We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Holiday Inn Old Sydney
Ranked #43 of 177 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Berlin
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Location”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The Holiday Inn is located in the so called "Rocks". That's the real old Sydney where the first settlers from Europe arrived. You have a great view to the opera, the Habour bridge, Circular Quay and also to all the scyscraper. The rooms were clean and staff was friendly. So for me I will stay there again the next time I come to Sydney.
Try the pool or Jacuzzi at the roof top. Very nice during sunset or sunrise.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TiasBerlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TurnerMit, Acting Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear TiasBerlin

Danke Schoen for the great feedback. We love hearing the perception and feedback from our guests.

See you next time at the Holiday Inn Old Sydney.

Kind regards

Mitchell Turner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    733
    1,116
    361
    89
    40
See reviews for
550
1,073
133
223
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (598)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

It's all about location and this was a good place to start. We had an obscured view of the bridge until a massive cruise liner came in to dock and the view was blocked. Wonderful views from the roof top pool area of the Opera house and bridge. Good location in the Rocks area for circular quay. Shame there was no free wi-fi. Staff not very helpful when there was an issue with the booking.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bawoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TurnerMit, Acting Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear bawoni

Thank you for your comments and glad you enjoyed the view. I will be following up on your comments in regards to the service issues with out team here. Rest assured we take these comments seriously and try to improve based on our guest's feedback.

Kind regards

Mitchell Turner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
381 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Can't fault the location of the Old Sydney Holiday Inn... however...
The rooms, particularly the bathrooms and room furniture, are pretty tired and old-fashioned - I expected better having stayed in other Holiday Inns around the world.
The method of paying for the use of wi-fi was confusing and - in my view - has the potential to be extremely expensive. Would be much better, if you are going to charge at all (which many hotels do not do these days), to allow people to purchase a block of time that can be used in non-consecutive blocks.
Views, pool and spa - again, my opinion, left a lot to be desired.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TurnerMit, Acting Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear EnEx

Thank you for taking the time to provide you comments. It is interesting to get your perception of the hotel and we will definitely be using your comments to try and improve our hotel service experience.

Kind regards

Mitchell Turner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Just spent 5 nights here with my daughter on a special trip to enjoy a city I haven't visited for far too long. The fact that Holiday Inn offers a seniors discount rate, and the location of this hotel were the decisive factors. It is literally a few minutes walk from Circular Quay and all the nearby attractions and transport choices. We took a cab from the airport not knowing how easily we would find the hotel on foot (and with luggage) but on leaving we simply walked to the station - so easy! The ferries were practically at our doorstep as were many eateries catering for all tastes. The Harbour Bridge and the historic Rocks area were at our back door with wonderful opportunities for exploration and discovery!

Our rooms were on the 6th floor and amazingly quiet - we slept like logs every night. Only the setting up of street market stalls on Friday morning (our last day) produced a few clangs far below! Rooms were clean, had everything we needed and beds were super comfortable. We usually went out pretty early and had breakfast at a place that took our fancy, but the usual hotel buffet or continental breakfast is available on the 1st floor. There is no restaurant as such for evening dining - however you can get a meal in the lounge bar on the ground floor. We used this once when we'd had a very long day and were too tired even to go to the pub next door!

Reception staff were friendly and efficient and happily stored our bags for about 5 hours on the last day so we could enjoy our time to the full.

Oh yes, the view from the rooftop spa is fabulous of course and we used to nip up there each morning to check the temperature and wind so we could decide what to wear for the day!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bronwen23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TurnerMit, Acting Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Bronwen23

Thank you for your great feedback on the hotel. I do hope other users of TripAdvisor take you comments seriously as you have provided a great outline of out hotel services, features and facilities.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards

Mitchell Turner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

My partner and I stayed here for our anniversary recently. We had some service issues prior to staying, where an enquiry about rooms and pricing was not adequately responded to, however we forged ahead with our stay. We wanted to be somewhere special for our weekend together. The rooms here are not cheap. Being our anniversary, we decided to splash out on what we thought would be a 'treat.'

Check in was fast and friendly, but you expect that in hotels these days. When we got to our room, we were both disappointed. The room was very small, with not much to it. The bathroom was tiny - not much room to move around in, a half-bath... not at all the romantic location we'd hoped for our anniversary.

We were greeted with a card wishing us a happy anniversary. My partner's name was wrong (an assumption had been made that we had the same last name which in this day and age is often not the case). The card in no way added to the occasion and while we appreciated the gesture I would think there would be more meaningful ways to extend well wishes on special occaisions.

We were very excited to get up to the roof to see the views. What we could see was lovely - however we lost about 50% of the view due to giant cruise ships being docked there (blocking the Opera House almost entirely) every time we went up. They didn't mention that bit! We were again disappointed by this.

All in all, it wasn't an awful stay. The staff are lovely, the breakfast was very good. The view would have been amazing if we'd been able to see it. The location is the winner here - close to everything, artist markets virtually at your doorstep, a lovely walk to the Opera House, a close up look at the bridge. We would stay in the Rocks again. It possibly wouldn't be at Holiday Inn. We didn't hate our stay by any means, and there is a lot to like about this hotel. The disappointment that our anniversary wasn't what we'd hoped it would be may ultimately be what stops us from ever embracing this hotel as a regular destination.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeckBenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TurnerMit, Acting Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear BeckBenson

Thank you for taking the time to provide such feedback. At the Holiday Inn Old Sydney we like to hear when we provide great service and experience. I am disappointed that the overall experience caused by the cruise ship blocking the great views we normally boast.

We do like to make a gesture when hearing of a special occasion at the hotel and I do apologise for the name being wrong on the card. As standard we usually go by the name in the booking however we may revisit this procedure to ensure our guests are addressed properly in these amenities.

I do hope that you may choose us again in future and thank you once again for your feedback in ensuring we continue to create a great hotel our guests love.

Kind regards

Mitchell Turner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

In Sydney on business, had to move from a high end hotel as the price for the last three days of my trip was going to be outrageous. Good rate with breakfast and internet at the Holiday Inn. Despite trepidation at moving down food chain, had a wonderful stay. Great location in the heart of The Rocks. Lots of cafes and shops near by, and an easy walk to Circular Queue. Near the Museum of Contemporary Art and in the heart of Sunday's market. Service: helpful, relaxed. Room: comfortable and clean. And the view from the rooftop pool across the Harbor to the Opera House: spectacular. I'm looking forward to coming back with family and staying at Holiday Inn Old Sydney.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank orchidarium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TurnerMit, Acting Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear orchidarium

Thank you for your kind words, glad to hear you enjoyed our hotel and your stay with us.

We hope to become your future preference when you next come to Sydney.

Kind regards

Mitchell Turner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

I was really impressed with the staff - they were really helpful and went out of their way to assist us with advice, storing bags, late checkout and booking transport. I was really impressed. They really helped make our stay in circular quay what it was. The breakfasts were excellent also. I would recommend having a big breakfast as we struggled to find reasonable places to eat in the nearby area that weren't hideously overpriced. Overall a great place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crispy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TurnerMit, Acting Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear Crispy R

Great feedback! Thank you for taking the time to let us know your thoughts of the hotel and very glad to hear you enjoyed what makes our Holiday Inn special.

We hope to see you back to our lovely hotel soon.

Kind regards

Mitchell Turner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
The Russell Hotel
The Russell Hotel
#35 of 177 in Sydney
902 reviews
The Rocks
Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#19 of 177 in Sydney
1,269 reviews
Central Business District
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#24 of 177 in Sydney
4,260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Old Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Old Sydney

Property: Holiday Inn Old Sydney
Address: 55 George St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > The Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Sydney
#41 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#43 Family Hotel in Sydney
#47 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Old Sydney 4*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Heritage Listed Holiday Inn Old Sydney is one of Sydney's little secrets,uniquely positioned between the Harbour Bridge and Sydney Opera House within the iconic area of The Rocks. Holiday Inn Old Sydney is the closest hotel to the Overseas Passenger Terminal providing a hassle free accommodation option pre and post cruise. The hotel is closely situated to the Circular Quay Ferry and Railway stations also providing easy access to Sydney Airport via the Airtrain. Each of our 176 guestrooms come equipped with a choice of soft & firm pillows, flatscreen TV's, high speed internet access. Enjoy spectacular views to Sydney Harbour or an outlook onto the historic Rocks from the comfort of your room. Stroll down the harbour-side promenade past the museum of Contemporary Art, to lively Circular Quay and experience an excellent selection of restaurants and bars. Here you can catch a ferry to Manly Beach, Watsons Bay, Taronga Zoo or enjoy a fabulous harbour cruise. Holiday Inn Old Sydney is only moments from the majority of Sydney's best attractions and a variety of great shopping options, including the Rocks Markets, Queen Victoria Building, Pitt Street Mall and Oxford Street. Experience spectacular views of Sydney Harbour, the famous Harbour Bridge and the world-acclaimed Opera House from the famous Holiday Inn Old Sydney rooftop, equipped with heated outdoor pool and spa. Holiday Inn Old Sydney also offers a complimentary business centre with computer and internet access to keep you connected whilst away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, IHG, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Old Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Old Sydney Hotel Sydney
Old Sydney Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Sydney
Sydney Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing