, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Dear B777fliers,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and for providing us with a five star review. I was delighted that this was your groups choice of hotel whilst staying in Sydney. We are very lucky to have such a wonderful location here surrounded by so much history and vibrant culture. Thank you for your kind words about our staff and the level of cleanliness in the hotel. We have worked extremely hard over the last 12 months to raise the benchmark in delighting our customers.

In the coming months the hotel will be embarking on further improvements to our product.

Wishing you safe future travels and we hope to be able to welcome you back again in the future.

Kind regards,

Rob & Team Holiday inn Old Sydney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Love the location! Just a walk away from the bridge, opera house and ferries. Pool have an amazing view. I enjoyed The Rocks Market over the weekend, it was just outside the hotel.

Room is good but not great. I love the pillow options, that was very comfortable. However everything else is old. The aircond was not consistent, sometimes it's okay but sometimes it acts up. The deco is not up to date. Sadly, the hotel have no wifi! :(

Room Tip: Get a higher floor for better view of Opera House!
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TkMia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMHIOldSydney, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2013

Dear TkMia,

Congratulations on posting your first review on Tripadvisor. Thank you for sharing your experience with others and for awarding us with a five star review. I am pleased to let you know that our hotel is just about to start work on a full replacement of our heating and airconditioning system. This will provide you , our customers the latest technology in heating and cooling in our guest rooms. We are also about to undertake a lobby re-fresh with new furniture and décor. I am unsure as to why you could not use WIFI, our hotel has been fully equipped with WIFI for several years. The hotel is actually having the WIFI system further upgraded this month to ensure the fastest possible speed and consistent signal. We also offer WIFI in the hotel lobby.

Thank you once again for your review.

Wishing you safe future travels.

Rob & Team Holiday Inn Old Sydney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Great place stay......great location! Will be back in the area in February and hope to stay here again. It is located in the Rocks area near the port.....an excellant place to stay when one plans to get on or off one on the cruise ships

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Sam V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMHIOldSydney, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Dear Sam V,

Congratulations on posting your first review on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your feedback and for awarding us a five star review.

We are delighted that you enjoyed the hotel and look forward to welcoming you back in February.

Kind regards,

Rob & Team Holiday Inn Old Sydney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

By far the best thing about the Hotel is the location, right in the heart of the historic Rocks district, and within an easy walk to Circular Quay and the Opera House.

The room was fairly basic but comfortable. I was surprised there was no mini bar, not that we often use it anyway. The hotel seems to be an older building and a newer building joined together. The two buildings are not exactly on the same level, which means after exiting the lift you need to go down a few stairs into the older section, if that is where your room is.

We had a Harbour view room in the older section. The view was fantastic, but the windows are quite small, which meant you actually had to stand at the window to enjoy the view. Also, the windows had pull down blinds, but not curtains. This meant they didn't do a good job of blocking the morning sun, and we were woken early by the light each day.

Breakfast is good without being outstanding. There is an egg station, which is good, but there are limited other selections, especially in the fruit.

I would definitely recommend the hotel if you are a tourist to Sydney, or especially if you are catching a cruise ship, as the International Cruise Terminal is just across the road from the hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ddkent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMHIOldSydney, Hotel Manger at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Dear Ddkent,

As a Senior Contributor thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Thank you for your comprehensive review. Our location is certainly very handy to Circular Quay and the Overseas Passenger Terminal as you have mentioned. Our Holiday Inn Hotels in Australia do not stock minibar products in the fridge units themselves however we can do so upon request and menus are located in our guest rooms.

As part of the hotels continuous improvement program we have only recently changed our blinds in the majority of our guest rooms. These replaced the older style wooden venetian blinds which we had. I am sorry that you found that they did not block out all of the light to your room.

You are correct in saying that our heritage listed building is split into two parts. The rear part of the hotel originates from the 1800's and the front and side parts of the hotel were built in the early 1980's.

Thank you once again for your positive review.

Kind regards,

Rob & Team Holiday Inn Old Sydney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
The Russell Hotel
The Russell Hotel
#38 of 178 in Sydney
922 reviews
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#19 of 178 in Sydney
1,307 reviews
The Rocks
Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Central Business District
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Old Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Old Sydney

Address: 55 George St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > The Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Sydney
#40 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#43 Family Hotel in Sydney
#48 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $170 - $383 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Old Sydney 4*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Heritage Listed Holiday Inn Old Sydney is one of Sydney's little secrets,uniquely positioned between the Harbour Bridge and Sydney Opera House within the iconic area of The Rocks. Holiday Inn Old Sydney is the closest hotel to the Overseas Passenger Terminal providing a hassle free accommodation option pre and post cruise. The hotel is closely situated to the Circular Quay Ferry and Railway stations also providing easy access to Sydney Airport via the Airtrain. Each of our 176 guestrooms come equipped with a choice of soft & firm pillows, flatscreen TV's, high speed internet access. Enjoy spectacular views to Sydney Harbour or an outlook onto the historic Rocks from the comfort of your room. Stroll down the harbour-side promenade past the museum of Contemporary Art, to lively Circular Quay and experience an excellent selection of restaurants and bars. Here you can catch a ferry to Manly Beach, Watsons Bay, Taronga Zoo or enjoy a fabulous harbour cruise. Holiday Inn Old Sydney is only moments from the majority of Sydney's best attractions and a variety of great shopping options, including the Rocks Markets, Queen Victoria Building, Pitt Street Mall and Oxford Street. Experience spectacular views of Sydney Harbour, the famous Harbour Bridge and the world-acclaimed Opera House from the famous Holiday Inn Old Sydney rooftop, equipped with heated outdoor pool and spa. Holiday Inn Old Sydney also offers a complimentary business centre with computer and internet access to keep you connected whilst away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Old Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Old Sydney Hotel Sydney
Old Sydney Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Sydney
Sydney Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing