We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great day out in the Hunter!”

Country Trails Private Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$389.74*
and up
Private Tour: Sydney Highlights In A Day
More Info
$517.00*
and up
Private Day Trip From Sydney: Blue Mountains In A Day
More Info
$517.00*
and up
Private Hunter Valley Wine-Tasting Day Tour from Sydney
Ranked #17 of 93 Food & Drink in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: An owner-operated tour business, Glenn offers small-group private Hunter Valley wine tours plus tours to the Blue Mountains,South Coast and Southern Highlands, and Sydney City. Experience popular tourist attractions or get off the beaten track. Tour times and itineraries are flexible. Travel in a luxury Mercedes Viano tour vehicle with comfortable seating for up to seven passengers. A family-friendly service with child seats available upon request.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Reviewed September 23, 2013

From the initial query online to the day itself, Glenn was always super responsive and helpful. We booked a private tour for 4 and selected our own itinerary, with Glenn providing lots of suggestions for wineries to visit. Once our choices were made, he mapped out the day for us, booking us in at each location and ensuring everything went smoothly on the day. The day itself was lovely and relaxed; he was so accommodating if we lingered too long at a vineyard or over lunch, calling the next location if need be to let them know we'd be a little bit late. He even swung us past the Smelly Cheese Shop at the end of the day when we realised we had forgotten to get provisions for dinner that night. Highly recommended and I will use them again.

Thank Zara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlennCT01, Owner at Country Trails Private Tours, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2013

Hello. Thanks for you comments. I'm glad you enjoyed the private tour in the Hunter Valley. You picked some nice wineries to visit. It can be hard for groups to leave a nice winery or restaurant when they get settled in, and it's usually no problem to linger a little longer than planned. For those not wishing to go out in the evening, I don't mind stopping somewhere on the tour for people to buy provisions. Cheers. Glenn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (138)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

102 - 106 of 138 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2013

It was our first trip to Hunter Valley so I decided to go for private tour instead. My queries for quotes went out to several tour agencies but only Glenn from Country Trails responded on the same day. His timely responses and knowledge of the wine country is amazing. He was right on schedule and was extremely accommodating when we made a couple of unscheduled stops. He was also quick to distract my 10 yr old son with some kickabout at one of the wineries we visited.

I will certainly recommend Country Trails to anyone who is looking for a perfect wine tour at Hunter. There was no fuss, no rush and simply relaxing! We had a great time. Thank you so much Glenn.

Thank Elfiee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlennCT01, Owner at Country Trails Private Tours, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Hi. Thanks for your comments. I'm glad you and your family enjoyed the Hunter Valley tour. I always try to respond to email enquiries within one day, and try to explain the various tour activities as clearly as possible. We don't usually rush around too much on the tours - it's not the place for it! - and try to find the right balance between having plenty of experiences and a relaxing day. On all tours we try to maintain an element of flexibility so that an unscheduled stop or two can be added to the trip. I usually bring along a few things to try to keep the children occupied while the big kids are wine tasting. It was a pleasure to play a bit of football with your son. Alas, he was the better player! Cheers. Glenn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We booked a private family tour with Country Trails. Glenn, the guide, was very accommodative and helped us prepare a customised itinerary based on our requirements. He was very patient despite our many chanes and made good suggestions. All in all, a god experience.

Thank YoungMummy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlennCT01, Owner at Country Trails Private Tours, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Hello, and thank you for your review. It was a nice day out in the Hunter Valley with you and your family. I'm happy to customise tours and make any necessary changes when things come up, as they often do for groups with young children. As well as wine, the Hunter Valley has places to visit for the little ones, such as a zoo, gardens and a chocolate factory, so there is something for everyone. All the best. Glenn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Great day out of the city. We were picked up outside out accommodation nice and early and stopped for coffee along the way! There was only 4 of us on the tour which was great and we had plenty of room in the van. Glen was an excellent driver and guide, drove us to the wineries, stopped off at the cheese factory and took us to look at the views along the way as well. Dropped us at the village for lunch and showed us the eating options. The wineries and brewery's that we stopped at were all very generous with their tasting. Dropped us off at the end of the day back at our accomodation. If you are looking for a day out of the city to the Hunter Valley, I can recommend Country Trails. Thanks Glen for a great day out.

Thank DianeF73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlennCT01, Owner at Country Trails Private Tours, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

Hi, and thank you for your comments. Happy to hear you enjoyed our small-group Hunter Valley shared tour. As with most tour operators, we usually head out of the city quite early to avoid traffic - and there's usually time for a quick, impromptu coffee stop as we are travelling through the suburbs. We have a maximum of six people for this tour, so it doesn't take too long to pick people up in the morning. The wineries, micro-brewery, and cheese shop are very welcoming and usually give people a decent sampling of their products. Cheers. Glenn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We recently used Country Trails Private Tours for a Hunter Valley Wine Tour to celebrate my Father in laws 60th Birthday. We had a group of 6 and everyone loved it!
Glenn was so flexible with the itinerary and suggested a beautiful restaurant for lunch. Compared to some of the other private tours I enquired with, Country Trails was well priced.
I would recommend Country Trails to anyone! Thanks for a great day out Glenn!

1  Thank BRWilliams05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlennCT01, Owner at Country Trails Private Tours, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Hello. Thanks for your review. I'm glad the birthday boy and the rest of the group enjoyed the tour. There are many nice restaurants in the area and I hope you get to try more of them in the future. Small-group private tours allow a little more flexibility when it comes to itineraries and we try to keep the prices reasonable. Thanks and all the best. Glenn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Country Trails Private Tours also viewed

 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Country Trails Private Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing