We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location, Various mode of transport”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Old Sydney
Ranked #46 of 186 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Located in the Rocks area, 5min away from the ferry terminal & Circular Quay station & 10min walk to the Opera House & botanical garden. Various choices of cafe within 5-10min walk. Near the harbour, so very windy. Nice view of the Opera House & HarbourBridge from the swimming pool level located on the 8th floor. Front desk staffs are friendly & helpful. Rooms are clean, but bathroom pretty small.
Stayed on the side of the hotel facing the main road, so a little noisy in the evening. There is a swimming pool, sundeck, and a small lounge in the lobby. Otherwise, there isn't any other facilities.
Would recommend to friends, and probably will stay at the same hotel if I go to Sydney.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank world_under_my_feet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMHIOldSydney, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Dear 111Jamie111,

Congratulations on posting your first review! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with others. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay here in Sydney. Thank you for your kind words about our staff and the location of the hotel. We also appreciate the photos which you have posted online of the hotel.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us, wishing you safe future travels.

Kind regards,

Rob & Team Holiday Inn Old Sydney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,538)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,396 - 1,402 of 2,539 reviews

Reviewed October 21, 2013

We stayed here for two nights at the end of October and the location is great. We spent the extra for a harbour view and from the sixth floor you could clearly see the Opera House and the Bridge. If you don't take a harbour view room take a trip to the rooftop pool at night because there is something magical about the view when it's all lit up. The front desk staff were very helpful with directions and information on the area. The Rocks area where the hotel is located is a beautiful area that is well worth taking a day to explore.
If you're coming from North America remember you don't just need a plug adaptor you need a convertor that will drop their power from 220 to 110. Without it you will fry anything you plug in.

Room Tip: A harbour view is worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank igloo08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMHIOldSydney, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Dear igloo08,

As a Senior Reviewer thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and for awarding us with a five star score.

It was pleasing to read that you enjoyed your stay here in the rocks area. Thank you for your kind words about the hotel and our staff.

Thank you for posting the tip to others regarding the need for a voltage adaptor for any electrical appliances from overseas.

Wishing you safe future travels, and thank you for choosing to stay with us.

Kind regards,

Rob & Team Holiday Inn Old Sydney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Fantastic location at The Rocks, with many bars & restaurants around. Also within walking distance of attractions Sydney Harbour Bridge & Sydney Opera House. Fantastic view of the harbour from the pool area. Pack your walking shoes, as there is a lot to see within walking distance. Staff are friendly & helpful.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank relaxer24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMHIOldSydney, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Dear relaxer24,

As a Senior Reviewer, thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and for awarding us a five star score. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us, and we hope to be able to welcome you back again in the future.

Kind regards,

Rob & Team Holiday Inn Old Sydney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

I stayled at the Holiday Inn Old Sydney for three nights in mid September. The location was perfect, just a short walk to Circular Quay, Harbour Bridge and the Botanic Gardens. The staff could not have been more helpful, nothing was too much trouble for them. The breakfast buffet was good, but a little on the expensive side given that there are so many cafes within easy walking distance to choose from. My room had a view of the Harbour, but the best views and photographs could be taken from the swimming pool area on the roof of the hotel. I shall certainly pay a further visit to this hotel next time I am in Sydney.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ReindeerSelborne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMHIOldSydney, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2013

Dear ReindeerSelborne,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and for awarding us with a five star score. I was glad to read that you enjoyed the hotels location and that our staff were very helpful.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us, Wishing you safe future travels,

Kind regards,

Rob & Team Holiday Inn Old Sydney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for three nights on our fortieth anniversary trip to Australia. Our room was a little small, but very comfortable and well appointed. The staff was very helpful with directions and area information. The location was ideal to explore circular queue, the opera house, and the botanic gardens to name a few. We would definitely stay here again, and highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Foreranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMHIOldSydney, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2013

Dear Foreranger,

As a Senior Reviewer, thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and for awarding us with a five star review which we greatly appreciate. Congratulations on your Fortieth wedding anniversary too, we were delighted that you chose to spend it here with us in Sydney.

We were pleased to read that our staff were of such great assistance to you.

Wishing you safe future travels, happy anniversary once again.

Kind regards,

Rob & Team Holiday Inn Old Sydney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Our stay in the Holiday Inn Old Sydney was for 4 nights during August. We arrived at the hotel early afternoon and were able to check in to our room straight away. The reception desk staff were friendly and helpful.

The hotel itself is showing it's age and is really in need of refurbishment. Around the corridors on the floors there were bits of paint and plaster that have chipped off the walls. Our room was pleasant enough but again was in need of some redecorating and modernising. The windows could not be opened and the Venetian blinds were cracked with slats missing in places. The bathroom was quite small (not a full sized bath) and the ceiling was very low. This meant for I would be an inch away from the ceiling when standing in the shower (I am 6ft tall). The hotel does have a rooftop pool although we thought this was very small compared to the pictures on the internet. It was also freezing cold whilst we were there so we didn't use the pool. Pool towels are available for use.

When we checked out we were surprised to be asked to pay a $25 charge. Not having had any room service or used the Wifi or other facilities I queried this. The receptionist immediately dropped the charge but would not explain how it came to be on my bill.

On the plus side the hotel is in a good central location for the tourist. The Rocks itself is not great lacking many good shops and restaurants however you are close to Circular Quay so can easily travel to other parts of the city by boat, bus, or train.

We would highly recommend visiting the Opera House, Watsons Bay, Taronga Zoo, Manly, Bronte, and Darling Harbour. A highlight of our trip was going to Bronte early in the morning and having breakfast at one of the small cafes. We then walked along the coastal path from Bronte to Bondi, watching the surf and enjoying the views. We then caught the bus back from Bondi to Circular Quay. We also had a surfing lesson at Manly beach which was great fun but hard work in the waves - satisfying when you manage to stand up on your board though!

If you have a few hours to spare we would recommend catching the ferry out to Watsons Bay. Grab some fish and chips and sit on the beach with an amazing view of the Sydney skyline. There are also some lovely little cafes and shops to wander around. The ferry ride itself is stunning with views of the city, the bridge, and the Opera House.

We will be returning to Sydney but would probably not be staying at the Holiday Inn Old Sydney again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank waby1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMHIOldSydney, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2013

Dear waby1234,

Thank you for taking the time to post your very comprehensive review. I was pleased to read that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful.

Your constructive comments about the condition of the hotel are also appreciated. I apologise if your room was not maintained to our usual high standard. We are pleased to let you know that the majority of the venetian blinds in the hotel were replaced in September and our guest corridors are half way through being repainted as we speak. We have also replaced all of the lights in our guest rooms to new brighter LED bulbs. These have certainly made a difference to the presentation of our rooms.

We have investigated the extra charge which was initially placed onto your room and found it to be an error when positing a carpark charge for a room with a similar surname. I apologise for this mistake once again and for the lack of explanation from the staff member.

Thank you once again for your review and for posting the great photo from the roof top.

Kind regards,

Rob & Team Holiday Inn Old Sydney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

When we 1st entered the hotel we were impressed with the lobby and the atrium ceiling, unexpected from the outside. Our family of five (2 adults, 3 children) arrived early to the hotel, no problems, the friendly and helpful front desk staff looked after our luggage, gave us a map and some helpful advice as to where we could get lunch, as well as organised better room confirgurations. When we arrived back later in the afternoon our luggage was up in our rooms. We were on level 5 looking over a quiet lane and it was very quiet. Beds were comfy and we liked the pillow options. The bathroom is very dated and small but the rooms were a good size. Plenty of places to eat or takeaway close by and very easy walk to Circular Quay and the Opera House - most importantly an excellent location to see the cruise ships come in (from the top of the building) and very easy walk to board the ship. We had a late check out and breakfast included in our package and I can thoroughly recommend this. Breakfast included everything, very good. I would certainly stay here again, best location in Sydney, friendly straff, comfortable rooms.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jayne101_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMHIOldSydney, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Dear Jayne101_12,

As a Senior Contributor thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are very appreciative of your five star review which you have given us. I was delighted that your family had such an enjoyable stay with us and that our staff were able to make your stay as smooth and stress free as possible.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope to be able to welcome you back to the hotel again in the future,

Kind regards,

Rob & Team Holiday Inn Old Sydney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#29 of 186 in Sydney
1,367 reviews
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#31 of 186 in Sydney
4,696 reviews
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Old Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Old Sydney

Address: 55 George St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > The Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Sydney
#34 Family Hotel in Sydney
#48 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $188 - $396 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Old Sydney 3.5*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Heritage Listed Holiday Inn Old Sydney is one of Sydney's little secrets,uniquely positioned between the Harbour Bridge and Sydney Opera House within the iconic area of The Rocks. Holiday Inn Old Sydney is the closest hotel to the Overseas Passenger Terminal providing a hassle free accommodation option pre and post cruise. The hotel is closely situated to the Circular Quay Ferry and Railway stations also providing easy access to Sydney Airport via the Airtrain. Each of our 176 guestrooms come equipped with a choice of soft & firm pillows, flatscreen TV's, high speed internet access. Enjoy spectacular views to Sydney Harbour or an outlook onto the historic Rocks from the comfort of your room. Stroll down the harbour-side promenade past the museum of Contemporary Art, to lively Circular Quay and experience an excellent selection of restaurants and bars. Here you can catch a ferry to Manly Beach, Watsons Bay, Taronga Zoo or enjoy a fabulous harbour cruise. Holiday Inn Old Sydney is only moments from the majority of Sydney's best attractions and a variety of great shopping options, including the Rocks Markets, Queen Victoria Building, Pitt Street Mall and Oxford Street. Experience spectacular views of Sydney Harbour, the famous Harbour Bridge and the world-acclaimed Opera House from the famous Holiday Inn Old Sydney rooftop, equipped with heated outdoor pool and spa. Holiday Inn Old Sydney also offers a complimentary business centre with computer and internet access to keep you connected whilst away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Old Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Old Sydney Hotel Sydney
Old Sydney Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Sydney
Sydney Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing