We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Rare Chocolate Treat to Share - By The Opera House”
Review of Max Brenner

Max Brenner
Ranked #32 of 52 Bakeries in Sydney
Neighborhood: Newtown
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Newtown
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
372 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“A Rare Chocolate Treat to Share - By The Opera House”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

As a treat a few friends had lunch at Max Brenner at Circular Quay adjacent to the Opera House. A salad and a range of sandwiches were selected- however they faded into the background when we saw the dessert menu. One selection was a three tier 'high afternoon tea' plate with one each the range of chocolate offereings provided by the restaurant (miniature in size).
These were thoroughly enjoyed along with delicious hot chocolates and chai lattes. Good service a wonderful outlook at the harbour, ferries and harbour bridge.
Note: The seagulls are very good at swooping for salmon on salads and sandwices, but what the heck- a great day with some brisk walking to burn of fthe calories.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nanette T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    17
    3
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Chocolate heaven, slow service”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Weng here yesterday with some friends. Menu is good, with a variety of hot & cold drinks as well as yummy treats. We had dark & milk chocolate fondue with dipping fruit and banana bread- delicious.
The downside was that we had finished our food well before our hot drinks arrived.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coolangatta, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
269 reviews
164 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“A Little Bit Naughty but Oh so Nice”
Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

Dropped into Max Brenner for an indulgent end to the evening - The Chocolat - Dairy was superb in their gorgeous funky cups - My partner had the crepes with Banana, so delicious. Definitely a sugar hit for Supper or a lazy day pampering. Prices up there but the chocolate worth it !

Helpful?
Thank TerrywithaY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrickville, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delicious, Surprisingly Good!”
Reviewed July 29, 2012

A lazy Sunday afternoon, we had a craving for something sweet so we decided to pop down to the local Max Brenner in Newtown. Was my first time to a Max Brenner and I was pleasantly surprised by how good the chocolate was! We ordered a chocolate crunch pizza, which was covered in a nice thick layer of melted chocolate and topped with crunchy corn flakes, pecans, white chocolate & marsh mellows. The menu selection isn't massive, but I guess it's quality that counts, and the chocolate is awesome, can't wait till my next visit! The place was quite busy But the service was friendly and we didn't have to wait long for a table to free up.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hans D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“great place for an afternoon snack”
Reviewed February 17, 2012

After an afternoon of walking around Newtown finding great bargains in the antique and secondhand stores, this was a great place to get out of the sun, have an afternoon snack, and rest for 30 minutes. The staff was so nice and my snack was great. It was a cinnamon chocolate chip breakfast bread thing which came with a pot of melted chocolate and since I probably wasn't coming back during this visit, I also got a cup of hot chocolate. Everything was yummy, I almost finished off my snack. I thought the place was charming and I'd definitely come back again.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Merphin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Max Brenner also viewed

 

Been to Max Brenner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing