We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a city stay in Sydney”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Holiday Inn Old Sydney
Ranked #43 of 177 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Daintree
Level Contributor
88 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Perfect for a city stay in Sydney”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

The perfect location in Sydney, in The Rocks, close to the Harbour and handy to most of Sydney's attractions. Also very close to lots of great restaurants, pubs and cafes plus public transport.
The service was excellent and friendly and the breakfasts plentiful and delicious. A juicer and eggs to order are a real bonus in big hotels.
The rooms are older, as expected, but we had an upper floor with harbour views, which was lovely. The views from the rooftop are spectacular.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank redmill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RSDarwin, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear redmill,

As a Senior Contributor thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Your positive reviews about our hotel staff and our breakfast product is sincerely appreciated.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us, wishing you safe future travels,

Kind regards,

Rob & Team Holiday Inn Old Sydney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    733
    1,116
    361
    89
    40
See reviews for
550
1,073
133
223
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (598)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

If you're looking for a resort where you can stay on property and be served, this is not for you. But if you want to be in the perfect location to explore one of the most beautiful cities in the world, there may be no better location. A short walk from the train station and the ferry terminal, you can get anywhere from here. And being in the heart of the Rocks area, there is no shortage of exploring to be done right outside the hotel door. The street market, the shops, the restaurants, the historic pubs, and the scenery all team up to make this one of the best places to stay in Sydney.

The rooms are a bit dated, but clean, and the service is adequate if not 5-star quality. All told, I will staty here again the next time I find myself in Sydney.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank wheresthesalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RSDarwin, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear wheresthesalt,

Thankyou for taking the time to review our hotel. Your review as very honest and is much appreciated. I was happy to read that you found our location to be such a positive part of your stay to Sydney. The hotel is certainly very handy to the local ferry and train system which makes this part of Sydney so accessible. I was also pleased to read that if you were to travel back to Sydney in the future, that you would stay here again. Thankyou for such a compliment, and we would like to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel.

Kind regards,

Rob & Team Holiday Inn Old Sydney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

This hotel is best known for it's location . The roof top terrace has amazing views of the Opera house and the harbour bridge. Across the road the steps lead to harbour , the hotel is in the Rocks area of Sydney which hosts a bi-weekly market and great bars and restaurants.
The hotel itself is fine .Rooms are average a bit aged but they have everything you need. Staff are friendly and helpful . The breakfast is great .
It is a good hotel , nothing fancy but 10 out of 10 for loaction . I would stay there again.

Room Tip: great place to book for new year as you can watch the fire works from the roof terrace. Ask for top...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mairead S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RSDarwin, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Mairead S,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We sincerely appreciate your five out of five review which you have given us. It was fantastic read that you enjoyed the great location of our hotel and that you found our staff to be so helpful. Thank you for also taking the time to review our breakfast offering here at the hotel.

Perhaps on your next visit to Australia you will be able to spend a New Years Eve taking in the fireworks from our rooftop.

Kind regards,

Rob & Team Holiday Inn Old Sydney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We travelled from the airport on the train to circular Quay at 10 in the morning, and walked the few streets to the hotel. The staff were exceptional and stored our luggage while we went out sight seeing. We were 4 hours early but they let us book in earlier when the room was ready. The room overlooked circular Quay so we could see our ship dock next morning so close we were amazed. We also had view of the Sydney Harbour Bridge and the Opera House but the 360 degree view from the pool roof top were million dollar views. Our room was a good size and lacked nothing, very clean and a very comfortable bed. The ensuite bathroom was a plus.
During our stay at the hotel the staff dealt with our enquiries and needs really well, including the bar staff who were helpful and knowledgable on the history of the hotel and site. We used our lap top to get our mail using the 15 minutes free wifi and uploaded photos to send to family. Check-out was quick and efficient and we were able to wait in the lounge until we could check in for our cruise. We will definitely stay again.

Room Tip: We were on a fairly high level and had no problem with street or harbour noise at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kevlindabond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RSDarwin, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear kevlindabond,

Congratulations on submitting your second review on Trip Advisor. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. It must have been very special to see your ship dock right outside of your hotel window! Your kind words about our hotel and staff are sincerely appreciated.

Thank you for our five out of five score, we are delighted that you rated your experience so positively.

The team wish you safe future travels, and we hope to be able to welcome you back to the hotel again in the future.

Kind regards,

Rob & Team Holiday Inn Old Sydney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
218 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

We arrived in Sydney one early fall evening and the first thing I wanted to see was the much talked about view. It did not disappoint. The Bridge is on one side the Harbor and Opera House on the other. There were also two occasions where I needed assistance, once with the internet and once with a sewing project and both times, the staff was very helpful. We did not partake in the food at this location but breakfast smelled good. We chose to buy juice, fruit and muffins at a local store and use the in room refrigerator for breakfast and then splurge on lunch and/or dinner. We highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dsazimm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RSDarwin, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Dear dsazimm,

Congratulations on completing our 900th review, and thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with others.

Your very kind words about the hotel are much appreciated and I was delighted to read that you had such a great visitor experience in Sydney.

It was als nice to read from your other reviews that you had a nice time in Cairns and at Ayers Rock.

Wishing you safe future travels,

Kind regards,

Rob & Team Holiday Inn Old Sydney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
66 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

The hotel is perfectly located in The Rocks so its easy to get to from the airport and to travel round Sydney. The staff were very friendly and always had time to chat to our son and of course the view from the pool was spectacular. The pool area is not attended and the water a little cold but still welcome after a day in Sydney. We had breakfast, which was again good with a wide choice of food and attentive staff. There is only a bar menu for evening food but loads of places nearby to eat.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank therewasanoldlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RSDarwin, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Dear stewart w,

As a Senior Contributor, thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are delighted that you scored us a five out of five rating based on your stay with us.

Thank you for your kind words in relation to our staff and breakfast experience.

With so many choices of accomodation in Sydney, thank you for choosing to stay with us. We hope to be able to welcome you back again in future.

Kind regards,

Rob & Team Holiday Inn Old Sydney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Everything was excellent, but the bar was poorly attended, despite frequent calls to reception. Rooms were spacious and the beds were very comfortable it is in a wonderful location, next to circular key, Sydney Harbor Bridge and the Opera House. Easy access to all transport so you can get around Sydney very easily. The rooftop pool is wonderful and everyone should take a look. To conclude, if you're willing to pay over the odds in Sydney then is fantastic, brilliant location.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank davfog35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RSDarwin, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
DearDavoAussieland22,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Firstly I wish to apologise for the lack of service which you received at the hotel bar. I have addressed this with the F&B Management team and we have recently adjusted the staffing levels in this area. Thank you for your constructive feedback in regards to this. I was however pleased to read that you found the rest of your stay to be 'excellent'.

With so many choices of accommodation in Sydney, thank you for choosing to stay with us.

Kind regards,

Rob & Team Holiday Inn Old Sydney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
The Russell Hotel
The Russell Hotel
#35 of 177 in Sydney
902 reviews
The Rocks
Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#19 of 177 in Sydney
1,269 reviews
Central Business District
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#24 of 177 in Sydney
4,261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Old Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Old Sydney

Property: Holiday Inn Old Sydney
Address: 55 George St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > The Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Sydney
#41 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#43 Family Hotel in Sydney
#47 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Old Sydney 4*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Heritage Listed Holiday Inn Old Sydney is one of Sydney's little secrets,uniquely positioned between the Harbour Bridge and Sydney Opera House within the iconic area of The Rocks. Holiday Inn Old Sydney is the closest hotel to the Overseas Passenger Terminal providing a hassle free accommodation option pre and post cruise. The hotel is closely situated to the Circular Quay Ferry and Railway stations also providing easy access to Sydney Airport via the Airtrain. Each of our 176 guestrooms come equipped with a choice of soft & firm pillows, flatscreen TV's, high speed internet access. Enjoy spectacular views to Sydney Harbour or an outlook onto the historic Rocks from the comfort of your room. Stroll down the harbour-side promenade past the museum of Contemporary Art, to lively Circular Quay and experience an excellent selection of restaurants and bars. Here you can catch a ferry to Manly Beach, Watsons Bay, Taronga Zoo or enjoy a fabulous harbour cruise. Holiday Inn Old Sydney is only moments from the majority of Sydney's best attractions and a variety of great shopping options, including the Rocks Markets, Queen Victoria Building, Pitt Street Mall and Oxford Street. Experience spectacular views of Sydney Harbour, the famous Harbour Bridge and the world-acclaimed Opera House from the famous Holiday Inn Old Sydney rooftop, equipped with heated outdoor pool and spa. Holiday Inn Old Sydney also offers a complimentary business centre with computer and internet access to keep you connected whilst away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, IHG, Hotwire, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Old Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Old Sydney Hotel Sydney
Old Sydney Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Sydney
Sydney Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing