We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location. Location. Location.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Holiday Inn Old Sydney
Ranked #43 of 177 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
89 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Location. Location. Location.”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Really, the main reason you'd stay here is the location. It's totally perfect and close to the tourist attractions in Sydney. You can see the opera house and bridge from the rooftop pool, which is pretty amazing for the price. This hotel feels hidden away but yet close to everything.

We had some issues with the cleanliness of our room/bathroom (mainly mold), but were not really there long enough for it to bother us or to complain. The rest of the room seemed pretty clean. The rooms were quiet and large for a city.

Room Tip: Rooms on top floors have better views (obviously). Make sure to ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nickisee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RSDarwin, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear nickisee,

As a Top Contributor, thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I trust that you enjoyed your visit to Sydney. Your comments about the location of our hotel and the rooftop views are much appreciated. I wish to apologise for the disappointing bathroom cleanliness which you provided us feedback about. This is ceratinly not the kind of high standard which our hotel upholds. I have shared your comments with the hotel Housekeeping Manager to follow up with the team.

Wishing you safe future travels,thank you once again for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn Old Sydney.

Kind regards,

Rob & Team Holiday Inn Old Sydney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    733
    1,116
    361
    89
    40
See reviews for
550
1,073
133
223
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (598)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Stayed here for two nights prior to a cruise. Its location to the cruise terminal is great as we could walk the short distance with our luggage . Reception staff were very pleasant and helpful at all times. Our room for three was very spacious ,clean and well appointed. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this great location . The views from the rooftop of the harbour bridge and opera house we're quite spectacular. There is a large choice of eating places round about to suit all budgets.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DCH52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RSDarwin, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear DCH52,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review of our hotel. I am very happy to read that you were ' thoroughly ' enjoyed your stay with us.

Your review was very comprehensive, thank you for sharing this with others to read.

I see that from your other reviews that you had an opportunity to enjoy many of Sydney's other tourist areas. I trust you had a great time. I also hope that your cruise around the Pacific was enjoyable.

Thank you once again, we hope to welcome you back to Sydney again in the future.

Kind regards,

Rob & Team Holiday Inn Old Sydney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We requested an early check in when we made our reservation as our flight landed in the morning and we were pleased to be able to get into our room at 10.30am. We stayed for 4 nights. The hotel is in a great location. The room was fine, there was a self service laundry which was very useful, the free internet access was very limited and only available from the reception area. We didn't have breakfast in the hotel but walked round to the Opera kitchen which was pleasant and much cheaper. The pool looks much better in the picture than in reality and it was a bit too windy to use while we were there, however, the view is good!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WPCJF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RSDarwin, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear WPCJF,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I was happy to read that we were able to facilitate your early check-in when you arrived at the hotel. I understand what a relief it is when you can go straight to your room after a long flight. It was also positive to read that you enjoyed the hotels location, the self-service laundry facilities and the great views from our hotel.

I trust that you enjoyed your time in Sydney and your subsequent holiday to the Blue Mountains and Tasmania.

Kind regards,

Rob & Team Holiday Inn Old Sydney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

This is a great location Sydney but it was very expensive for a Holiday Inn. My partner and I were lucky enough to use points for our three night stay, otherwise, would not have paid A$350 per night here. We were upgraded to a king size harbour view which during certain months would have been great. Be warned that if you do book a harbour room (especially if your paying the full rate) to make sure it isn't cruise ship season. Our room would have had a great view of the Opera House but every night there was a big cruise ship in the way. Be sure to check the cruise schedule so your not disappointed. Other then that, the room was very satisfactory...the bed was very comfortable and the room was overall good. The pool on the roof is great. The area is great with lots of restaurants and pubs and on the weekends, it's right next to the Rocks Markets. There is a bit of noise on the streets but usually winds down not so late.

Room Tip: Check cruise ship schedule before booking so you're not getting a room with a boat view instead...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smattox114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RSDarwin, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear smattox114,

As a Senior Contributor, I wish to thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I was delighted to read that overall you were happy and comfortable in your room. I wish to also thank you for your positive feeback about the hotels location and roof top pool area

I apologise that your view was obstructed by one of the visiting cruiseliners, unfortunately this is something out of the hotels control. Hopefully the great view from the hotel pool area which you experienced helped to make up for this.

Thank you once again for your feedback.

Wishing you safe future travels.

Kind regards,

Rob & Team Holiday Inn Old Sydney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed April 16, 2013

I booked a room at this hotel from a third party website. I called up directly to the hotel around 7:30pm to check if my booking is on their system. My enquiry was handled by a lady who was speaking to me rudely. I was so looking forward to stay at this hotel but because the first-point-contact was not very welcoming, i'm very disappointed. I hope i will get a better service when i get there...

Not yet stayed.. Just wanna share my booking and enquIry experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RSDarwin, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Joy J,

Thank you for providing your feedback to the hotel. Firstly I would like to apologise for the lack of customer service which you received last night over the phone. I have investigated further and I can confirm that a team member from our Central Reservations centre has spoken to you about your booking. Unfortunately this was not a staff member from our hotel here in Sydney and I wish to apologise for our colleague’s lack of care with your enquiry. I have shared your feedback with the relevant team for follow up.

This is certainly not the high level of service which the team are regularly complimented for at this hotel. I can assure you that the team here will make every effort to ensure that you have a positive experience when you stay at our hotel later in the year.

I apologise once again on behalf of the team.

Kind regards,

Rob & Team Holiday Inn Old Sydney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

I stayed in this hotel in February. I had stayed in December for a Christmas Party in the city and it was a very bad experience - so much so that the had to complain about my experience.

This was definitely a chalk and cheese eperience! The room was clean and well kept (although small - but it is a heritage listed building) and the bathroom well appointed.

The view was lovely (even with the cruise ship in the foreground) and I could see from Circular Quay right around to the Harbour Bridge.

Staff were polite and attentive and breakfast was quick and easy.

This hotel really delivers on its location - step outside your door and you are in The Rocks, one of the most historic areas in Sydney. Go upstairs to the pool deck and the view is almost unparalleled! If you are there on the weekend, The Rocks Market is a wonder (and not of the trash and treasure kind) and a great place to pick up presents small and large.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lassie1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RSDarwin, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Lassie1970,

As a return guest to our hotel I wish to thank you for taking the time to review our hotel once again. I am delighted to read that your most recent experience with us was much more positive than your last one. Thank you for giving our hotel another chance to deliver on our promises.

The team here continue to work very hard on our continuous improvement plan which encompasses everything from our breakfast product through to our customer service.

Thank you once again for your honest review of the hotel and I hope that based off your most recent experience that we can welcome you back again in the future.

Wishing you safe future travels.

Kind regards,

Rob & Team Holiday Inn Old Sydney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
239 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for five nights and mixed experience. The location is good for The Rocks and Circular Quay and views of the harbour bridge and opera house but the location near to very noisey night time bars on George Street is what makes me mark down this great hotel. The other problem in the heavy night time trafic which can be noisey. These two matters are outside the hotels control but if you have a room at the front will impact on your stay. The breakfast buffet is good and varied and the roof top pool and spa hve great views.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alfielanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RSDarwin, Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear alfielanger,

Firstly I wanted to compliment you on your unique profile name which is the same as a very famous Rugby League player ! As a Top Contributor to the Trip Advisor site, your feedback is greatly appreciated.

Thank you for your positive feedback in relation to the hotels unique location, the roof top views and your breakfast experience.

I also appreciate your comments about the noise from George Street which you raised. The team are working in conjunction with the local council to continue to explore solutions which will deliver some more positive results. Feedback such as yours is helpful to us as it enables us to share this feedback with the council as well.

Thank you once again for your genuine feedback.

Kind regards,

Rob & Team Holiday Inn Old Sydney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
The Russell Hotel
The Russell Hotel
#35 of 177 in Sydney
902 reviews
The Rocks
Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#19 of 177 in Sydney
1,269 reviews
Central Business District
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#24 of 177 in Sydney
4,260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Old Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Old Sydney

Property: Holiday Inn Old Sydney
Address: 55 George St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > The Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Sydney
#41 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#43 Family Hotel in Sydney
#47 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Old Sydney 4*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Heritage Listed Holiday Inn Old Sydney is one of Sydney's little secrets,uniquely positioned between the Harbour Bridge and Sydney Opera House within the iconic area of The Rocks. Holiday Inn Old Sydney is the closest hotel to the Overseas Passenger Terminal providing a hassle free accommodation option pre and post cruise. The hotel is closely situated to the Circular Quay Ferry and Railway stations also providing easy access to Sydney Airport via the Airtrain. Each of our 176 guestrooms come equipped with a choice of soft & firm pillows, flatscreen TV's, high speed internet access. Enjoy spectacular views to Sydney Harbour or an outlook onto the historic Rocks from the comfort of your room. Stroll down the harbour-side promenade past the museum of Contemporary Art, to lively Circular Quay and experience an excellent selection of restaurants and bars. Here you can catch a ferry to Manly Beach, Watsons Bay, Taronga Zoo or enjoy a fabulous harbour cruise. Holiday Inn Old Sydney is only moments from the majority of Sydney's best attractions and a variety of great shopping options, including the Rocks Markets, Queen Victoria Building, Pitt Street Mall and Oxford Street. Experience spectacular views of Sydney Harbour, the famous Harbour Bridge and the world-acclaimed Opera House from the famous Holiday Inn Old Sydney rooftop, equipped with heated outdoor pool and spa. Holiday Inn Old Sydney also offers a complimentary business centre with computer and internet access to keep you connected whilst away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, IHG, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Old Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Old Sydney Hotel Sydney
Old Sydney Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Sydney
Sydney Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing