We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Old Sydney
Ranked #42 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed April 20, 2013

The hotel is pretty average as far as Holiday Inns go, with rooms ok but bathrooms a little tired, but the location and (if you are lucky) the views of the Sydney Harbour bridge make up for those shortcomings. Staff are a mixed bunch - some exceptionally polite and helpful, others quite perfunctory in their dealings - you almost feel as if they have been told what questions to ask but not trained to actually wait for, or listen to, the answers! Having checked the prices I used points rather than money as it's an expensive location, but compared to the other hotels in that location it is reasonable value for money.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IMUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RSDarwin, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2013

Dear IMUK,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Old Sydney and for sharing your review as a Top Contributor. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed the hotels location and views of the Harbour. I appreciate your honest and constructive feedback about some of your interactions with our staff. I apologise if you left with a mixed impression. We will certainly take this onboard and discuss with the management team as to how we can deliver a more consistent customer experience.

Thank you once again for your feedback.

Kind regards,

Rob & Team Holiday Inn Old Sydney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,453)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,466 - 1,472 of 2,454 reviews

Reviewed April 20, 2013

We had the pleasure of staying a night at this hotel recently following a city wedding. The hotel is in an old building, well located in the centre of The Rocks and has quite a bit of character. We had a very restful night - bed was comfortable, we had a choice of pillows (firm/soft), room was quiet and clean and staff very helpful. Our only comment is the rooms are small - being an old building this is understandable and did not impact on our stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lozzdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RSDarwin, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2013

Dear lozzdog,

As a Senior Contributor, thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I was delighted to read the title of your review as well as your positive feedback. Thank you for the five out of five rating. I am pleased that you found our hotel to be so relaxing for you. Your positive comments about the friendliness of the staff, the cleanliness of the hotel and our location in the Rocks is greatly appreciated.

Thank you once again for choosing to stay with us. I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future.

Kind regards,

Rob & Team Holiday Inn Old Sydney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Really, the main reason you'd stay here is the location. It's totally perfect and close to the tourist attractions in Sydney. You can see the opera house and bridge from the rooftop pool, which is pretty amazing for the price. This hotel feels hidden away but yet close to everything.

We had some issues with the cleanliness of our room/bathroom (mainly mold), but were not really there long enough for it to bother us or to complain. The rest of the room seemed pretty clean. The rooms were quiet and large for a city.

Room Tip: Rooms on top floors have better views (obviously). Make sure to ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nickisee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RSDarwin, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2013

Dear nickisee,

As a Top Contributor, thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I trust that you enjoyed your visit to Sydney. Your comments about the location of our hotel and the rooftop views are much appreciated. I wish to apologise for the disappointing bathroom cleanliness which you provided us feedback about. This is ceratinly not the kind of high standard which our hotel upholds. I have shared your comments with the hotel Housekeeping Manager to follow up with the team.

Wishing you safe future travels,thank you once again for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Old Sydney.

Kind regards,

Rob & Team Holiday Inn Old Sydney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Stayed here for two nights prior to a cruise. Its location to the cruise terminal is great as we could walk the short distance with our luggage . Reception staff were very pleasant and helpful at all times. Our room for three was very spacious ,clean and well appointed. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this great location . The views from the rooftop of the harbour bridge and opera house we're quite spectacular. There is a large choice of eating places round about to suit all budgets.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DCH52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RSDarwin, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Dear DCH52,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review of our hotel. I am very happy to read that you were ' thoroughly ' enjoyed your stay with us.

Your review was very comprehensive, thank you for sharing this with others to read.

I see that from your other reviews that you had an opportunity to enjoy many of Sydney's other tourist areas. I trust you had a great time. I also hope that your cruise around the Pacific was enjoyable.

Thank you once again, we hope to welcome you back to Sydney again in the future.

Kind regards,

Rob & Team Holiday Inn Old Sydney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We requested an early check in when we made our reservation as our flight landed in the morning and we were pleased to be able to get into our room at 10.30am. We stayed for 4 nights. The hotel is in a great location. The room was fine, there was a self service laundry which was very useful, the free internet access was very limited and only available from the reception area. We didn't have breakfast in the hotel but walked round to the Opera kitchen which was pleasant and much cheaper. The pool looks much better in the picture than in reality and it was a bit too windy to use while we were there, however, the view is good!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WPCJF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RSDarwin, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Dear WPCJF,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I was happy to read that we were able to facilitate your early check-in when you arrived at the hotel. I understand what a relief it is when you can go straight to your room after a long flight. It was also positive to read that you enjoyed the hotels location, the self-service laundry facilities and the great views from our hotel.

I trust that you enjoyed your time in Sydney and your subsequent holiday to the Blue Mountains and Tasmania.

Kind regards,

Rob & Team Holiday Inn Old Sydney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

This is a great location Sydney but it was very expensive for a Holiday Inn. My partner and I were lucky enough to use points for our three night stay, otherwise, would not have paid A$350 per night here. We were upgraded to a king size harbour view which during certain months would have been great. Be warned that if you do book a harbour room (especially if your paying the full rate) to make sure it isn't cruise ship season. Our room would have had a great view of the Opera House but every night there was a big cruise ship in the way. Be sure to check the cruise schedule so your not disappointed. Other then that, the room was very satisfactory...the bed was very comfortable and the room was overall good. The pool on the roof is great. The area is great with lots of restaurants and pubs and on the weekends, it's right next to the Rocks Markets. There is a bit of noise on the streets but usually winds down not so late.

Room Tip: Check cruise ship schedule before booking so you're not getting a room with a boat view instead...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smattox114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RSDarwin, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Dear smattox114,

As a Senior Contributor, I wish to thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I was delighted to read that overall you were happy and comfortable in your room. I wish to also thank you for your positive feeback about the hotels location and roof top pool area

I apologise that your view was obstructed by one of the visiting cruiseliners, unfortunately this is something out of the hotels control. Hopefully the great view from the hotel pool area which you experienced helped to make up for this.

Thank you once again for your feedback.

Wishing you safe future travels.

Kind regards,

Rob & Team Holiday Inn Old Sydney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

I booked a room at this hotel from a third party website. I called up directly to the hotel around 7:30pm to check if my booking is on their system. My enquiry was handled by a lady who was speaking to me rudely. I was so looking forward to stay at this hotel but because the first-point-contact was not very welcoming, i'm very disappointed. I hope i will get a better service when i get there...

Not yet stayed.. Just wanna share my booking and enquIry experience.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Service
Thank Joy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RSDarwin, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Dear Joy J,

Thank you for providing your feedback to the hotel. Firstly I would like to apologise for the lack of customer service which you received last night over the phone. I have investigated further and I can confirm that a team member from our Central Reservations centre has spoken to you about your booking. Unfortunately this was not a staff member from our hotel here in Sydney and I wish to apologise for our colleague’s lack of care with your enquiry. I have shared your feedback with the relevant team for follow up.

This is certainly not the high level of service which the team are regularly complimented for at this hotel. I can assure you that the team here will make every effort to ensure that you have a positive experience when you stay at our hotel later in the year.

I apologise once again on behalf of the team.

Kind regards,

Rob & Team Holiday Inn Old Sydney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#23 of 179 in Sydney
1,324 reviews
The Rocks
Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#29 of 179 in Sydney
4,517 reviews
Central Business District
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney
The Rocks
The Russell Hotel
The Russell Hotel
#47 of 179 in Sydney
935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Old Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Old Sydney

Address: 55 George St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > The Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Sydney
#41 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#43 Family Hotel in Sydney
#48 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $184 - $428 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Old Sydney 4*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Heritage Listed Holiday Inn Old Sydney is one of Sydney's little secrets,uniquely positioned between the Harbour Bridge and Sydney Opera House within the iconic area of The Rocks. Holiday Inn Old Sydney is the closest hotel to the Overseas Passenger Terminal providing a hassle free accommodation option pre and post cruise. The hotel is closely situated to the Circular Quay Ferry and Railway stations also providing easy access to Sydney Airport via the Airtrain. Each of our 176 guestrooms come equipped with a choice of soft & firm pillows, flatscreen TV's, high speed internet access. Enjoy spectacular views to Sydney Harbour or an outlook onto the historic Rocks from the comfort of your room. Stroll down the harbour-side promenade past the museum of Contemporary Art, to lively Circular Quay and experience an excellent selection of restaurants and bars. Here you can catch a ferry to Manly Beach, Watsons Bay, Taronga Zoo or enjoy a fabulous harbour cruise. Holiday Inn Old Sydney is only moments from the majority of Sydney's best attractions and a variety of great shopping options, including the Rocks Markets, Queen Victoria Building, Pitt Street Mall and Oxford Street. Experience spectacular views of Sydney Harbour, the famous Harbour Bridge and the world-acclaimed Opera House from the famous Holiday Inn Old Sydney rooftop, equipped with heated outdoor pool and spa. Holiday Inn Old Sydney also offers a complimentary business centre with computer and internet access to keep you connected whilst away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Old Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Old Sydney Hotel Sydney
Old Sydney Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Sydney
Sydney Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing