We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food - you can't go wrong with any dish!”

Home Thai Restaurant
Ranked #45 of 5,856 Restaurants in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great food - you can't go wrong with any dish!”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

This is one of my fav's in Sydney - I work close by and go there on a weekly basis - I have withdraws if I don't go! the food is always great, fresh and hot (chilli's) and unbelievable flavours. the decor is nice, bit industrial with the exposes bricks but you are crammed in, but it doesn't matter as I reckon this is the best Thai food in Sydney and it is unbelievably cheap/reasonable - can even BYO wine at night. expect queues but you don't have to wait long! must try the soft shell crab, pork belly and larb, Oh and the desserts are great too!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank DamonL635
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    324
    193
    50
    13
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Not a Home run”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

This is a pretty decent cheap Thai eatery. The food is tasty, the wait time quick and it's a lively place to go for a quick meal at food hall prices. The do a good blend of Thai / asian dishes. The Pad Thai, on a good day, is unbelievable. We also had a variety of other dishes that were good, but nothing special.
I would say it's a place where you don't feel welcome to stay, very in and out. I will also tell you that while the staff are working hard, they are basically rude, with the exception of one girl. Their rudeness is probably a reflection of them being over worked. I would say people in Sydney just wont put up with it, and these rumours catch like wildfire, then no one wants to go, no matter how good the food is. I want to go back for the sake of the food, but they need to keep it real and understand overall customer service.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sydneydiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“If you like Thai food, Home is a must”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

If you like Thai food, then you must try Home. As someone who really enjoys his food and in particular Thai curries I can only describe the food at Home as excellent, so much so, we ate there 3 days out 5.

The place is small therefore busy time at times and we did fund appetisers do arrive at the same time as your main meal however this is no different from Thailand and a small price to pay for great quality food and a very good price.

Give it a try, I am sure you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carlos02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best value Thai!”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

All the dishes are delicious, tasty and very affordable! My favourites are the banana flower/prawns salad, beef massaman, the fried pork belly and pad thai.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SydTraveller777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not sure why its so popular”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Been here a couple of times now and not sure what all the fuss is about. There are some interesting items on the menu but overall the food is just ok and the staff are just plain rude. Maybe I'll get takeaway and see if I feel any better about the place.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AusTripPlanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Home Thai Restaurant also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Home Thai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing