We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“What a gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sous Le Soleil - CLOSED

Sous Le Soleil
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Caloundra, Australia
Level Contributor
228 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“What a gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Dined here on Saturday night to celebrate a 70th birthday. We had booked for 7.15 but the birthday boy was half an hour late and the staff were very gracious about the delay.
We all had the Scallops as an entree and one had the signature Lamb shank pie ( a little dry) 2 had the fillet steak and the other had lamb cutlets. The presentation was first class as was the ambience and food . The restaurant is located in an historic house and the setting was most intimate ( except for the noisy party at the next table).
Highly recommended.

Helpful?
2 Thank Xlcobra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    7
    7
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wahroonga, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“50th Birthday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

A very belated thank you for a fantastic dinner that we had to celebrate my 50th. We booked the red room and it was perfect. Fantastic food, great service & a lovely room. A bit like having a dinner party at home but with no work or stress. The restaurant is BYO & the prices are very reasonable. A great find.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fabulous restaurant for a ladies special night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

10 ladies had a wonderful dining experience at Sous Le Soleil, St Ives recently.

We were celebrating a special birthday for one of our group and had our own private room.

The food was great and our room was decorated very nicely and the table setting was lovely.

I would highly recommend this restaurant to couples or ladies groups.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank prmillen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
152 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Top spot.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Haven't had great french food like this since i was last in Paris. I had the confit canard and it was excellent. The creme brule finished it off beautifully. My colleagues had steak and gave it top marks as well. Atmosphere, service, decor: all top notch. I'll be back!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
120 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“North Shore Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

We've now dined at St Ives Sous le Soleil five or six times and have had a 100% success rate. Who says that the Upper North Shore doesn't have any good restaurants - Cooks Garden at Turramurra, Ad Lib at Pymble and Sous le Soleil are all excellent restaurants and in our view they compete very strongly with establishments in other parts of Sydney.
Sous le Soleil has a very friendly atmosphere, largely driven by the two excellent hosts who are very attentaive without being intrusive.
The food is excellent - well cooked and well presented.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Pottsy747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sous Le Soleil also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing