We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Old Sydney
Ranked #45 of 181 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed March 29, 2013

If this hotel was not in a great location, it would be 2 stars. It's OK, the rooms are a good size, the staff are great, the place is clean and quiet (at least, if your room faces front or side, apparently the back can be noisy.) if you only have a few days in Sydney, stay on The Rocks, and that means you have few options. Location is everything. Wifi is expensive, grrr, this annoys me! Don't eat breakfast here unless its included, go a few yards down the road for lots of better value choices.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank AnotherEnglishman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TurnerMit, Acting Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Dear AnotherEnglishman

Thank you for recognising our location as a unique point of our hotel. I must say our breakfast and rooftop facilities are also a great feature that I do hope you tried during your stay.

We appreciate your comments on cleanliness and service as these are points we aim to deliver to a high standard and are part of our daily impact to serving our guests.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Mitchell Turner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,504)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,529 - 1,535 of 2,504 reviews

Reviewed March 27, 2013

The word best describing this hotel is 'functional'. Whilst in a very nice position one street away from circular quay, the passanger terminal, the bridge etc, it is boring!
At a time when so many international hotels are striving for unique design and decor, the most interesting thing about this hotel are the strangely incongruous mirror frames at the lifts. The rest of the building is a little like a prison.
However, the rooms are adequate, albeit totally uninspired; bathrooms are tiny, huge television and good sized desk for working. What we did like was that one could open the windows. It’s loud but we did not mind.
Getting to the pool is an interesting challenge, part of which involves negotiating the fire escape! There again, cheap white plastic furniture crowed around the swimming pool was not at all inviting.
A tip: book a room on the 5th or higher so that you have a view.
And finally: We all know that service is virtually non- existent in Australia but it really is bad when an older couple step out of the taxi and the staff member who happens to be at the entrance at the time neither greets (welcomes) the guests not assists with their luggage! Our first impression: Bad manners= bad service= bad training!!!!

Room Tip: Only rooms on 5th floor or higher have any view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelhagPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TurnerMit, Acting Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Dear travelhagPerth

Thank you for your review and we appreciate your time in providing this feedback. I am sorry you felt the hotel was not up to the unique ambient standard that you are used to. Our hotel being the Holiday Inn Old Sydney is a heritage building and we keep this in tone with the area. While we strive to improve our quality of delivery many of the items and structure are part of Australia's heritage.

In regards to the service issues I must apologise on behalf of my team as this is definitely not what we encourage and our team are mostly commented on positively for their service delivery. I am sorry this was not the case of your experience and we will use your review as an example to our team to do better.

Thank you once again for your review and ensuring we continue to improve our hotel.

Kind regards

Mitchell Turner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

The Holiday Inn, Old Harbour is in a fantastic positon and a great base for exploring Sydney. Located by the Rocks, very near the Sydney Harbour Bridge, the Opera house and Circular Quay.
The hotel has a great view from the roof top swimming pool area, but sometimes the cruise ships get in the way.
Our room was on the first floor, a little on the small side, the bathroom was a little tired and had no toilet brush, but it was clean, comfy and well serviced.
The lobby/reception/bar area was dull and too dark, far too much brown and beige, plants and flowers that made no impression and in need of a good refurbishment. The wallpaper behind the reception desk was a vile velour fabric.
The staff were all very friendly, helpful and gave excellent customer service.
The only restaurant was on the first floor and this was only open for breakfast. You have the choice of continental buffet breakfast or a full cooked breakfast from The Egg Station. We had the continental breakfast and it was always very good and not over priced.
The only grumble I have is that 10 minutes after the restaurant stopped serving breakfast, but was still busy with quests, a cleaner came in with a mop bucket and cleaning materials box, and was trying to hide behind a trolley while eating food off the breakfast buffet.. Also food going on the trolley, to be cleared away, had cling film put on it then a "use first" label on top. But the labels were dragging on the floor! and the bowls of fruit and yogurts would not be used till next morning.
The toilets by the restaurant were mixed, I could not undertand why, when it was big enough to convert into Male and Female toilets.
Room service was available at the hotel, but we did not have it.
We did use the bar and service was always polite, but on our last night we left our restaurant early to have coffee and brandies in the hotel, and we were advised that due to the coffee machine being cleaned we could not have any coffee.
Free WiFi for 15 mins each 24 hours is available in the bar lobby area. We did think that this service should be for longer.
I would recommend this hotel for it's fantastic location and staff, and would visit again Hope it is refurbished soon,

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank maggiem186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TurnerMit, Acting Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Dear maggiem186338

Thank you for your review of the Holiday Inn Old Sydney. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the service and location of the hotel.

I appreciate your comments on the breakfast restaurant and facilities setup around our Playfair Restaurant. These have been great observations of our operations and I can assure you that the management team here are following up on the aspects you mentioned in regards to labelling the food items and the team member eating off the buffet. This is not the behaviour we encourage and thank you for noticing.

IHG have some great developments coming up with the Priority Club changes and additions to the benefits offered to our guests so be sure to watch this space with the internet by July 2013.

Thank you again for your review and rest assured we do take them seriously with the objective to ensure we deliver great hotels guests love.

Kind regards

Mitchell Turner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We chose this hotel on account of its location. It is absolutely superb, within a 10-15 minute walk of both the Sydney Opera House and Sydney Harbour Bridge. It could hardly be better.

Our room on the 6th floor was commendably quiet, but I suspect that some rooms may incur some street noise, not so much from traffic but simply due to the various activities going on around the outside of the hotel.

The room we had was a bit worn round the edges – could really do with some refurbishment. Quite a lot of wear and tear and looking a bit tired – chipped paintwork and furniture etc. It was however clean. The rooftop swimming pool was similar in that regard – not the most welcoming of areas I’ve seen. The reception area looked a bit drab also, with no feeling of warmth in the atmosphere brought about by the décor.

Ordinarily, I would have given this hotel 3 blob rating, but the one area that really stood out for us was the standard of service. It was really excellent. We arrived after a long overnight flight, and arrived at the hotel at about 9.30 in the morning. Our room was not ready (this was fair enough – it does make clear in common with other hotels that check in was 2pm earliest). However, they relieved us of our baggage, and without prompting gave us some towels and soap to go and have a shower to freshen up. The high standard of service continued throughout our stay with staff members being very attentive and helpful.

We had breakfast at the hotel. These were quite good – and by Australian standards, reasonable value for money at AUD22 BUT make sure you book it in advance at reception to get it at that price. There are however numerous other places around that do breakfasts at less cost – but with a less comprehensive choice.

All in all, we enjoyed our stay here, and should we return to Sydney, we would most likely stay here again, but I would hope it would have had a makeover.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Honest-Jim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TurnerMit, Acting Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Dear Honest-Jim

Thank you for your kind and honest review of the hotel. We have some great people here in this lovely gem of a hotel we call the Holiday Inn Old Sydney. I am so happy you have recognised their efforts in making our guest feel welcomed and comfortable.

The management team here are all working towards making improvements to the hotel and aim to ensure the quality expected of a Holiday Inn is constantly delivered.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Old Sydney next time you are in town.

Kind regards

Mitchell Turner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Great location, view from poolroof over the opera house and sydney harbor bridge and 5 min walk to circular quay... Great buffet breakfast with everything... Evrything was good, even if we arrived around 11:00 they had a room ready or us , only downfall they don't have free wifi, like we have in north america

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grosminet42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TurnerMit, Acting Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Dear grosminet42

Thank you for your review, we are glad to read you enjoyed your stay and the facilities of the Holiday Inn Old Sydney.

In regards to our WiFi Australia as a whole is making changes to its infrastructure and cost of internet and IHG is about to pioneer a great incentive globally. Watch this space.

Hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,

Mitchell Turner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Yes.... The bathrooms need updating as many reviewers have said. If you can look past that, the location is UNBEATABLE (steps from the harbor, the train and in funky old sydney). The view from the roofdeck is superb (when there isn't a cruise ship in the harbor). The staff were very helpful and friendly. The rooftop pool was pleasant.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MOWSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TurnerMit, Acting Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Dear MOWSeattle

Very grateful for such a lovely review focussing on the positives and great attributes our hotel has to offer. We always aim to deliver a great hotel through our great people and we have successfully done so with yourself.

Hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards

Mitchell Turner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

The hotel is obviously fantastically located, the rooms are really comfortable, the rooftop pool is amazing and we had a fantastic stay there until it came to check out time.

As we handed our keys back we were presented with a bill for 3 bottles of water which was unexpected. Two nights previously we had come back from a night out and asked the guy on Reception is there was anywhere to get water and he advised us that everywhere was closed. He then said 'I'll get you some - how many do you need?'. It was only me that wanted it but since the question had been asked in a manner which fully implied it was for no charge, both of my room mates took a bottle too. At no point was a cost mentioned as we wouldn't have taken them if there was. It just seemed like he was being nice.

The worst part of this was the lady on Reception who gave us the bill. I questioned it, recounting the story above and how at no point had a requirement for payment of the water been mentioned when it was given to us. In a very condescending tone she said, in front of other guests either checking in or out 'It's a pretty well-known fact that room service is charged back to you at the end of your stay'. I advised her that I am well versed in staying hotels and I understand the procedure when I have agreed to purchase something rather than being offered it, seemingly for free. She then went on to make a further three or four patronising comments before agreeing to 'Let us off this once'.

Being made to feel stupid by a staff member in front of other guests, when we felt we were in the right given the actions of what was seemingly a nice gentleman two nights previously, was completely unnecessary and ruined what had been a fantastic stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TurnerMit, Acting Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Dear Andrew S

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback and I am disappointed to read about the impression you received from our staff here. Our team strive to deliver great service and I apologise that this miscommunication leading to this experience.

I will share your comments with the team to ensure we do not make such negative impressions on our team in future and continue to build a great hotel experience for our guests.

Kind regards

Mitchell Turner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#25 of 181 in Sydney
1,347 reviews
The Rocks
Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#31 of 181 in Sydney
4,633 reviews
Central Business District
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Old Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Old Sydney

Address: 55 George St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > The Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Sydney
#34 Family Hotel in Sydney
#48 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $161 - $405 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Old Sydney 3.5*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Heritage Listed Holiday Inn Old Sydney is one of Sydney's little secrets,uniquely positioned between the Harbour Bridge and Sydney Opera House within the iconic area of The Rocks. Holiday Inn Old Sydney is the closest hotel to the Overseas Passenger Terminal providing a hassle free accommodation option pre and post cruise. The hotel is closely situated to the Circular Quay Ferry and Railway stations also providing easy access to Sydney Airport via the Airtrain. Each of our 176 guestrooms come equipped with a choice of soft & firm pillows, flatscreen TV's, high speed internet access. Enjoy spectacular views to Sydney Harbour or an outlook onto the historic Rocks from the comfort of your room. Stroll down the harbour-side promenade past the museum of Contemporary Art, to lively Circular Quay and experience an excellent selection of restaurants and bars. Here you can catch a ferry to Manly Beach, Watsons Bay, Taronga Zoo or enjoy a fabulous harbour cruise. Holiday Inn Old Sydney is only moments from the majority of Sydney's best attractions and a variety of great shopping options, including the Rocks Markets, Queen Victoria Building, Pitt Street Mall and Oxford Street. Experience spectacular views of Sydney Harbour, the famous Harbour Bridge and the world-acclaimed Opera House from the famous Holiday Inn Old Sydney rooftop, equipped with heated outdoor pool and spa. Holiday Inn Old Sydney also offers a complimentary business centre with computer and internet access to keep you connected whilst away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Old Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Old Sydney Hotel Sydney
Old Sydney Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Sydney
Sydney Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing