We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere and delicious food”

Home Thai Restaurant
Ranked #48 of 5,854 Restaurants in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Central Business District
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere and delicious food”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Very convenient for my hotel (the Adina Apartment Hotel), I ate quite late, so was able to walk straight in but noticed queues out of the door the following evening, so it's obviously a popular place! Quick service and a delicious Tom Kha Gai soup followed by Beef Massaman curry and a Chang to wash it down - Great stuff!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank PhysEd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

596 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    324
    192
    50
    13
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Value for top-class thai food!”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

This was recommended to myself and a friend whilst on a trip to Sydney by a barista in our hotel. Food was fresh, delicious and very cheap by Sydney standards (we shared a pad thai for $16, a Larb chicken salad and a thai soup: all were beautiful!). We went to far more expensive restaurants our first 3 nights and this one was by far the best. You do have to queue but it usually moves very swiftly, will definitely be back next time I'm in Sydney!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eve_Crowley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Flavour sensation”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

I have been to Home Thai for lunch and dinner on multiple occasions since it opened.
Depending on the time you get Home, will depend on whether or not you need to wait for a table as it is premium seating... make sure you put your name on the list and take your number!
We have never had to wait for long, and the staff have been very polite and attentive.
Lots of help to make your decisions easier as well.
There are plenty of choices and the food is FRESH and HOT - both in temperature and in chilli intensity (the more spice you can handle the better). Don't worry, you can ask them to tone it down, but, still be wary as even then there are sometimes lingering after-shocks on your taste-buds.
This is definitely my pick for city Thai food.
I only wish there was one closer to home as I am sure I would be a regular.
Haven't been disappointed in any of my visits so far. Out-of-towners and locals have all loved it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MisterD-01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Authentic Thai food”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Authentic Thai food with a very reasonable prices. Just the place is too cramped and tables too small to fit your plates.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sergiosydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food and service but was amazed at the $30 limit on credit /debit card.”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

My bill came to $23 as I was alone and was told they had a $30 limit so I had to pay that amount!!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Misha-oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Home Thai Restaurant also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Home Thai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing