We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extra Tasty Thai”

Home Thai Restaurant
Ranked #45 of 5,856 Restaurants in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Central Business District
australia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Extra Tasty Thai”
Reviewed June 11, 2014

You cannot reserve a table & we waited but only 10 minutes & soooo worth the wait! Thai flavours at their best! Very varied menu, busy busy restaurant...you don't go for the ambience but the food!! it is outstanding & such good value.Beer/wine available, efficient quick service, if you like Thai cuisine you will very happy indeed !! We will return.
Missy Australia.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank missyAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    324
    193
    50
    13
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Our favourite Thai in Sydney”
Reviewed June 2, 2014

We have tried several different Thai restaurants in Sydney, but this one is our absolute favourite. We come here at least once or twice a month. They don’t take reservations, so expect some waiting time especially if you’re coming on a weekend night. However, the food is definitely worth waiting for. The curries, and some of the other dishes are quite hot (make sure to order some extra napkins to wipe the sweat off your forehead ;)) but very tasty. My personal favourite is the penang curry with salmon – mouth-watering! All in all: Authentic Thai food for reasonable prices. Be aware that this not a restaurant to spend a lengthy dinner. It is a buzzing place. You’ll be served very quickly, but also expected to leave again quickly and make room for the other guests who are most likely already queuing outside.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MrMister78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best Thai restaurant in Sydney”
Reviewed June 1, 2014

I love asian food and have been to a couple of thai restaurants in Sydney. This one is by far my favourite, i have recommended it to so many people who have also loved it.

There is always a que outside, don't let that put you off as it will go down quick. You can't book. The service inside is super quick. It is BYO.
I have been there several times now, and each time i have something different, and each time it is amazing. The pricing of each dish is reasonable, and always large portions, i always have left overs.

Hugely recommend Home.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LaurenDAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Authentic Thai Cuisine”
Reviewed May 31, 2014

Saturday night in Sydney this place is crazy busy. Only the two of us, we put our name down on the waitlist outside and waited for about half an hour. Once in we had a quieter table next to a large group. Service is very quick and food is excellent. The Massaman curry was definitely a winner. Don't expect to have a long night out here. They want you in and out as quick as possible.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank neilwinch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great food and prices”
Reviewed May 21, 2014 via mobile

The food here is consistently good. Especially love the crispy skin pork. It's always busy and you may have to wait to get a table. But it's worth it because the food is awesome. Great value too!

Helpful?
Thank Ozsummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Home Thai Restaurant also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Home Thai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing