We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Sydney is fair dinkum”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Old Sydney
Ranked #43 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed February 19, 2013

With its excellent location in the Rocks area of the Harbour-overlooking the Opera House (when there are no gigantic Cruise Ships in harbour) & with a glimse of the Harbour Bridge-there is unlikely to be a better base from whcih to explore Sydney.
Aim to get a harbour view on either the 6/7th floor if possible.
Staff were at all times very helpful & friendly.
Room furnishings are adequate although modenisation cannot be far away.This also applies to furniture in the lobby which is tired -probably due to hard wear & tear.
Nice to be recognised as a member of the in house loyalty scheme.

Annoyance that Wi-Fi has to be purchased for room use although the lobby area provides this service free

Really enjoyable stay at a very conveniently located Hotel.Breakfast available within the Hotel & there are any number/variety of eating houses within easy reach.

Room Tip: Aim for Harbour view on levels 6/7
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BIRDIE2Cambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TurnerMit, Acting Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Dear BIRDIE2Cambridge

Thank you for your review. Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and everything the Rocks and the Holiday Inn Old Sydney has to offer.

In regards to WiFi, we have 15 minutes complimentary in the lobby and then it is required to be purchased. I hope this clears up any confusion.

Kind regards

Mitchell Turner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,452)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,526 - 1,532 of 2,453 reviews

Reviewed February 19, 2013

We stayed here in January 2013 for one night after returning from a cruise. The location is excellent being just a stones throw from the Circular Quay cruise terminal and in the heart of 'The Rocks'. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was standard 'Holiday Inn' - comfortable with a decent amount of space.We would have liked free WiFi in the room but, in common with most Sydney hotels, they are lagging behind the rest of the world in this respect.
The room rate was comparable with other Sydney hotels but expensive non the less.
All in all a good hotel in a fantastic position. Would recommend it.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank etsac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TurnerMit, Acting Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Dear etsac

Thanks for your review. Great to hear you enjoyed your stay and we appreciate you spreading the word to the TripAdvisor community.

Our hotel strives to be a great one our guests love and we continue to do so by reacting to all feedback. Glad to see we are on the right track.

Kind regards

Mitchell Turner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

I've walked past this hotel many times, but first time I've actually stayed. Location is excellent. Rooms are nice. I managed a swim at the roof top pool. Views of the Bridge and Opera House.
If you want to be in the Rocks area, good place to stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PeteBentley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TurnerMit, Acting Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Dear PeteBentley

Thanks for your review. Glad to hear you finally stayed with us and took advantage of the good old Holiday Inn Old Sydney. It is regarded a gem in The Rocks area.

See you again soon I hope.

Kind regards

Mitchell Turner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for the first time last week. Couldn't get into my usual hotel as Sydney was busy. I was disappointed when I found out I'd been booked into a Holiday Inn, but my stay changed that.
Fantastic location, close to many restaurants, shops, sights and nice walks.
The pool on the roof has fantastic views across the opera house and bridge.

Rooms were clean, and service friendly. I paid $290 per night when due to availability others hotels close by were over $550, so good value.

Room service was fast, and the food well prepared.

This is typical holiday inn standard, in a very well situated location, and is value for money.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bigozpete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TurnerMit, Acting Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Dear Bigozpete

Wow! Great to see that the Holiday Inn Old Sydney exceeded your expectations. Shame it was low before arriving but depending on the last time you stayed at a Holiday Inn you may have noticed significant changes in service, facilities and overall freshness to Stay You.

Your feedback has made my day and I hope you choose us as first choice next time.

Kind regards

Mitchell Turner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

I've stayed at Holiday Inn Worldwide and this one is is a disgrace to the name. It's badly managed and the staff just don't seem to care.

Let me know when they've re-furbished, dound-proofed, and changed manager. It's a great brand let down by this hotel.

If you are going to stay at this place, then you must have a room at the back. Especially on Friday and Saturday nights when the Seaman's Mission have late night discos blaring with deepest bass until 3:00 AM in the morning, followed by all the drunks leaving up to around 3:30AM. We also had the Police and Ambulance sirens as they were kept busy with drunken bogons.

OK! The Hotel can't control the activities of the raucous crowd at the late night / early morning disco opposite. However, a decent hotel would at least have installed galzing to cut the noise down by 75% or more.

Don't expect any hall porter / bell boy to handle your luggage into the hotel or take it up to your room; or in reverse on the way out.

Don't expect any service of coffee in the lounge area unless you ask at reception. And afterwards don't expect the table to be cleared.

The room was barely cleaned but just about acceptable.

Breakfast was good but morning coffee and a milk shake takes 15 miniutes.

Car parking was OK as was the valet service for it.

The hotel is now dated and needs updating and refurbishing as it really is beginning to look "ate 80s".

Location is very good and above 4th floor you'll get a view over Circular Quay to the Opera House. It's also a short walk to eateries in The Rocks, Circular Quay, or to Dawes Point at the base of the Harbour Bridge.

As usual, the mini-bar was over-priced as was the room rate for a hotel that provides little in the way of service or guest enjoyment.

Room Tip: Not front of Hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Norman H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TurnerMit, Acting Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Dear Norman H

I appreciate the time you have taken to provide your feedback to us. It is disappointing to read your experience did not echo many of our other guests' and, especially, your expectations.

Your concerns of the staff and the noise are being dealt with and we are in constant conversations to ensure we deliver the best service. Our local council do assist us when we show such feedback about noise and issues our guests have with the local area activities. I apologise that this affected your stay.

Thanks again for taking the time to provide this feedback and please note it is valuable to us to be able to meet and exceed our guest expectations.

Kind regards

Mitchell Turner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

This hotel is located in the heart of The Rocks section of Sydney. If you are taking a cruise out of Sydney, the hotel is directly across the street from the International Passenger Terminal Port and no more than a 5 minute walk to the cruise terminal. If you are visiting Sydney and want to stay in the heart of Circular Quay, this hotel is for you. If you want to stay somewhere in Sydney that has easy access to the mass transit system this is the hotel for you. Within minutes you can walk to the transportation center for ferries, trains, or buses and have easy access to anywhere in Sydney you wish to go.

The views from the roof top are amazing of the Harbor Bridge, the Sydney Opera House, and the city in general. Not to mention the pool and spa located on the roof top as well.

The building is a little dated inside but nice and clean. The staff is extremely friendly and always great you with a smile and an offer of assistance. For the price, we believe to be the best valued hotel in The Rocks/Circular Quay area and plan to stay at this hotel again on our next visit to Sydney.

So if you are planning a trip to Sydney and location, customer service, and price value are important to you, I suggest staying at Holiday Inn Old Sydney!!

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor facing the Sydney Opera House.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthony L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TurnerMit, Acting Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Dear Anthony L

Great to hear your impressions of the hotel were positive and the Holiday Inn Experience was conveyed through our team.

Thank you for your kind words and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards

Mitchell Turner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Before I stayed at the holiday inn old sydney I of course checked out trip-adviser . Having seen the very wide range of reviews I decided in the end just to wait and form my own opinion and I am so glad I did !
The hotel is perfectly located , less than a 5 min walk and you are in circular quay , and is also right at the heart of the rocks , the side entrance taking you straight into the rocks centre were the tourist office is situated .
Prior to travel I had requested a high floor twin room with a harbour view .i was told that none of the twin rooms had a harbour view , so on arrival I didn't not expect a particularly scenic view .
I could not have been more wrong !!
We had room 516 , which has a sliding doors which opened out onto a small balcony - giving just an amazing view of the city ( especially when lit up at night ) and also across to the ferries at circular quay !!
From what we could make out there only appeared to be 5 rooms with a balcony certainly on our side of the building so I think if you get a 16 number you may be In luck !
The room was a good size with 2 double beds and a selection of firm and soft pillows available , the beds were very comfortable .
There was a selection of teas available as well as coffee and hot chocolate and biscuits with a very speedy boiling kettle provided . There is also a fridge which can be filled if you request but is left empty for you to fill as you wish , which was really great to have
On arrival we found a small fruit bowl in room as well as a card welcoming us to the hotel , I don't know if this was because I am a priority member , but it was a loverly touch .
The bathroom was a good size with a good selection of toiletries including toothbrushes and toothpaste .our one niggle was that the bath was very slippery and we did use a towel as a bath matt as a safety precaution .
Yes the decor is a little tired , but it was all very clean through out .
We found the staff at reception really helpful , on arrival our room was not available ( we came in on an early morning flight from the uk ) but they took my mobile number and rang us as soon as a room was free .
While we were waiting to check in we were offered some were to shower , store our luggage and access passes so we could visit the roof top pool area ( which has stunning views of the harbour )
Our only disappointment was how expensive breakfast was in the hotel , at $27 per person , but the are lots of alternative options close by , and a McDonald's at circular quay !
All in all we had a fantastic stay at the holiday inn old sydney and would not hesitate to return

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
Thank gabby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TurnerMit, Acting Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2013

Dear gabby

Thanks for the great review, fair and honest. I think maybe you find the breakfast expensive due to the exchange rate however it is in line with Sydney value. I did hear that if you speak to reception they can get you a good deal on a pre booked breakfast and it is well worth the full breakfast buffet that you get.

See you again soon and thanks for the review.

Kind regards

Mitchell Turner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#23 of 179 in Sydney
1,324 reviews
The Rocks
Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#30 of 179 in Sydney
4,514 reviews
Central Business District
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney
The Rocks
The Russell Hotel
The Russell Hotel
#48 of 179 in Sydney
934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Old Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Old Sydney

Address: 55 George St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > The Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Sydney
#43 Family Hotel in Sydney
#48 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#52 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $173 - $415 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Old Sydney 4*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Heritage Listed Holiday Inn Old Sydney is one of Sydney's little secrets,uniquely positioned between the Harbour Bridge and Sydney Opera House within the iconic area of The Rocks. Holiday Inn Old Sydney is the closest hotel to the Overseas Passenger Terminal providing a hassle free accommodation option pre and post cruise. The hotel is closely situated to the Circular Quay Ferry and Railway stations also providing easy access to Sydney Airport via the Airtrain. Each of our 176 guestrooms come equipped with a choice of soft & firm pillows, flatscreen TV's, high speed internet access. Enjoy spectacular views to Sydney Harbour or an outlook onto the historic Rocks from the comfort of your room. Stroll down the harbour-side promenade past the museum of Contemporary Art, to lively Circular Quay and experience an excellent selection of restaurants and bars. Here you can catch a ferry to Manly Beach, Watsons Bay, Taronga Zoo or enjoy a fabulous harbour cruise. Holiday Inn Old Sydney is only moments from the majority of Sydney's best attractions and a variety of great shopping options, including the Rocks Markets, Queen Victoria Building, Pitt Street Mall and Oxford Street. Experience spectacular views of Sydney Harbour, the famous Harbour Bridge and the world-acclaimed Opera House from the famous Holiday Inn Old Sydney rooftop, equipped with heated outdoor pool and spa. Holiday Inn Old Sydney also offers a complimentary business centre with computer and internet access to keep you connected whilst away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Old Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Old Sydney Hotel Sydney
Old Sydney Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Sydney
Sydney Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing