We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful time down under”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Old Sydney
Ranked #46 of 182 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Spent three nights at the Holiday Inn Old Harbor Sydney. Fantastic location, close to Sydney Harbor, Sydney opera house, botanical gardens and main tourist attractions. Good service, knowledgeable and super friendly staff. Free Internet only 15 minutes each 24 hours, a bit of a drag considering most areas provide free unlimited wifi. Rooms somewhat musty and smelt damp. Got moved into another room after the first day, little difference. Lucky I did not have to spend too much time in the room. Spectacular views from the rooftop.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Turgoik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TurnerMit, Acting Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2012

Dear Turgoik

Thank you for your feedback and expressing how convenient our location is. Your comments are too valuable in allowing us to improve our guest experience at the Holiday Inn Old Sydney.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards

Mitchell Turner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,506)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,632 - 1,638 of 2,506 reviews

Reviewed November 30, 2012

Great location, cannot stress this enough. I get my company to book this hotel if it's available. Staff are very friendly but the rooms are very tired and small, if your going to be in your room all day forget it. As a business traveller you probably want to get back to the hotel go for a walk nearby and eat out and return purely to sleep. If your just doing that it's great!

Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
Thank DMCJQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TurnerMit, Acting Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2012

Dear DMCJQ

Thank you for the feedback and open review of the Holiday Inn Old Sydney. Glad we are your preferred business hotel in Sydney.

Kind regards

Mitchell Turner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

The location at the Rocks and the great service makes up for the simple and staid look of the hotel. The family room is a little small but clean. The window overlook the Harbour Bridge and the rooftop pool allows us to look at the berth and climbers on the bridge. We were fortunate that the Royal Caribbean docks the evening we arrive. The weekend market add the festive atmosphere over the weekend not to mention the pancakes just round the corner.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZmanSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TurnerMit, Acting Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2012

Dear ZmanSingapore

Thanks for your review. We also do great pancakes here for breakfast.

Glad to hear you enjoyed our hotel and the atmosphere.

Kind regards

Mitchell Turner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Far to expensive for what it is. I booked in king bed superior and stayed in room 418 for only one night on business trip to Sydney. Room was very tired with obvious attempts of DIY to make it look better (half painted walls, same colour but brush line is oh so visible, all fixtures in bathroom are marked with paint too..) tv remote was soon dirty I seriously contemplated wrapping it in napkin before use (and I am no neat freak!). Air con was too noisy to leave it on during the night.

On the plus side, service guy, who came to look into air con - was super friendly, attentive and apologetic. He even dismantled window fixture that I could open the window and get some fresh air (for some reason entire hotel has this awful cigarettes and unwashed laundry smell)..

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Saule P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TurnerMit, Acting Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2012

Dear Saule P

I appreciate the time you have taken to provide this feedback. Interesting to read this and I would love to investigate further. I will be looking into this with my Housekeeping and Maintenance team to see how we made such and impression and what we can do to ensure this never happens again.

Glad to hear the service you received was great, as it should be.

Kind regards

Mitchell Turner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012 via mobile

While i cannot comment on the price, the experience had on five night staying was great! Few minutes walk from the opera house,the sydney bridge and the circular quay station. The location is right in the middle of the rocks! Really recommend .
Staff very helpful and kind.
Only pity the request of over 20 AUD/day for wi-if,but unfortunately it happens in most of the hotels!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Serfour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TurnerMit, Acting Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2012

Dear Serfour

As they say in life ‘you get what you pay for’ being in our location and with the Holiday Inn Brand we do have competitive pricing when in comes to our rooms and internet. We are not over the mark when valuing what our hotel is worth.
Glad to hear you had a great long stay with us and made the most of your time in Sydney. Thanks for the recommendation.

Kind regards

Mitchell Turner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012 via mobile

Walk in any direction and you will soon be at a historic Sydney location. Sydney Dance Theater, Sydney Opera House, Darling Harbour, Macquarie Street, the Skywalk, Royal Botanic Gardens... Located in The Rocks you can't ask for a better location for shopping and dining. Rooftop views of the city, opera house and bridge are amazing!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TurnerMit, Acting Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2012

Dear Donna F

Thank you for your kind comments and feedback, see you again soon.

Kind regards

Mitchell Turner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

This hotel was too expensive to charge extra for Internet. One had to wait in line to get the code as well as there was only one staff member present. The staff was ill informed about most things and no one could answer the question of what was currently on at the Opera house a mere 10 minute leisurely stroll. We booked an airport shuttle which failed to arrive mainly because they failed to book it for us despite my double checking to see if they did. We were thus obliged to take a really expensive taxi. Breakfast was in edible and altogether the hotel experience was unpleasant. The only thing going for it was it's location. Very dated hotel and no one appeared to be in charge.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarolineV310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TurnerMit, Acting Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2012

Dear Caroline V

Thank you for your comments, I agree that our team should be well informed about the area and usually are. As you have probably read in previous responses we have great staff and service here, it is a long time since I have heard otherwise and take it very seriously. My management team will be following up and sharing these comments to ensure we do not lapse again.

I do hope you brought your issues to the attention of one of our guest experience managers on duty who would have ensured we act to ensure you left with a smile on your face and a positive feeling of the Holiday Inn Old Sydney. Again I am disappointed to hear of your experience and guarantee you this is not a regular occurrence here.

Kind regards

Mitchell Turner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#23 of 182 in Sydney
1,347 reviews
The Rocks
Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#32 of 182 in Sydney
4,635 reviews
Central Business District
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Old Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Old Sydney

Address: 55 George St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > The Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Sydney
#34 Family Hotel in Sydney
#48 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $159 - $404 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Old Sydney 3.5*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Heritage Listed Holiday Inn Old Sydney is one of Sydney's little secrets,uniquely positioned between the Harbour Bridge and Sydney Opera House within the iconic area of The Rocks. Holiday Inn Old Sydney is the closest hotel to the Overseas Passenger Terminal providing a hassle free accommodation option pre and post cruise. The hotel is closely situated to the Circular Quay Ferry and Railway stations also providing easy access to Sydney Airport via the Airtrain. Each of our 176 guestrooms come equipped with a choice of soft & firm pillows, flatscreen TV's, high speed internet access. Enjoy spectacular views to Sydney Harbour or an outlook onto the historic Rocks from the comfort of your room. Stroll down the harbour-side promenade past the museum of Contemporary Art, to lively Circular Quay and experience an excellent selection of restaurants and bars. Here you can catch a ferry to Manly Beach, Watsons Bay, Taronga Zoo or enjoy a fabulous harbour cruise. Holiday Inn Old Sydney is only moments from the majority of Sydney's best attractions and a variety of great shopping options, including the Rocks Markets, Queen Victoria Building, Pitt Street Mall and Oxford Street. Experience spectacular views of Sydney Harbour, the famous Harbour Bridge and the world-acclaimed Opera House from the famous Holiday Inn Old Sydney rooftop, equipped with heated outdoor pool and spa. Holiday Inn Old Sydney also offers a complimentary business centre with computer and internet access to keep you connected whilst away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Old Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Old Sydney Hotel Sydney
Old Sydney Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Sydney
Sydney Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing