We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hostel”
Review of Cooper Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cooper Lodge Hotel
Ranked #72 of 139 Specialty Lodging in Sydney
Level Contributor
73 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great hostel”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Stayed over new year. slept in a 4 bed dorm ( as doubles were fully booked ) the bunk beds were larger than average as in full size beds. Each bed has its own lockable wardrobe. The rooms including the communal areas were clean as had recently had a refit. There is an on site laundry and full kitchen . Situated Around the corner from Broadway and only a 10 minute walk up to Central station and George street, hostel is directly opposite Victoria Park plus also on several bus routes. There is a supermarket around the corner and mcdonalds/kfc/burger king by central station.The reception staff were friendly and helpful, mix of all ages couples , backpackers etc , made to feel welcome. Would stay again if looking for a hostel .

Room Tip: Use the upstairs showers and toilets as there more of them. The downstairs ones whilst adequate wer...
See more room tips
Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank H H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    6
    5
    1
    3
See reviews for
2
4
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Invercargill, New Zealand
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights before going on a cruise. We wouldnt stay here again, def better places to stay for not much more in price. We had a (small) double room with ensuite (ensuite is a toilet and shower - no handbasin) it had a kitchenette which was handy since no handbasin. There was a computer in our room which we had free internet - unfortunately the computer did not work! The main reason why we wouldnt stay again is the bed was foul. Their was no top sheet and I dont know when the bottom sheet, duvet cover or pillow was last cleaned. I def am not a snob by anymeans but having a greasy pillowcase was not doing it for me.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy1079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2012

We stayed in Cooper Lodge for 2 months in a double room and found it a comfortable, clean and enjoyable stay. The staff were very friendly and accommodating, the facilities were fantastic; the kitchen was large and there was room for numerous people to cook at the same time, the showers were roomy and there was always hot water, every room had air conditioning/heating which was a real bonus on hot and cold days. No matter who came to stay there was always a friendly environment between all of the guests and upon arrival we felt very welcome.
It was very conveniently located, a 10 minute walk from Central Station and George Street. There is a big, pretty park across the road and a pub with live music every night 30 seconds away. There was also a large shopping centre across the road with a supermarket, a farm market, shops and cafes. There are lots of places to wine and dine in the vicinity and cinemas and theatres are within walking distance.
We felt that we were getting real value for money and if we were to return to Sydney we would stay there again.

Room Tip: Downstairs can be noisy if everyone's socializing but only at the weekend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Talei P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed May 21, 2012

location is dead right,cross street is The beautiful Victoria park .right hand side is the Broad way shopping centre,up the road is Chinatown and Darling harbour.Hotel very clean,for the money we paid,it is bargain.
w.w

Room Tip: Upstair room 20 is big and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wanda w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2012

I stayed here recently on my visit to Sydney. This hotel was clean and tidy and exactly what I expected for what I paid. It is budget accommodation located in a very convenient location. It is situated across the road from Sydney University park and a 2 minute stroll to Broadway shopping centre which has everything you need, including a really big supermarket.

The hotel is about a 10 min walk to Central station which is the main train station in Sydney; about a 15 minute walk to Chinatown. There are bus stops right outside the hotel which takes you to Circular Quay and other places in Sydney.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amyx3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Song Hotel Redfern
#117 of 175 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
Inner West
Waldorf Sydney Central Serviced Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Posh Hotel
#12 of 62 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
Newtown
No photo provided
EBS Sydney Hostel
#54 of 139 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cooper Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cooper Lodge Hotel

Property: Cooper Lodge Hotel
Address: 20 City Rd, Sydney, New South Wales 2008, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Inner West
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 139 Specialty Lodging in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cooper Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cooper Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing