We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Is Gold” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Old Sydney

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Old Sydney
Ranked #46 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Salmiyah, Kuwait
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Old Is Gold”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We were there in July , we found the location excellent, very near to Sydney harbour, we were a family of 4 & had adjoining rooms, spacious & excellent views from the rooms overlooking the street. The hop on hop off Bus stops just in front of our hotel. The breakfast was excellent & the staff friendly. The price for that spot was unbelievably fair.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Balwant63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RSDarwin, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Dear Balwant63,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Thank you for your very kind and fair review of our hotel. I love the title that you gave your review.

I was happy to read that you and your family truly enjoyed the hotel and thank you for sharing some of your photos with us online.

We hope to be able to welcome you back to stay in Sydney again in the future.

Kind regards,

Rob & Team Holiday Inn Old Sydney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,007 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    599
    963
    323
    86
    36
See reviews for
451
924
116
192
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (526)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel form 1st-5th August. We had booked about a week beforehand and if I'm honest we had a better stay than we were expecting! The location is perfect for the Harbour Bridge and for Circular Quay, the staff are helpful and friendly and give the impression that they actually care about their guests. One of the desk staff even pulled out a whole bundle of chargers to see if there was one to fit our camera as we had forgotten to bring ours with us!

We arrived early in the evening and there were quite a few people checking in infront of us, but everyone was dealt with quickly and efficiently.

Our room was lovely. It was clean, comfortable and, on the whole, quiet. The only time there was a bit of noise was about 6am when the rubbish was being collected from the street outside our window.

We had breakfast on 2 of the mornings we were there as we were going out on trips and were being collected early. There was a large selection and everything remained topped up.

The hotel is ideally placed for the best of Sydney. We'll certainly stay there next time we're in town!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HorseyGirlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RSDarwin, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Dear HorsieGirlie,

As a Senior Contributor, thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and for awarding us a with a five star review. I was absolutely delighted to read that the hotel exceeded your expectations. I have the pleasure of leading a very genuine customer focussed team and your positive feedback is greatly appreciated.

Thank you once again fo staying with us, we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again in the future.Wishing you the best of luck in 2013.

KInd regards,

Rob & Team Holiday Inn Old Sydney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

All I can say is fantastic, the hotel has the best location ever. Sydney is a beautiful, amazing city. The hotel complements the city perfectly,nice rooms(bathroom a bit small and bath not big enough) but sleeping area great. Really pleasant staff especially reception they were always happy to help you in any way they could. The roof top pool with views of opera house and bridge just top it all off. Can't recommend this hotel and Sydney enough.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank D_DNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RSDarwin, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Dear D_DNewcastle,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Thank you for your very complimentary review of our hotel and for recommending our hotel to others. We absolutely loved the title of your review.

We are glad that you enjoyed your time in Sydney and hope to be able to welcome you back again in the future.

Kind regards,

Rob & Team Holiday Inn Old Sydney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Location, Brilliant, right in the heart of the Rocks. Some minor issues I encountered:

1. Windows in the room where the old sash type windows and rattled all night long even with the slightest gust of wind. Some rubber wedges would have fixed that problem. The maintenance guy used folded cardboard but it wasn't very effective.
2. No restaurant but that is not a major issue because there are a lot of great places to eat in the Rocks.
3. Noisy air conditioning.
4. Snacks are available in the Lobby Bar but mine came uncooked.

Not all bad news, the bed was awesome and the staff friendly.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Capt_Camper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RSDarwin, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Capt_Camper,

As a Senior Contributor thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I was pleased to read that you found our staff to be friendly and that your bed was 'awesome.'

I am pleased to let you know that in the coming months the hotel will be carrying out a full modernisation of the cooling and heating systems in the hotel which should rectify the issue which you have kindly raised.

We are limited at the hotel to modify the windows to the guest rooms as we are a Heritage listed building. In light of your feedback, I have shared your feedback with our maintenance team for further investigation as it appears as though this may be an easy matter to resolve. Thank you for bringing it to our attention.

I wish to apologise for your bar snacks, I have spoken with our Head Chef who has followed up with his team. Once again I apologise for any inconvenience.

Kind regards,

Robert Stewart
Hotel Manager
Holiday Inn Old Sydney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haslett, Michigan
Level Contributor
126 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Location can't be beat and the rooftop hot tub is nice too. Rooms are ordinary and overpriced. We asked for a chair and were told our price point room didn't have one... I'm embarrassed to say how much we paid for this room...they did bring us a hair. One. ...the staff were indifferent and the breakfast at 27.00 was ordinary. You can pay five less if you tell reserve the night before --what a joke. Stay here only if you so love the location you can't go elsewhere. Go to other places nearby for breakfast that is cheaper and great.
On the positive the rooms are well sound proofed though our friends said partiers on the side street kept them up after 2 AM.

Room Tip: The higher the better. After about four floor you can have a great view, of the bridge and the Oper...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RSDarwin, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Kathleen G,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am glad that you enjoyed the hotels location and rooftop area. We appreciate your constructive feedback and acknowledge that we have clearly not met your expectations in relation to the hotels pricing and product. Our ihg.com website always offers the best possible prices guaranteed. It is currently a peak season here in Sydney and our prices have been very competitive in the market. I am sorry that you did not believe this to be the case.

We have been offering the discounted breakfast rate as a Holiday Inn " Sweet Deal " on the day of check-in as a special promotion, I am sorry that you thought that this was a "joke" as you have commented, however I was pleased to read that you found alternate breakfast options nearby.

Thank you for staying with us and for providing us with your feedback.

Kind regards,

Rob & Team Holiday Inn Old Sydney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
511 reviews
181 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 295 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Overview: The Holiday Inn (The Rocks) is one of the best locations for being centrally located to all the key sites around Sydney Harbor (Pubs, Restaurants, Public Transit, and Opera House/Bridge) making it our Top Choice whenever in town. When you add the hospitality of the staff and the great continental breakfast (negotiate this in the room rate) you cannot go wrong in basing out of here for seeing Sydney. Rooms are comfortable.

Internet will cost you (so be ready) and the hotel is an older property given its location but that is what we find charming about it. If you want new, consider the Marriott downtown, but I found the hotel to be quite busy. There is no gym (advertised as off property facility) and did not visit -- we walked over 6 miles a day so got plenty of exercise.

The hotel is older and the rooms are smaller (in the old wing) and if you want a Harbor View room make sure to ask when booking – we always stay in the older wing as it is cheaper and we go to the rooftop pool for the Harbor View as it is one of the best in town, especially at night. The bar serves great drinks, and we found the cost of well drinks to be significantly cheaper than what you can find in the pubs….while in the pubs, we drank the beer and experienced the great hospitality of Australia. We had our dinner meals in the pubs as a great selection and prices compared to local restaurants in The Rocks. For lunch a Meat Pie (try one) was our staple along with a Schooner of local ale. We will be back.

Tip (s): Ask for breakfast when you book your room as a great selection to choose from (it is the same every day); want a harbor view there are rooms, so ask for them; the 1,2 and 7-day Combo Ferry/Bus/Rail passes are great so do not book a Harbor Tour to see the sites, just take the ferry as it goes all over the harbor; on Sunday you can buy an all-day Bus/Ferry/Rail pass for $2.50; want to get up close and personal with a Koala go to Featherdales (check the website) and not the Zoo. For Australia stuff go to Paddy’s Market (Chinatown) or The Rocks Market on Saturday and Sundays only.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FoxTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RSDarwin, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear FoxTraveler,

As a Top Contrubutor and return guest to the hotel, thank you for your comments and loyalty to our hotel. I was please to read that you enjoyed your stay as much as your last visit in 2007. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed our hospitality.

Your review was very comprehensive and fair. The comments which you have shared about the local area are very thorough and I am sure that your tips will come in handy for other travellers.

Thank you once again for choosing to stay with us, we hope to be able to welcome you back to Sydney again in the future.

Kind regards,

Rob & Team Holiday Inn Old Sydney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

I have stayed at this Hotel before but this time I asked to be on a higher level due to projected noise from traffic and market. The room on the 8th floor was very small and the noise from the outside was still there. Staff were friendly and obliging. The rate for the Friday and Saturday was outrageously high considering that the Sunday rate was half the other one.

Room Tip: Be careful when asking for a room on the upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank L80n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RSDarwin, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear L80n,

Congratulations on posting your first review on Trip Advisor. I see that you have stayed with us here previously, thank you for your loyalty.

I was disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your stay with us due to the external noise. We are continuing our discussions with the local council to find a suitable solution to the matter. I apologise that this noise disturbed your sleep.

The accommodation rates here at the hotel are dynamic and move up and down according to demand. This is the same model which airlines use when you purchse a ticket. With so many major sporting events and festivals on, Sydney has seen a large demand for accommodation on Friday and Saturday nights. This has particularly been the case over the past few months. Our www.ihg.com website guarantees to offer the lowest possible rate available to our customers. Our advance purchase rate always offers great value.

Thank you once again for taking the time to share your feedback.

Kind regards,

Rob & Team Holiday Inn Old Sydney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection
The Rocks
The Russell Hotel
The Russell Hotel
#34 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 stars 771 reviews
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#27 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 stars 1,104 reviews
Central Business District
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Old Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Old Sydney

Property: Holiday Inn Old Sydney
Address: 55 George St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > The Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Sydney
#43 Family Hotel in Sydney
#44 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#48 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Old Sydney 4*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Heritage Listed Holiday Inn Old Sydney is one of Sydney's little secrets,uniquely positioned between the Harbour Bridge and Sydney Opera House within the iconic area of The Rocks. Holiday Inn Old Sydney is the closest hotel to the Overseas Passenger Terminal providing a hassle free accommodation option pre and post cruise. The hotel is closely situated to the Circular Quay Ferry and Railway stations also providing easy access to Sydney Airport via the Airtrain. Each of our 176 guestrooms come equipped with a choice of soft & firm pillows, flatscreen TV's, high speed internet access. Enjoy spectacular views to Sydney Harbour or an outlook onto the historic Rocks from the comfort of your room. Stroll down the harbour-side promenade past the museum of Contemporary Art, to lively Circular Quay and experience an excellent selection of restaurants and bars. Here you can catch a ferry to Manly Beach, Watsons Bay, Taronga Zoo or enjoy a fabulous harbour cruise. Holiday Inn Old Sydney is only moments from the majority of Sydney's best attractions and a variety of great shopping options, including the Rocks Markets, Queen Victoria Building, Pitt Street Mall and Oxford Street. Experience spectacular views of Sydney Harbour, the famous Harbour Bridge and the world-acclaimed Opera House from the famous Holiday Inn Old Sydney rooftop, equipped with heated outdoor pool and spa. Holiday Inn Old Sydney also offers a complimentary business centre with computer and internet access to keep you connected whilst away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Old Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Old Sydney Hotel Sydney
Old Sydney Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Sydney
Sydney Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing