We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Holiday Inn Old Sydney
Ranked #43 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Fredericksburg, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

My friend and I had just a few days to see Sydney and surroundings and this hotel helped us book tours and get oriented. It is a central location to tour Circular Quay. The staff were extremely friendly and accommodating. I would recommend it highly!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deefs17026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TurnerMit, Acting Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear Deefs17026

Thank you for your kind recommendation. We hope to see you back to the Holiday Inn Old Sydney in the near future.

Kind regards

Mitchell Turner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,385 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    751
    1,141
    362
    91
    40
See reviews for
562
1,090
135
230
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (607)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Situated right the Rocks area of Sydney, views of Opera House, Harbour Bridge and Circular Quays – and all close walking distance. Good choice of restaurants nearby. Perfect location. Stayed here for 6 nights early September whilst on business – found the CBD no more than 15 minute walk.

Staff were just so friendly and helpful – they really wanted you to enjoy yourself.

My room was on the top floor, in the old part of building at the back of the hotel, so really quiet, and looked down into the Rocks area where people once lived in the Rocks themselves. Room was a good size and well furnished, bed and carpet seemed quite new, though bathroom seemed a little cramped and really felt it needed a makeover. Aircon worked and was very quiet.

Breakfast was a very good and wide spread, plus omelette chef – lots of choice.

View from roof top terrace of Sydney by both day and night must be seen – just stunning.

Internet access is expensive and I could not get vpn connection which I really needed for work – fortunately during the weekdays on site I was able to get internet access and vpn connection.

Room Tip: Hotels in Sydney are expensive so look out for hotel direct pay-in-advance deals if you know your da...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TurnerMit, Acting Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear M A

Thank you for your detailed comments and we are glad to hear you enjoyed the hotel. From previous feedback we have aimed to align ourselves to the expectations of our guests. Your feedback here has shown we are on our way to evolving with our guests expectations.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back once again.

Kind regards

Mitchell Turner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cotswolds
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for a week so felt like residents by the time we moved on. We were allocated a queen bed room on the 5th floor, small but with a view of Sydney Harbour Bridge. Having arrived from UK exhausted after flying straight through I headed straight to the bathroom for a soak. When I let the water out to my horror the water came straight back up into the bathroom from a small drain in the middle of the floor! I threw towels down and yelled for my husband to call the reception for help. I had visions of water dripping through the ceiling below but it did slowly soak away. The duty manager James came up like lightening and I showed him the mess. He was really concerned, apologetic and very efficiently organised for us to be moved to a bigger and better king bed room as soon as one was available. By lunchtime we were unpacking in a much nicer room.

Still on a bathroom theme we noticed that all 3 of the hotels we stayed in on our Australian Walkabout have very old fashioned shower controls. Hot and cold taps come out of the wall with which you mix the temperature. No thermostats so quite tricky to get the mix right. The water in this hotel was red hot and there were no warnings about it. Be careful not to leave a young child alone under the shower!!

We enjoyed our stay because hotel is so well situated and as already mentioned by other reviewers the hotel is not super smart but the staff are lovely, especially the breakfast team. Thank you for a great start to our trip. Sydney is fab!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrscoulter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TurnerMit, Acting Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear mrscoulter

Great feedback on your stay and thank you for recognising James and his hard work in ensuring all our guests leave happy!

I can assure you that the issue with your bathroom was an anomaly and was reported to our maintenance team who have since rectified this. Thank you for your understanding with this issue.

Glad to hear you enjoyed the upgraded room and all other aspects of the hotel. I hope back home is not too cold for you, if so do come back to the lovely Sydney weather...

Kind regards

Mitchell Turner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Stayed in Oct 2012, were promised a twin but left with a double and sofa bed. Room was clean albeit a little worn. The location is great for the harbour and opera house. The major let down with this hotel and in this day and age is the huge charge ($25 per 24hrs) for the wifi. This made planning a nightmare. Also the breakfast is very expensive for what you get, go else where. Pool is tiny and smells a bit funny but you get a great view from the roof. Low score on this hotel is purely down to the ridiculous charges which make a cheap stay rather expensive.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luke S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TurnerMit, Acting Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear Luke S

Thank you for your comments and feedback from your stay at the Holiday Inn Old Sydney. We pride ourselves on our service, location and great Holiday Inn brand.

Just to let you know our charges for internet and breakfast are aligned to Sydney wide hotels however your feedback will encourage future changes I am sure.

Kind regards

Mitchell Turner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kurri Kurri
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We stayed two nights in October for our 30th Wedding annivesary.From the first moment we walked in we were greeted warmly with big smiles and enthusiasm . From the girls at reception, to the staff in the breakfast area they could not do enough for you. The staff are a big asset to this hotel.
The position is excellent,a short walk to Circular Quay, The Opera House , and all the good restaurants and pubs in the Rocks. The breakfast was good , with eggs and pancakes cooked fresh, then delivered to your table.The rooms were clean and airy and the beds comfortable.The pool and spa area on the rooftop with great veiws over the Opera House ,Harbour and City is excellent . We would definitley stay here again.

Room Tip: Pay a litte bit more for a King room. The veiw is excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trio10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TurnerMit, Acting Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear trio10

Thank you for the fantastic feedback! We appreciate the time you have taken to tell us how much you loved our team. Our team at the Holiday Inn Old Sydney will be happy to read such great comments.

Our 5 star staff look forward to welcoming you back!

Kind regards

Mitchell Turner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Hotel staff were very friendly on arrival, and through out our stay. The bed was nice, and the pillows were amazing! Great location, only about 7 min walk to the ferries, and you are in the Rocks. We took the advise from a trip advisor reviewer and asked for an upper level floor to avoid the noise of the street which I would recommend to do.
We were staying there Saturday to Monday as had a wedding on Saturday night and they let us check in early to get ready (can not fault the staff), only thing is that we were planning on having a hang over sleep in on Sunday but the people in the room next to us were checking out on Sunday, so at 8:20am we found out the hard way that the walls were not super sound proof, (could hear the wife screeching at her partner) and worse the heavy doors, when let to close under their own power make a very heavy clunk which is loud enough to wake you.
That said, I would still stay here again, it was a nice room considering the age of the hotel, and as always, a lot of the time you are paying for the location more than anything - and this one delivered.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on one of the upper level to avoid the noise of the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NekMinute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TurnerMit, Acting Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear Brad M

Thank you for your kind feedback on our service and hotel. I am disappointed to hear about being woken up early by your neighbours.

I hope you have a better nights sleep when you return. I do look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards

Mitchell Turner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manly, Australia
1 review
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Location, location, location. Stayed one night at this establishment, although it is old it is clean and comfy. It is definitely a place to stay if you have things to do around the city. I recommended it and would stay here again. Next time, I want to try the breakfast as it looked great.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manlyman4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TurnerMit, Senior Guest Experience Manager at Holiday Inn Old Sydney, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear Manlyman4

Thanks for the fantastic feedback, we appreciate you taking the time to do so.

Next time you are with us speak to our reception team who can sort you out a great deal for our breakfast.

Kind regards

Mitchell Turner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
The Russell Hotel
The Russell Hotel
#39 of 178 in Sydney
914 reviews
The Rocks
Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#22 of 178 in Sydney
1,294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Central Business District
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Old Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Old Sydney

Property: Holiday Inn Old Sydney
Address: 55 George St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > The Rocks
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Sydney
#42 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#43 Family Hotel in Sydney
#47 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Old Sydney 4*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Heritage Listed Holiday Inn Old Sydney is one of Sydney's little secrets,uniquely positioned between the Harbour Bridge and Sydney Opera House within the iconic area of The Rocks. Holiday Inn Old Sydney is the closest hotel to the Overseas Passenger Terminal providing a hassle free accommodation option pre and post cruise. The hotel is closely situated to the Circular Quay Ferry and Railway stations also providing easy access to Sydney Airport via the Airtrain. Each of our 176 guestrooms come equipped with a choice of soft & firm pillows, flatscreen TV's, high speed internet access. Enjoy spectacular views to Sydney Harbour or an outlook onto the historic Rocks from the comfort of your room. Stroll down the harbour-side promenade past the museum of Contemporary Art, to lively Circular Quay and experience an excellent selection of restaurants and bars. Here you can catch a ferry to Manly Beach, Watsons Bay, Taronga Zoo or enjoy a fabulous harbour cruise. Holiday Inn Old Sydney is only moments from the majority of Sydney's best attractions and a variety of great shopping options, including the Rocks Markets, Queen Victoria Building, Pitt Street Mall and Oxford Street. Experience spectacular views of Sydney Harbour, the famous Harbour Bridge and the world-acclaimed Opera House from the famous Holiday Inn Old Sydney rooftop, equipped with heated outdoor pool and spa. Holiday Inn Old Sydney also offers a complimentary business centre with computer and internet access to keep you connected whilst away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Old Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Old Sydney Hotel Sydney
Old Sydney Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Sydney
Sydney Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing