We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a view!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Old Sydney
Ranked #41 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed December 15, 2012

Beautiful place in the famous quarter "the rocks" with a faboulous view over Sydney Harbour and Opera from the rooftop where the outdoor pool and jacuzzi are locatet. If you are ready to spend a bit more its the perfect choice. Comfortable quiet rooms, easy walking distance Sydney CDB. Good breakfast and nice staff. I' ve been several times and will always go back to this hotel when i'm in Sydney again. enjoy that view from the rooftop, great to take pictures there.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClaudiClau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TurnerMit, Acting Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2012

Dear ClaudiClau

Thank you for taking the time to provide such positive feedback. It is nice to see you have highlighted many of the great points of the Holiday Inn Old Sydney.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards

Mitchell Turner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,403)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Old Sydney
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,530 - 1,536 of 2,403 reviews

Reviewed December 14, 2012

My sister and I booked this hotel through a 'secret saver' deal on Expedia. It was sold as. 4.5 star hotel which, on checking in, we discovered it was certainly not. Were given a king room which was tired, old, worn and smelly to say the least. The bathroom was tiny and moldy, the shower so small I almost fell over standing in it and I'm a small person. The bed was uncomfortable and the shutters on the windows do little to keep the noise and light out from outside meaning we got very little sleep during our three nights there. Towels and sheet were left lying around the corridors adding to the smell and gloom of the hotel. We paid almost $300/night which it is definitely not worth, yes the location is great but a hotel cannot be rated solely on the location. Have contacted Expedia who in turn contacted the hotel to ask for a part refund of which they apparently refused. Don't pay the $20 odd dollars for the breakfast either when you can go next door to the fine foods store and eat a delicious meal for half the price. Will never stay at another Holiday Inn again and will never book a secret/mystery deal!

Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank N H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TurnerMit, Senior Guest Experience Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2012

Dear N H

Thank you for taking the time to provide your views and thoughts of the hotel. We appreciate the time you have taken to do so and we are disappointed to read you did not enjoy any of the positive aspects the hotel has to offer.

I assure you we do have great service, which you can read from other reviewers, and our buffet breakfast is very popular.

We will definitely take your comments on board in order to improve our hotel for our future guests.

Kind regards

Mitchell Turner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Stayed here in October, 2012 prior to a cruise. Picked this hotel because of it's proximity to the cruise terminal which turned out to be a winner. The hotel was lovely, the staff most welcoming and offered really good value. The whole Rocks area is great to explore and when it was time to go to the ship, an easy five minute down hill stroll and we were away. Will always stay here when cruising from Sydney.

Room Tip: If you join there priority club on arrival they will upgrade you on the spot.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pcraike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TurnerMit, Acting Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2012

Dear Phil69

Thank you for your comments and lovely notes on the Holiday Inn Old Sydney. I hope you enjoyed your cruise as much as you enjoyed the hotel.

Our Priority Club members are extremely valuable to us and we continue to value their dedication to our hotels as a first choice. While we endeavour to upgrade all we do have to pick and choose sometimes depending on availability - I guest you were a lucky one.

See you again soon before or after your next cruise or just for some time away.

Kind regards

Mitchell Turner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

The best feature of the Holiday Inn, Old Sydney is the location. Situated in the heart of The Rocks, the Holiday Inn provides instant access to all that the Sydney Harbour precinct has to offer. The Rocks Markets, great pubs, lovely restaurants, plenty of entertainment and of course shopping.
The hotel itself is fairly dated, even antiquated. Our room (431) was very small but did have a nice view of the harbour. I found the bed to be quite uncomfortable (hard) and the pillows all looked thick and fluffy but actually just sunk like a flat balloon when any pressure was put on them (no neck support).
The bathroom was also pretty tiny. The shower curtain smelled like a wet dog. They really should upgrade & invest in glass screens to avoid the smell. The shower doubled as a bath and the bath was quite narrow meaning it was easy to overbalance as a result of not being able to stand with your feet wide enough a part (bit unsafe for anyone a little unsteady on their feet).
I had planned to use the rooftop pool however, when I arrived there (approx 1.45pm on a Sat afternoon) I found only half a dozen sun lounges, all occupied and a 'back-yard sized pool with a tiny spa. I will say though, there are several tables & chairs on the rooftop which make a nice spot to sit and enjoy the harbour view over something from the snack menu.
Unfortunately we missed the included breakfast on both days of our stay so I can't comment on that.
The staff very pleasant and obliging with a couple of small requests.
We stayed here purely for the location (to attend events over the weekend) however, I was expecting a little more from the quality of the hotel given the price. The hotel served its purpose but it wasn't at all a luxurious experience.

Room Tip: Room 431 small but nice harbour view.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SamLF78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TurnerMit, Acting Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2012

Dear SamLF78

Great feedback, thank you for the detail. We really appreciate your views on our hotel to ensure we continue to get it right for our guests.

Breakfast is the most important meal, and ours is quite superior. When you stay with us again please make sure you do not miss this experience.

Kind regards

Mitchell Turner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012

We had the pleasure of spending 10 nights and would happily have stayed longer! Although there might have been cheaper options available we were delighted that we had decided to stay here. It is situated so near to the harbour etc. From the moment we entered the spacious reception and were welcomed by the efficient friendly staff until we left 10 days later we were made to feel valued guests. Our room was well appointed and kept very clean. There was a very comprehensive hotel information file.

Our only negative comments would be that there was only a bedside table on one side of the bed and also only one chair. As the only way to eat in the hotel in the evening was to have a dine in, eating the delicious butter chicken balanced on the edge of the bed was not relaxing! The on site launderette was very useful - it would be helpful if it opened earlier in the morning perhaps so one didn't waste precious Sydney time doing the washing!

As mentioned the reception staff were very pleasant and in particular one young lady "?Kristen" ( sorry we wrote it down and mislaid the slip of paper) who on a Friday evening managed to arrange emergency dental treatment for my husband at 8.30 the following morning and thus saved our holiday!

Although our room was at the front the noise from across the road didn't bother us at all. We were able to get a cab from right outside when it was time to go to the airport. Staying at the Holiday Inn proved an excellent star to our Australia trip.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosum6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TurnerMit, Acting Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2012

Dear Rosum6

Thank you for the great comments. We will be happy to have you back as a longer stay, however 10 nights is pretty great too.

Just for the future we have larger rooms know as executive and harbour view rooms which have tables and sofa's for the comfort of a longer staying guest, it becomes like a home from home.

Thank you for the comments about Kristen (or as we call her, our lovely Krissy). Glad to hear she met the mark with her fantastic service.

Please do contact us if you need more information before booking your next stay.

Kind Regards

Mitchell Turner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012

comfortable beds, good pillows, clean rooms, friendly staff, wonderful views from roof top pool.
Having spent 5 nights on 6th floor city view, at the begining of November and 2 night 4th floor harbour views, at the end of November, we can't complain really. It's expensive but I can't think there's a better located hotel in Sydney. The market at the weekend on the door step is fantastic, good restaurants nearby not to mention all attractions on your doorstep.Put the same hotel in a different location and things maybe different but it's got to be one of Sydney's best locations. Loved it!

Room Tip: We stayed in two different twin room 616, views of the city. Two lovely big beds, comfortable, plent...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kaygeejaypee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TurnerMit, Acting Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2012

Dear Kayjeejaypee

Thank you for taking the time to provide your comments on the Holiday Inn Old Sydney. You are absolutely right with the location, we have one of the best in Sydney!

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards

Mitchell Turner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012

Stayed last night after a Christmas Party in town. For the price, the place is very tired and dated. The Venetian Blinds in my room had at least two broken louvres and the blinds were totally frayed at the ends. It was such a small room, I actually think it is the first time I have slept in a double bed in a hotel room that only had the one bed. The bathroom was minuscule with stained fittings and the sundries tray is obviously for a much bigger bathroom - it actually hung over the sink, but there was nowhere to move it to. You also could look up into the ceiling because the fire system head had no surround on it (which I discovered while in the shower). The air con was very loud and not very efficient as well. It kept waking me up, but, turned off, the room was an oven in around 10 minutes. I had no traffic noise but the quality of the bed (poor) and the noise of the air con meant that, on a night I should be exhausted, I actually got very little sleep.
Breakfast was expensive for what was included and it that great - my eggs were hard (although fresh cooked) and slow to come out - they only had one chef on but the place was fully booked. Hot food was also slow to come out.
Their computers were down when I checked out and weren't fixed two hours later (I visited the morning markets) so am hoping that turns out alright. They also didn't take the original prepay amount although they sent me an email saying thy did.
The one good feature of this place was its location which is fabulous but they really seem to have let everything else go so as they try to rely on this one feature.
Will not be returning here.

Room Tip: Higher up to keep away from traffic noise.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lassie1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TurnerMit, Acting Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2012

Dear Lassie1970

Thank you for taking the time to provide your comments. Your comments have provided a great insight into the perception we give our guests.

I must however reiterate that we have one chef attending the egg station and another in the back to prepare all the delicious foods you get on the buffet. Our apologies for the eggs not being to your liking, I will pass the comments to the chef however please let us know at the time in future and we can make them accordingly to your preferences.

In terms of the computers being down I do not recall any time in December where this was the case. I would like to gain further insight into your room number and dates of stay to investigate this further. If you have time I would appreciate if you contact me to let me know.

Kind regards

Mitchell Turner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
The Russell Hotel
The Russell Hotel
#39 of 178 in Sydney
922 reviews
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#20 of 178 in Sydney
1,306 reviews
The Rocks
Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Central Business District
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Old Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Old Sydney

Address: 55 George St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > The Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Sydney
#40 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#43 Family Hotel in Sydney
#48 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $163 - $381 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Old Sydney 4*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Heritage Listed Holiday Inn Old Sydney is one of Sydney's little secrets,uniquely positioned between the Harbour Bridge and Sydney Opera House within the iconic area of The Rocks. Holiday Inn Old Sydney is the closest hotel to the Overseas Passenger Terminal providing a hassle free accommodation option pre and post cruise. The hotel is closely situated to the Circular Quay Ferry and Railway stations also providing easy access to Sydney Airport via the Airtrain. Each of our 176 guestrooms come equipped with a choice of soft & firm pillows, flatscreen TV's, high speed internet access. Enjoy spectacular views to Sydney Harbour or an outlook onto the historic Rocks from the comfort of your room. Stroll down the harbour-side promenade past the museum of Contemporary Art, to lively Circular Quay and experience an excellent selection of restaurants and bars. Here you can catch a ferry to Manly Beach, Watsons Bay, Taronga Zoo or enjoy a fabulous harbour cruise. Holiday Inn Old Sydney is only moments from the majority of Sydney's best attractions and a variety of great shopping options, including the Rocks Markets, Queen Victoria Building, Pitt Street Mall and Oxford Street. Experience spectacular views of Sydney Harbour, the famous Harbour Bridge and the world-acclaimed Opera House from the famous Holiday Inn Old Sydney rooftop, equipped with heated outdoor pool and spa. Holiday Inn Old Sydney also offers a complimentary business centre with computer and internet access to keep you connected whilst away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Old Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Old Sydney Hotel Sydney
Old Sydney Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Sydney
Sydney Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing