We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Old Sydney
Ranked #46 of 186 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Had a fab time in Sydney.Only stayed two nights as stopover on way to NZ but worth it. Hotel in fabulous position near to Harbour Bridge and Opera House, luckily we had view of both from our room. Room ok but bathroom needed updating. Pool on rooftop could be better. Staff very helpful and friendly, no waiting around for check in.

Room Tip: Ask for upgrade to king room with view if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusanM123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TurnerMit, Acting Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Dear SusanM123

Thanks for the great review. Glad to hear you enjoyed yourself and I hope you enjoyed NZ too.

Look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards

Mitchell Turner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,538)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,591 - 1,597 of 2,539 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2013

I stayed here in January 2013 for 3 nights. It's is a great place to stay in easy reach of the main attractions. The roof top pool has fantastic views of the harbour including to bridge and opera house. The only downfall was that cruise ships dock opposite which block out the view of the opera house but also the ships generators are quite noticeable . Staff are very helpful.pool was good but the spa didn't work properly . Lovely area for shopping there is a weekend market too. Plenty of cafes and bars in walking distance .

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gws67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TurnerMit, Acting Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Dear gws67

Thank you for your comments and review. Its the first comment we have had on the Cruise Ship generators which I will certainly comment to our council about if this is disturbing our guests. Thank you for bringing this to our attention.

Glad you enjoyed the other aspects of the hotel, the staff and local area. Hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards

Mitchell Turner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Holiday Inn Old Sydney is a very good hotel, it is in the heart of the city and near to all the amenities, shops, pubs, restaurants and transport which are easily available.
The main lobby of the hotel spacious. The staff friendly and helpful. Working to a price budget, the room we were allocated was nothing special but was clean and tidy, bathroom needs to be updated. But we were out and about all day anyway. There is a very good buffet breakfast, a swimming pool on the roof of the building which overlooks sydney harbour and sydney opera house.
We could easily walk to the business district, darling harbour and sight-seeing areas.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keithkerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TurnerMit, Acting Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Dear keithkerr

Thank you for such a great review and observation of the Rocks and Holiday Inn Old Sydney. I am happy to hear you took advantage of everything the hotel had to offer and we look forward to welcoming guests such as yourself back to the Holiday Inn Old Sydney.

Kind regards

Mitchell Turner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

The location is what makes this accommodation great as it's right beside the bridge and a short walk to Circular Quay.

It's clean and accommodating, typical to a normal holiday inn. Pictures of the pool are deceiving as it's really small.

We observed staff on a few occasions being rude to guests - this is not acceptable.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank B T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TurnerMit, Acting Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Dear B T

Thank you for the comments on the Holiday Inn Old Sydney. I was intrigued to read your review from the title you provided. I am not sure about the instances and would be great to get particular examples of what happened as our guests usually rave about the genuine down to earth service.

We will use your review as an example of the perception we have given to our guests on this occasion.

Kind regards

Mitchell Turner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We stayed at this hotel at the start of a 3 1/2 week vacation for 5 nights. It's in a great location for visiting Sydney harbour, Opera House, Bridge etc. The room was functional although slightly dated. The bathroom for sure needed a little updated, but everything worked just fine. Only thing I was not over thrilled about was mould in the tile grout. The staff were wonderfully friendly and helpful and the breakfast was second to none of anywhere we stayed on this vacation. The rooftop patio was great for looking over the harbour. Would most certainly go back again should I ever be in Sydney.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4Chihuahuamom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TurnerMit, Acting Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Dear 4Chihuahuamom

Thank you for your great review. Our housekeeping manager is currently on a bleaching action plan for the bathrooms as we speak but thank you for letting us know more of your perception.

Our staff here definitely provide great genuine service that our guests love. Its the reason I love working with this team.

Hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards

Mitchell Turner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

The positive: great location for exploring the Rocks and a lovely view back to the city or to the Opera House (when there's no ship in port). Friendly staff, too. The negative: bathroom falling apart, literally. Having said that, this is a highly functional hotel, about what I would expect from the HI chain. Rooms were clean and comfortable, though the furniture is scratched up. Breakfast--the only meal available--is pretty standard and unexceptional. Decent value for money.

Room Tip: Avoid the front/east sides of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SIGRAFF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TurnerMit, Acting Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Dear SIGRAFF

Thank you for your review outlining your thoughts on the Holiday Inn Old Sydney. Great positive feedback that we will definitely take on board to ensure we fix moving forward further achieving our goal of creating a great hotel our guests love.

We hope to welcome you back to our hotel soon.

Kind regards

Mitchell Turner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

We spent 3 nights in this hotel before our cruise. We stayed on the 8th floor with 2 queen beds which worked our perfectly for us and our 6 year old. The room is spacious and has a nice view of the bridge. There is a convenient store right next to the hotel. There are Many restaurants and bars nearby. 5 minuts work to circular quay to catch ferries, buses or grab dinner, about 10 minutes walk to opear house. Best of all the cruise terminal is right across the street.

My only complaint was the Internet. It is not free like many other holiday inns. Not sure how much they charge. There is no free Wifi in the lobby either. I was told that I can only log on for 15 minutes for free. I did not bother to try.

Overall it was great experience.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grace B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TurnerMit, Acting Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Dear Grace B

Thank you for your review, we are so happy that you enjoyed the location and overall stay at the Holiday Inn Old Sydney.

In regards to our internet we are aligned to the charges for internet with most great hotels in Sydney and Australia remaining competitive for this service. There is in fact 15 minutes complimentary offered in our lobby also as you mentioned.

Hope to see you again soon at the wonderfully located Holiday Inn Old Sydney.

Kind regards

Mitchell Turner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#29 of 186 in Sydney
1,367 reviews
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#31 of 186 in Sydney
4,696 reviews
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Old Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Old Sydney

Address: 55 George St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > The Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Sydney
#34 Family Hotel in Sydney
#48 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $188 - $396 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Old Sydney 3.5*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Heritage Listed Holiday Inn Old Sydney is one of Sydney's little secrets,uniquely positioned between the Harbour Bridge and Sydney Opera House within the iconic area of The Rocks. Holiday Inn Old Sydney is the closest hotel to the Overseas Passenger Terminal providing a hassle free accommodation option pre and post cruise. The hotel is closely situated to the Circular Quay Ferry and Railway stations also providing easy access to Sydney Airport via the Airtrain. Each of our 176 guestrooms come equipped with a choice of soft & firm pillows, flatscreen TV's, high speed internet access. Enjoy spectacular views to Sydney Harbour or an outlook onto the historic Rocks from the comfort of your room. Stroll down the harbour-side promenade past the museum of Contemporary Art, to lively Circular Quay and experience an excellent selection of restaurants and bars. Here you can catch a ferry to Manly Beach, Watsons Bay, Taronga Zoo or enjoy a fabulous harbour cruise. Holiday Inn Old Sydney is only moments from the majority of Sydney's best attractions and a variety of great shopping options, including the Rocks Markets, Queen Victoria Building, Pitt Street Mall and Oxford Street. Experience spectacular views of Sydney Harbour, the famous Harbour Bridge and the world-acclaimed Opera House from the famous Holiday Inn Old Sydney rooftop, equipped with heated outdoor pool and spa. Holiday Inn Old Sydney also offers a complimentary business centre with computer and internet access to keep you connected whilst away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Old Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Old Sydney Hotel Sydney
Old Sydney Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Sydney
Sydney Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing